We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, helpful front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #43 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful front desk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I will stay at the Hotel Carlton again. It is clean, the people are friendly, they offer free wine and entertainment at happy hour and the location is very good. I would say the value is great for the rpice.

Room Tip: I had a room in the back and there was no street noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle is the WORD in San Fran. They are very conscious about recycling.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank MaryJo1534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. Be sure to check out the Saha Restaurant next time, it is delicious! Please join us again soon, we would love to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    1,084
    336
    93
    37
See reviews for
339
1,205
157
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel May 2013 on a family trip to San Francisco. The Hotel Is in an excellent location for shops, cafes, pubs, restaurants and a short taxi drive from the airport. Walking distance to Pier 39 and Fishermans warf (20 mins). My room was spacious with good size bathroom and closet with safe facility. The Hotel is doing up some rooms at present, but I have to stress that the work did not spoil our stay at all, workmen were very polite and clean. All the staff are very pleasant and more than helpful, they make you feel very welcome and always address you politely when coming and going from the Lobby. They will organise taxi's for you and also carry out your check-in 24hrs before departure and print boarding passes. Bar next door called FLY is worth checking out for food and drinks, nice atmosphere both in the day and evenings.

Room Tip: It is on quite a busy road so if you don't like traffic, ask for rear facing room, there are roo...
See more room tips
Green Features: I am a recycle freak and it was good to see recycling bins in the rooms for plastic, paper and card.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melanie992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our team is definitely the heart and soul of our operation, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our service! We look forward to your return to San Francisco, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

To anyone who gave this hotel a bad review, grow up!!!!! The hotel is lovely the staff are great really friendly and funny, the room is spotless clean comfy and really well decorated, the restaurant is very good for breakfast and dinner (middle eastern fusion).

Keep up the good work, that you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sava8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us next time for our nightly wine reception, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I've stayed in Carlton with my girlfriend for a week. The room was cozy, clean and quiet with a nice view. The staff was very helpfull and the location is good, but it was not so close to Union Square as we imagined in the reservation moment. There is a cable car about three blocks from the hotel and bus stops in the same block. I would stay again in other opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murilo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are elated to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay. We sincerely apologize if we were unable to live up to any of your expectations. Our location is very central to the majority of attractions in the city! We hope that you'll join us again upon your next visit to San Francisco, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had no real complaints about our visit at The Carlton. Everything was clean and neat. The staff was informative and helpful (and even funny!). The room was affordable. The location was spot on to where we wanted and needed to be. Plenty of places to go and people to see right around the hotel. As artists, we really enjoyed the worldly multicultural design of the hotel. We were looking for a quick getaway, and The Carlton delivered!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank z0mbiekiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. Our decor is definitely unique, and we are pleased that you appreciated it. We hope that you'll join us again on your next visit to San Francisco. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cozy, friendly, well located, clean, boutique type hotel. Hosted wine reception each evening from 5:30 tlo 6:00. Really good restaurant, outstanding staff. Close to public transportation and the Civic Center area. 15 minute walk to Union Square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. Please join us in the Saha Restaurant next time. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Viejo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff was excellent. The location was excellent. The room was twice as large as one we stayed at at union square and $50 less per night. We ran into this hotel because my wIfe was admitted to St. Francis Memorial Hospital while she was attending a Education Research conference, I asked the hospital about nearby hotels and this one was listed. When I come back San Francisco, I will stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrownsvilleBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that your wife is healthy, and that you two were comfortable during your visit. We look forward to your return to San Francisco, and the Hotel Carlton! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing