We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #43 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Villeneuve-Saint-Georges, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Behind an (little bit too) establishement, we found a very good place with an highly helpful team.
The hotel is idealy situated, near all we wanted to see in SF.
Beds are good but a little short. There is a fridge missing in rooms but it was the only lack of confort. Breakfast are as huge as good.
Like I say in the title, we've spent a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Room at main corridors overlooks the street, so they seem most noisy
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycles, Towel reuse program and ENERGY STAR guest room appliances
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminBATTAIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for such a pleasant review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize if there was no refrigerator in your room. We have them upon request through the front desk! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    1,084
    336
    93
    37
See reviews for
339
1,205
157
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel Carlton had an amazing staff, everyone was very friendly and welcoming. It was great that we could also have our dog stay with us in the city. The only negative was the noise, it felt like we could hear every word of the folks staying next door.
Many thanks for the exceptional service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 932Lou932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We sincerely apologize for any issues you encountered during your stay. Our building is very old, and noise can be an issue sometimes due to old construction. We are pleased to hear that it did not disrupt your stay completely! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howey in the Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Wow! What can I say! The stay was perfect from the moment we arrived. The staff went over and above to ensure we felt at home! Everything was excellent! The room is clean and nicely decorated. The location was very good. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay here my next time in SFO. No need to spend more money. No need to spend more money on a “fancier” hotel, unless you want an impersonal service.

Room Tip: They will give you the best room they have available. They only want to make you feel at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripJamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. Please bring your family back any time so we may be your home-away-from-home. We look forward to your return, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokelumne Hill, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

A delight staying at Hotel Carlton 2 nights. From beautiful lobby, engaging desk staff, to bellman, server and staff at Saha restaurant, we felt welcomed and encouraged to relax and enjoy our favorite city. Wine reception on Saturday was fun with Theo's music and conversation with other guests. Our room was just right: quiet, very clean, comfortable bed, tasteful decor with great photos capturing Tibetan daily life. Recommend to those who want a space for relaxation well located near downtown. Our third JdV hotel--we will return!

Green Features: Appreciate efforts made. We do everything we can to conserve-Hotel Carlton's dispensers in the shower for soaps and conditioner just an example of simple changes making a difference. Recycling bins also appreciated.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bradyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for a perfect review! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our nightly wine reception is phenomenal, and Theo is wonderful as well. He will certainly be recognized for creating a lasting impression on you. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived the people at the front desk made us feel most welcome. They were so funny and entertaining. The room was so clean and large - very comfortable. Breakfast was consistently excellent (over 5 days and the staff was so nice. We wanted to say good bye to the staff before we left. We have stayed in countless hotels - this is one of the best.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shouldergeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and our wonderful team! They are certainly a unique bunch, and make the Hotel Carlton exciting! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I went to San Francisco with my girl friends for a fun girls weekend and we chose to stay at Hotel Carlton, for two main reasons, the location and the great rate we found online (we booked online about 4 weeks before we went). I have stayed at other JDV hotels and this is on par with the experience I was expecting. What I didn't remember was the fantastic service. This hotel really trains their staff well and the whole time we were there we felt like VIPs. No request was met with anything but a can-do attitude and a big smile. The rooms are comfy, clean and well appointed. The wine reception is really nice, with live music. We never missed it! I will certainly make a point of recommending this great little find.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColleenQD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our service is certainly world-class and your compliments will surely be passed along to our team. We hope that you'll join us again with your friends whenever you're back in the city. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing