We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #43 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money, comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week for 6 nights. We really can't give a bad review as we enjoyed our stay; the bed was so comfy, room had character and the price was very affordable for central SF. The only slight negatives would be that the walls are a little thin and the area is just a bit further out of the CBD than expected, but these are just little compromises for good value, good service and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again upon your next visit to San Francisco, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    1,103
    347
    93
    40
See reviews for
351
1,235
163
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This place is really cute and doesn't break the bank. The rooms are simple but nicely decorated, and I felt very at home. The front desk was very polite and helpful, and the free wine in the afternoon was a nice touch. :) Valet parking is around $30, I think, so not cheap but definitely not as bad as some other places. The location isn't quite as great as it could be, but it's close enough to everywhere I like to go that it isn't an issue for me. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnie_521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit, and truly appreciate your loyalty. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

GREAT experience from the moment I walked in until I checked out. First the entire staff was GREAT!!! This might not seem important to some but it was to me, because this was my first time in this wonderful city. Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff were very friendly and spoke everytime they saw me, "good morning", etc. The whole experience of SF was new to me & they made me feel like this was home, like I was part of the family. Getting that sort of vibe is very unusual, if non-existant. So now I consider them part of MY family. I will be back to SF as soon as I can, I hope in the fall. The booking process will be VERY EASY at that time. I will stay nowhere else but Hotel Carlton at any time that I return to SF.
Also the entire hotel was decorated very nice and in good taste. Everything from the lobby, elevators, hallways and my room was VERY VERY CLEAN. Very Impressed!!!
Finally the front desk staff were very willing to help with tours, transportation, etc.
When I go back I want to speak with the General Manager and congratulate them on a job VERY well done!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again at the Saha Restaurant, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I usually don't write reviews, but this hotel was a really BAD experience for us. I read a lot of reviews about this place and they were nice, so I decided to give it a try. Not the best neighborhood (to say the least, if you try to walk around the area on after-sunset hours) - no way to live there, no A/C, room was kinda clean but so smelling sooooo badly, very thin walls you can hear everything, I couldn't even fall asleep, because of elevator's noise and outside sounds(and I usually sleep like a champ at my place, where we face a really busy road)... We had to leave the hotel and find another place to stay. I wouldn't advise anyone to stay there.. The only one good thing - really friendly staff. Check the other places unless you're looking for an adventure of this kind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We would love to hear more about your experience! Please contact the Hotel Management so we may investigate further. We hope that you'll give us another chance, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husand and i have just had an amazing time in San Francisco, there is so much to see and explore. The Carlton was fabulous, ideally situated just a short walk from union square - shops, cafes and where the trams start and take you to fishermans wharf. The hotel itself was a delight, unique, friendly, welcoming - a pleasure to return to each evening after our sightseeing days out. We are definately returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The place where my husband wanted to celebrate his birthday, San Francisco. And the hotel, the Carlton. We hadn't been there in several years, but amazing Emilie and other desk staff remembered us when we checked in. We enjoyed complimentary bottle of wine, chocolates and a signed card for the birthday week. They handled every question or arrangement easily with good advice about renting cars, catching buses, etc.The restaurant Saha has lovely food and wine list. We enjoyed dinner twice because it was so good and waitstaff so welcoming. This JdV property suits our style; we recommend it because the staff combines professionalism and charm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyceP823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are pleased to hear how much you and your husband enjoyed your stay. Emelie is truly an asset to our team, and we will surely praise her for your comments. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My son picked this hotel for me because of its location near his girlfriend's apartment. He booked it, and it turned out to be a great find. First, the price was good. But more importantly, the staff at the front desk was great - friendly, welcoming, and very funny. I was in room 205, which faced the back of the hotel. While the view wasn't great, it was nice and quiet, with no street noise. The room was plenty big, the TV worked well, the bed was comfy, and the closet was huge. I would have liked a bit more 'storage' space in the bathroom, but that's no big deal. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you had a great time visiting your son, and we look forward to your return. Please join us again next time for a bite at the Saha Restaurant. We would love to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,380 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,866 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing