We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cheap hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #43 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great cheap hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great cheap hotel within easy walking distance of shops/bars and tram stops. Fabulous friendly management & staff team. Great place to stay.Fab bar a few doors along to the left. Manager has free cocktail hour every evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize if we were unable to exceed your expectations. We would love to learn a little bit more about what made your experience 3 stars. Please contact the hotel manager to discuss your experience! We hope that you'll give us another chance, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    1,084
    336
    93
    37
See reviews for
339
1,205
157
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

All of the employees are genuinely upbeat and will do all in their power to make your stay the best. The rooms were nothing special since it is a old San Francisco building but the staff support made up for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SrVanderpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our team is truly spectacular and they sure make this hotel unique! We hope that you'll join us again and give the Saha Restaurant a try. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Carlton on a quick trip to the city. I should have researched the location better, because it is indeed very strange. The street the hotel is on is okay, but walk behind the hotel and you get into a strip club, sketchy-ish part of town that I wouldn't stay in too long at night. We could even see 3 hookers standing on the corner out of our room at 2am! I didn't feel unsafe per-say, just a little odd part of town.

However the room itself was very clean, very modern and quaint with very nice bath amenities. Great views (we stayed in the city view king room), comfy bed. The only other thing as many reviewers have said, is the walls really are PAPER THIN. We thought having a room at the end of the hallway on a higher floor would be a bit quieter, but no. We could hear the people in the room beside us talking, watching TV, moving around as if they were in our own room with us. That was the biggest downfall. I'm not a complainer, and I thought the thin walls complaint was overexaggerated, but it certainly wasn't. When our neighbors got up at 5AM, we were up with them!

Great stay, we made it fun, just wish the walls were a little thicker :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redpandas29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize if anything was misleading, or if you felt our location was not ideal. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Carlton Hotel is well situated. The personnel was very kind and helpful.
The room are average for my point of view. There was no air conditioning (it's ok right now but in summer ??) or air vent in the bathroom.
Our room as close view on the neighbours. And the walls are thin.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We know our building is old, so some of our features may not be to your liking. We hope that you'll give us another chance to show you our world-class guest service! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just back from my first-ever trip to San Francisco, and I am more than happy to write a review for the Hotel Carlton. The staff at the front desk went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming, and seemed genuinely friendly and happy to see us. I was in town with a friend, and we stayed in a room with two double beds. The room wasn't huge, but if you're in town to see the sights, you don't need tons of space. There was a walk-in closet which housed all our stuff, the beds were comfy and the place was bright and clean and had a homey, welcoming feel to it. The only thing it was missing was a mini-fridge! As other reviewers have said, the walls were on the thin side, and it was easy to hear people in the next room talking. But this typically didn't last long, and by the time we wanted to sleep it was always quiet.

We did a lot of the big touristy sites, and it was easy to get to most of them either by walking or public transit from the hotel. The Carlton is in Nob Hill, which felt like a pretty safe, nice part of town. Sutter Street has a grocery store just steps away, coffee shops, bars, restaurants...

All in all, I loved this hotel and would recommend it to anybody looking for a fun and affordable trip to San Fran!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitra_thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are elated to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Came into San Fran for 3 nights to show my sister the sights. This hotel location was perfect .. Near bus lines and cable lines .. And Theo and the entire staff were so friendly and helpful ... would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmschaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased that you and your sister enjoyed your stay. Theo will certainly be recognized for his efforts in assisting you! We hope that you'll join us again for a bite at the Saha Restaurant. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was visiting San José on business during the week, but stayed at the Hotel Carlton on the weekends either side so I could check out San Francisco. What struck me first was the welcoming, genial and friendly attitude of the staff in the foyer. They were very helpful and advised me some good places to eat in the local area, as well as telling me places to avoid when I was wandering around at night. The rooms I stayed in were both very well kept; I stayed in the second floor first time round, then on the eighth floor - the views from the latter of these rooms were spectacular and I really felt like I was bang in the middle of a vibrant city.

While I didn't try out the in-house restaurant, I did check out the free wine half-hour they hold at 5.30 every night in the foyer. Theo from the front desk dons some Snazzy threads and plays some atmospheric tunes on his keyboard while they serve free wine to hotel guests for 30 minutes. Really good fun and a cool way to kick off your Saturday evening.

I thought the hotel was really well placed - only 5/10 minutes' walk to Union Square and Chinatown, and close to Nob Hill (from which you can see some truly memorable views of the city and the bay if you walk up to the peak of Lombard Street).

When I next come to San Francisco I will definitely stay at the Carlton again. Great place and good value for money. Thanks for a very pleasurable stay guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. it sounds like you truly took advantage of our location and all that San Francisco has to offer. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing