We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Harcourt Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Nob Hill Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mithila(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Music City Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Pensione International(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Hotel Vertigo(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Monarch Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Calista Organic Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,124)
Filter reviews
3,124 results
Traveler rating
1,318
1,244
396
111
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,318
1,244
396
111
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squarewine receptionthin wallssutter streettenderloincomplimentary winewalk in closetceiling fanevery eveningan older buildinghotel restaurantfew blocksfront desk stafflight sleeperstayed here for nightswine hourstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
1,564 - 1,569 of 3,124 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the moment we walked in until the moment we left, we felt cared for and watched after. The staff at the Carlton went out of their way to make us comfortable. We had just flown in from Asia and were exhausted. We dropped the bags and went to lunch, knowing we couldn't check in until the afternoon. When we returned, our bags were ready to go to our room and it was waiting for us. We made odd calls in the middle of the night (different time zones) and used the lobby for quiet work sessions but that was no problem. We had run of the house with all the services at our disposal. The restaurant is quite a find, as well. I have been eating at that restaurant for so long I can't remember when I first went. But I have always been thrilled with the food at Saha prepared by the chef's able hands. If you need a good place to hang your hat when you are really busy with business, and you want to be centrally located without paying the crazy prices or being stuck in the noise downtown, the Carlton is the choice. I was right on the bus lines to go visit family around the city and within walking distance to some really excellent food choices. I usually don't mind hotels much, I spend most of my time outside looking around, but this was a trip "home" and I wanted to be somewhere comfortable with people who were paying attention and could answer questions and help with business needs. I got that.

Room Tip: The east side faces a playground of sorts. It is only used after school for a few short hours, but if you are working the room as I was, you may want to ask about it at check in. However, I took my work to the comfy, quiet lobby and was just fine.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stevenredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for a terrific review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback, and we love to hear that we became your home-away-from-home. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Excellent customer service. We arrived early in the morning and our room was ready for us. Later that evening we enjoyed the free wine reception with SNAZZ. Upon returning to our room for the night we opened the window for fresh air and the window fell out into the room. A staff was in our room within minutes to repair. When the repair couldn't be resolved we were put in a room close by, offered a free bottle of wine and breakfast the next morning. Staff were pleasant, funny, and prompt. Thank you Hotel Carlton.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachelwhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered, and are pleased that we could assist you in a timely manner. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have to come down on the "disappointing" side of things. Several years ago I stayed at the Hotel Vitale in San Francisco, which is owned by the same chain. They were filled up, but directed me to their "sister" property. Poor cousin is more like it! I was disappointed when I got there, but reasoned it was not entirely fair to measure Carlton against Vitale (which is more expensive). I've stayed at any number of budget hotels, and don't really have a problem with less expensive options. So I utlimately checked in with an open mind.

But three things convinced me that Carlton simply does not measure up against any decent-to-upscale hotel. First, the room was extremely cold. The rooms do not have their own temperature controls, and when I asked at the front desk, I was assured they would bring a heater up. Never arrived. Strike one. Second, when I went to give my keys to the valet, I was told it would take them 45 minutes to bring the car around. "I said really??? That's ridiculous!" They said yes, that's how long it takes. So I voted with my $$$ and parked at a public lot down the street. Strike two. Strike three was the mildew in the bathroom. I mean, the rooms weren't disgusting, but it was hardly conducive to the nice boutique feel I was looking for. Everything was just drab and dated.

There was also the very small elevators, which were fine, if dated; and the weird Eurotrash music (loud!) playing during happy hour in the common area. Didn't really phase me, but didn't make me want to come back any time soon, either. Sorry guys! Everyone was perfectly nice; but the property is in real need of either updating or a serious price drop.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank greenie20902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize if we were not able to live up to your expectations. The Hotel Vitale is certainly spectacular, and we are honored to be a part of a great company like Joie de Vivre Hotels. We hope that you'll give us another chance, our service is truly what we pride ourselves on. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great friendly service, I especially enjoyed the 5:30 happy hour. The staff were very knowledgeable about the area, tourist attractions, restaurants etc. This hotel is well priced and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiwi26traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our nightly wine reception is certainly a treat! Give the Saha Restaurant a try next time. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was one of the few hotels available in our price range on our desired dates. We were pleasantly surprised in every way. The desk clerks are friendly, and one is positively hilarious. The valet parking was easy, with in and out privileges. The lobby is pleasant and low-key, with complimentary wine at 5:30. Our room was very quiet, on the side of the building. The size was modest but we were very comfortable with the decor, bed, flatscreen TV, lighting, etc. We didn't eat at the hotel because we were meeting others, but the Middle Eastern menu looked intriguing. The staff readily agreed to store our luggage from checkout until evening, and when we arrived to collect the luggage and the car, we were brought wine even though it was after Happy Hour. We felt the staff went the extra mile to make our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmsdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review! We love to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our restaurant Saha is certainly a treat just as you mentioned! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews