We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in San Francisco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #41 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in San Francisco!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I found this hotel online after doing some research here on Trip Advisor and Expedia. I saw that there were other positive reviews about the property and that the hotel was located in a good location for exploring the city. After having stayed there a week ago, I can honestly say that we picked the right place to stay.

The staff was friendly and accommodating from the time we checked in until the time we left. They greeted us with a smile and were very helpful with directions and suggestions for tours and activities. We had a room on the 9th floor that was clean and comfortable with a nice view of the city. We didn't get to spend too much time here as we were busy touring, but slept well and found the hotel to be perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: As for a city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mycostaricalink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We can assure you our team will be recognized for creating a lasting impression on you. We hope that you'l join us in our Saha Restaurant next time, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    1,117
    358
    93
    40
See reviews for
369
1,254
165
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

excellent small hotel within easy (generally level) walk to Union Square but more in the neighborhood of Polk Street with wide and wild diversity of food and shops. Excellent restaurant in the hotel. Nice lobby. Generally quiet. Excellent bar next door.

Room Tip: high up and in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atlwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice service. They explained a lot of useful details to us and gave us good advise for dinner. I would really recommend this hotel.
The location is convenient, 15 walk from Union Square.
Rooms are slightly small but very clean and well organized. Restaurant closes on Sunday and Monday.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zeta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your next visit to the Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

convenient location, clean rooms, friendly staffs, but had a bad neighbor. The room beside us was noisy day and night. We ask the front desk to change room, couldn't change it right away so have to suffer another night. and finally had a peaceful and quiet sleep on our last night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We do apologize if any part of your stay was less than expected. We have an old building so sometimes noise can be an issue. We hope that you'll give us another chance, and we look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Yes, another stay at the fabulous Hotel Carlton can be added to my review list. I know I have reviewed this hotel before, but the staff and accommodations never cease to AMAZE me! Each time I return, it feels as if I am coming home to family. I constantly seek their praises to everyone I come in contact with because guests will never stay at a more comfortable hotel with an attentive staff and a social hour with wine to mingle and meet all the other guests in the hotel. Keep up the good work, my friends!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mykidsmylyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, and continued loyalty. We are sincerely pleased to hear how much you enjoy staying at the Hotel Carlton time, and time again. We hope that you'll continue to choose us as your home-away-from-home when visiting our city! We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed two nights and loved this place. Awesome time at the wine mixer that's held each night. Would absolutely recommend!

As soon as we arrived I felt extremely welcome and the guys at the desk were great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Svenfjord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Please try the Saha Restaurant upon your next visit; it is just delicious! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Beautiful foyer. Staff was amazing, helpful and very knowledgable of the area! Food at the Saha restaurant was delicious and we loved that they had Gluten Free options! My husband and I were celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary, we arrived early and they had no problem storing our luggage until the room was ready. When we told them we were celebrating an anniversary they upgraded us a larger room and they gave us a bottle of wine with a very tasty box of chocolates! The hotel was very clean. We loved that they offered a little wine social in the evening. We will definitely be back and we will be telling our friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that we could be a part of your special occasion. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we wish you many more years of happiness! We look forward to your return to the Hotel Carlton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,198 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#57 of 229 in San Francisco
4,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,916 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing