We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in an ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #46 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel was charming but felt a bit dated. Our room wasn't huge but had everything needed for a comfortable stay.
All the staff were very helpful and gave some practical good advice about touring the city.
This hotel is easy walking distance to Union Square and China town.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank allisonshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and time in San Francisco. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,528 - 1,534 of 3,000 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were pleased with our overall time at this hotel. The atmosphere here is kind of quirky, in the way the lobby feels doesn't extend to the room, and it all feels like an accidental jumble of old and new, but not intentionally done. Not sure if the decorator was trying to hide the age of the premises, or what. But a cordial staff, and good location balance out the odd decor choices. I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We know our building has been through the ages, and we feel it gives it it's charm! We look forward to your return, and wish to exceed your expectations next time. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

From the moment you enter the Carlton you know you are some place rare. The folks at the desk are friendly (call you by your name, that rare.) informed and fun. Music and wine kicks off the evening'events.
They know the city,. and they know the the hood. It is a fun walking neighborhood that has all you need for a great Bay adventure.
Give them a try. You won't regrete it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for a terrific review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again, and we look forward to your return. Give our Saha Restaurant a try next time, we are sure you'll love it! Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

After having read the mixed reviews, I went ahead and booked this hotel. Nervous with what to expect, I was pleasantly surprised. On arrival the reception was warm and friendly and the staff marked on a map the places to go and to avoid for us. I loved the feel and look of the hotel and our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I had seen previous pictures on this website showing mould on the lampshades and there were but it really didn't matter as we were out all day sightseeing. The hotel was in a great location to get to Chinatown and Union Sq roughly a 10-15 min walk and every evening the hotel offered free wine to its guests. I would definitely book again with them.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and time in San Francisco. We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a great experience visiting San Fransisco and staying here. They have an excellent that is very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The room we stayed in was great, love the cultural feeling you get from all over the hotel and room. We will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for a fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Carlton. We will certainly pass your compliments on to our team! Please join us again soon for a bite in the Saha Restaurant. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

That's the sound of the firetrucks that go by on a regular basis... all... night... long..., otherwise, excellent, attentive staff, nice bed, all the necessities. Inexpensive with a view of night-time goings on across the street. Window coverings not appropriate for a hotel, they are just wood blinds that don't provide much darkening, nor privacy when the room next door has windows facing yours.

Unusual restaurant in building, offers adventurous choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your review. We apologize if the noise from the street was distracting. San Francisco is a very busy city, and we know this can be somewhat inconvenient. We are working on getting black out curtains in some of our rooms so be sure to ask for that next time. We hope that you'll join us again, and we look forward to any opportunity to make up for your previous experience! Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in November. When we checked in the staff showed us a map of the area and clearly marked on the map the area (tenderloin) to stay away from. The hotel is about a 10-15 min walk from Union Sq. The walls in the rooms are very thin, however the rooms are very spacious and clean. There was construction work going on outside the hotel the days we stayed, work starting as early as 7am which was a bit annoying. The hotel offers free wine between 5.30-6.00, which was nice. Tip the staff a couple of dollars and they will make sure you get a good few glasses. There is a resturant on site, however I cannot comment on the food as we didn't eat there, although it did always look busy. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, they booked Alcatraz, Sightseeing Bus and Shuttle to the airport on our behalf. Had a great time in San Francisco, this hotel was great also.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank louise_cfc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and time in San Francisco! We hope that you'll join us again upon your next visit to the area. Thank you for taking advantage of our wine reception too! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
2,407 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
669 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
1,728 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $140 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing