We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Carlton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #45 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Carlton”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in Nov 2012. Very friendly and helpful staff both at front desk and at breakfast.Decor maybe slightly tired but not a big deal. Fair location, 10 min walk to Union Square, 5 mins to California Line Tram Stop. Pub next door good for bar food. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for an excellent review! We are absolutely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will certainly pass your compliments on to our teams. After all, they are the heart and soul of the Hotel Carlton. We hope that you'll join us again for a bite in our Saha Restaurant, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    1,128
    365
    97
    43
See reviews for
378
1,269
168
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is very inviting.The fellow at the front desk was very nice but I failed to remember his name. The room I stayed in was large but the walls are pretty thin. Can hear a conversation down the hallway. The wall heaters don't work well so when I asked for a heater, it took about a day to get it. Overnight parking from what I hear is cheaper than hotels around. Street parking is pretty bad on the weekends so think twice about it. I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lihcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and time with us at the Hotel Carlton. We hope that you'll choose us again for a bite in our Saha Restaurant, or a sip of wine during our nightly wine reception. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Carlton for 3 nights in Nov 2012. We had driven from Yosemite and arrived earlier than expected in SF due to the snow arriving in Yosemite. The reception staff were so helpful, knowledgable (and funny) and we were able to get into our room even though it was 1.15, check in is usually after 3 pm I think. They offered great advice on where to go (and not) We had a room on the 5th floor at the back. No view but the room was big, clean, really comfy large King bed, huge walk in closet, safe, good shower over a bath, lots of hot water and large tv with plenty of channels (although we didn't use this much). Yes the rooms are a little dated but this adds to the charm of staying in SF. They are quite noisy, but we found them to be quiet at night and got a great night's sleep. cleaned daily the maids were really courteous and helpful. It's a short 10 min walk to Union Square and there are plenty of bars, coffee shops, supermarkets and restaurants nearby. We ate in the resident restaurant Saha our first night (our road trip had caught up with us) and the food and service were excellent. It's Arabic fusion, with meze options as well. Good beer and wine selection too. They do not belong to the hotel but you can put the meal on your room if you want. The free wine mixer from 5.30pm was a nice touch and we took up the hop on/off bus tour with them. They were really helpful at organising taxis for us and we were getting a taxi to the airport but they organised their car service instead which was $50 (about the same price) More expensive than Bart but so convenient and we had budgeted for this anyway, only 20 min journey. I would stay at the Carlton again and would like to thank the staff , especially Emelie, for making it a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: There is work going on opposite the hotel at the moment. We didn't hear it in our room but it ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c0peland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and time in San Francisco. We appreciate the time you took to provide us your comments and feedback. It is our goal to provide quality guest service to every one of our guests. We hope that you'll continue to choose us upon future visits to the area. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Check-in took way too long. I had to wait in a 20 minute line. People were complaining about deposits they thought they had paid through Priceline. etc.. I had joined the Joie de Vivre club. They gave me a free bottle of the red wine which was great when I checked in. I attended one night of the wine hour. The white wine was undrinkable in my opinion, but others seemed to enjoy it. The room had no desk, so it was a little difficult to use my computer comfortably, but internet worked well and is free. Housekeeping was excellent and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize for any inconvenience you went through during check in. We hope that you'll continue to return to the Hotel Carlton and San Francisco. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. They went out of their way and very amusing. The rooms are compact but interestingly furnished. The bed was extremely comfortablel and the bedding lovely and clean. Only downside is it can be noisy outside at night.

Room Tip: If you are offered room at the back ask for one at the front with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fowlerinfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for a great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that our team was helpful to you. They are truly the heart and soul of our hotel! We hope that you'll join us again soon, so we may earn a full 5 stars and exceed all of your expectations. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights late October, early November. Other reviewers have called this hotel shabby, but for me, a few cracks in the paint work or marks on the lampshades actually add a little character. If you are looking for the clean lines and minimalist feel of a modern hotel you may be disappointed here, but if you want a comfortable bed in a clean room with a walk-in closet, a bathroom that is spotless in all the right places, all served up with a little ambience, then you will be more than happy. The tv was not flat screen and had few channels but was good enough. Staff were very helpful and genuinely pleasant - they helped us to book several trips, confirmed our airport transfer and gave us a map marked with where we should avoid walking. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel was useful although not always reliable. We didn't eat in the Hotel so I can't comment on the food. The location was great. Five minutes walk to a tram stop, less than 10 minutes to Union Square and 45 minutes walk to Fishermans Wharf. There are several bars, cafes and convenience stores within 5-10 minutes in a very safe feeling neighbourhood.

Room Tip: We had a room next to the H in the neon sign which served as a night light with the blinds partly cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jooly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for a great review! You truly appreciate the charm of our hotel and how it corresponds to our quirky city of San Francisco. We appreciate the time you took to review us, and can assure you our team will be recognized for leaving an impression on you. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in our Saha Restaurant. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel needs a refurb in particular needs double glazing especially in the rooms at the front. Bit old fashioned in its decor & needs painting in most areas. In saying that it is clean, tidy and the staff are great. They are very knowledgeable, always willing to help with a witty line on occasions to keep you smiling!

We never spend much time in hotels anyway, just to sleep and shower so would be happy to stay here again as long as we had a room at the back. (beds really comfy & power shower is great with plenty of hot water).

Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment but they provide free wine between 5.30 & 6pm in reception which is a nice touch to chill before an evening meal.

It is within walking distance of Union Square and plenty of bars & restaurants but remember that San Francisco is a hilly place so prepare with flat shoes & expect some aching calves!! The nearest bar is 30yds away called The Fly, turn left out of the hotel. Nice place with good food & drink. Turn right out of the hotel and a small place for breakfast called Jinns is just up the road. . Nice young couple run this and cook scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes etc fresh & reasonably priced.

Some other tips:

Book Alcatraz tickets before you arrive - they sell out really quick. Thankfully we did, arrived on the Wednesday, visited Alcatraz on the Friday when we found out they were sold out until the following Monday!

Pier 39 well worth a visit & a stroll around. Loads to see & do, bars restaurants, shops, street entertainment, touristy shops, sea lions!!

Cable car - just like you see on the tv. $6 each approx £4 at mo and you will have to queue for a while but well worth it. Stand on the running boards at the side if your brave enough, you will get a
real feeling of San Francisco.

Open top bus tour gives you the opportunity to see a lot of places in a short space of time. Get off at the Golden Gate bridge & walk across if it's a nice day, see dolphins in the bay whilst strolling across!

Yosemite - we used Extranomial tours - excellent, see my separate review.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if possible - there is work going on opposite the hotel & there is no dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll join us again soon so we may make up for any inconveniences you encountered. We hope that the charm of San Francisco and all of the sights you saw made your trip memorable either way! We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,235 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,649 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing