We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #49 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. They went out of their way and very amusing. The rooms are compact but interestingly furnished. The bed was extremely comfortablel and the bedding lovely and clean. Only downside is it can be noisy outside at night.

Room Tip: If you are offered room at the back ask for one at the front with windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fowlerinfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for a great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that our team was helpful to you. They are truly the heart and soul of our hotel! We hope that you'll join us again soon, so we may earn a full 5 stars and exceed all of your expectations. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    1,071
    330
    93
    37
See reviews for
332
1,185
154
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights late October, early November. Other reviewers have called this hotel shabby, but for me, a few cracks in the paint work or marks on the lampshades actually add a little character. If you are looking for the clean lines and minimalist feel of a modern hotel you may be disappointed here, but if you want a comfortable bed in a clean room with a walk-in closet, a bathroom that is spotless in all the right places, all served up with a little ambience, then you will be more than happy. The tv was not flat screen and had few channels but was good enough. Staff were very helpful and genuinely pleasant - they helped us to book several trips, confirmed our airport transfer and gave us a map marked with where we should avoid walking. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel was useful although not always reliable. We didn't eat in the Hotel so I can't comment on the food. The location was great. Five minutes walk to a tram stop, less than 10 minutes to Union Square and 45 minutes walk to Fishermans Wharf. There are several bars, cafes and convenience stores within 5-10 minutes in a very safe feeling neighbourhood.

Room Tip: We had a room next to the H in the neon sign which served as a night light with the blinds partly cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jooly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for a great review! You truly appreciate the charm of our hotel and how it corresponds to our quirky city of San Francisco. We appreciate the time you took to review us, and can assure you our team will be recognized for leaving an impression on you. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in our Saha Restaurant. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel needs a refurb in particular needs double glazing especially in the rooms at the front. Bit old fashioned in its decor & needs painting in most areas. In saying that it is clean, tidy and the staff are great. They are very knowledgeable, always willing to help with a witty line on occasions to keep you smiling!

We never spend much time in hotels anyway, just to sleep and shower so would be happy to stay here again as long as we had a room at the back. (beds really comfy & power shower is great with plenty of hot water).

Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment but they provide free wine between 5.30 & 6pm in reception which is a nice touch to chill before an evening meal.

It is within walking distance of Union Square and plenty of bars & restaurants but remember that San Francisco is a hilly place so prepare with flat shoes & expect some aching calves!! The nearest bar is 30yds away called The Fly, turn left out of the hotel. Nice place with good food & drink. Turn right out of the hotel and a small place for breakfast called Jinns is just up the road. . Nice young couple run this and cook scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes etc fresh & reasonably priced.

Some other tips:

Book Alcatraz tickets before you arrive - they sell out really quick. Thankfully we did, arrived on the Wednesday, visited Alcatraz on the Friday when we found out they were sold out until the following Monday!

Pier 39 well worth a visit & a stroll around. Loads to see & do, bars restaurants, shops, street entertainment, touristy shops, sea lions!!

Cable car - just like you see on the tv. $6 each approx £4 at mo and you will have to queue for a while but well worth it. Stand on the running boards at the side if your brave enough, you will get a
real feeling of San Francisco.

Open top bus tour gives you the opportunity to see a lot of places in a short space of time. Get off at the Golden Gate bridge & walk across if it's a nice day, see dolphins in the bay whilst strolling across!

Yosemite - we used Extranomial tours - excellent, see my separate review.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if possible - there is work going on opposite the hotel & there is no dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll join us again soon so we may make up for any inconveniences you encountered. We hope that the charm of San Francisco and all of the sights you saw made your trip memorable either way! We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here and I still think it is a good choice.

The rooms are pretty spacious (in fact I had a walk in closet which was almost bigger than the next hotel room I stayed in - although the light switch didn't work!!). The bed was comfy and the bathroom clean (although I couldn't put the plug in the bath which was frustrating). The other negatives are that this hotel has THE worst coffee I have ever drunk (in the rooms and in the restaurant) and my view was of a flat roof and a wall.

On the plus side, the staff are friendly, the bed comfortable, there's a decent amount of space for everything you need and it has quite a cool vibe. It's not a 'shiny' hotel but I really like it there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalieemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced in your room. We are looking into the issues with your bathtub and lightbulb, and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you'll join us again soon for our nightly wine reception or a bite in the Saha Restaurant. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very nice hotel! Good value! Maybe a bit far from restaurant areas and the sea. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean and big.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Go to canteen restaurant near by, good food! And fly next door!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmlindblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for a great review! We apologize if you thought our location was inconvenient. We are within walking distance of so many things! We look forward to your return, and hope that you'll try out our Saha Restaurant. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked two nights at Hotel Carlton last minute after my trip to NYC was cancelled (thank you Hurricane Sandy,) With the stress of changing all my plans, my friend and I just booked the cheapest hotel we saw near the city center. Upon out arrival, I was pleasantly surprised by an incredibly friendly staff who went above and beyond to help me salvage my completely unplanned, unorganized trip. The hotel is definitely an older building, which adds the charm in my opinion, but unfortunately it makes it a little loud with all the street noise and people coming and going.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tory b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are pleased to hear that your last minute plans to visit us became wonderful. We hope that upon your return we can be your first choice of hotel in San Francisco. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fab hotel, fab location and exceptionally lovely, helpful staff. Clean, pleasant rooms, free wine every night and music in the lobby between 5 and 6. A really quirky place with a nice vibe. Super fun and about 10 minutes from Union Square (at least when you're walking downhill towards it!) Would definitely recommend and hope to go back someday. Thank you Hotel Carlton and, in particular, Gio on the front desk who booked us so many fun excursions and gave lots of useful advice.

Room Tip: We discovered pretty late that there were great restaurants and bars up the road. We had been walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for a fabulous review! We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. Gio will certainly be recognized for creating a lasting impression on you. We hope that you'll join us again for our nightly wine reception, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing