We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could say it was fabulous, but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #47 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Well, let me start off with the best things about this hotel. The location was perfect for our needs, the beds were very comfortable, and the staff very friendly and helpful. But ..... I wish this hotel would spend a little money and upgrade their windows. The street noise was intolerable even with ear plugs. We later discovered a fire station was located a block or two away, and since it was the Saturday before Halloween, the engines were busy that night. The following night was the night the Giants won the World Series, and the street noise was unbelievable. So, we probably got maybe 4 hours of sleep per night. My other complaint was the mold on the window in the shower area. It looks like they painted over old mold which is now coming up along with the new mold. Another correction that could be made with new windows.
I understand that this is an older building, but just a little help could make this hotel more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing Sutter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review! We sincerely apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We understand, in a busy city it is sometimes hard to get away from the noise. We are in the process of updating our hotel, and hope that you'll return again soon to see the final product! We are looking into the issue you mentioned regarding mold in your bathroom, and we can assure you this is not the norm. We hope that you'll give us another chance, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,495 - 1,501 of 2,932 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

A friend of mine and I stayed at the Hotel Carlton for two nights on a weekend in Oktober 2012. It was a very busy weekend in SF, so we were very pleased to find such a nice hotel. We haven't organised much for the weekend in SF. So we were very glad that the nice people at the front desk helped us a lot. It was also much fun to listen to their jokes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfred81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for a terrific review! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and our team members left an impression on you. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to San Francisco!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is a perfect place to stay for a week-end get-a-way. The location is central and walking distance to Union Square, where there is shopping, restaurants & catching cable cars to other parts of town. Our room was clean & nice, as was the rest of the hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful & friendly, and the free wine in the lobby at happy hour was a nice touch! We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and time in San Francisco. We hope that you'll join us again soon and try out our Saha Restaurant. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you at the Hotel Carlton again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Seriously, I was a little apprehensive about this hotel because of it's location (takes a bit of time to get to from BART, or to walk to downtown and all other points around S.F.), HOWEVER, the room was comfortable and clean, bathroom was roomy and shower great, and then there was the service! The people we encountered took such good care of us, and they were charming, entertaining, and hospitable. Everything we needed they took care of perfectly. I just hope to go back some day to enjoy the service and the folks there.

Room Tip: Just tell the folks you want a quiet room, and make sure that your room has a flat screen. Ours did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and that our teams left you happy and comfortable. They are truly the heart and soul of the Hotel Carlton. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was enchanted by the historic building and found it to be very quaint. The room was comfortable - fabulous walk in closet that I wish I had at home - and very comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little small but well lit which is very important to me! And the service - Hotel Carlton was one of 6 hotels we visited in a two week period - the service was by far the best we encountered. From the front desk to the bellmen - everyone was friendly and helpful. My only complaint - the restaurant had stopped serving breakfast when we arrived at 10:20 am.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for a terrific review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and can assure you our team will be recognized for leaving such a great impression on you. We hope that you'll join us again soon, for a bite in our Saha Restaurant, or simply just another relaxing getaway. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A very pleasant hotel in a good location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The wine served at 5.30 pm was a novelty and a wonderful idea.Room was spacious and comfortable I would definately stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll return to San Francisco again soon, and continue to choose the Hotel Carlton as your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel reminded me of a European hotel in the middle of San Francisco. The welcome I received after a very long day of traveling was welcome. The staff at the front desk was knowledgeable and very accommodating. They gave me lots of useful information which allowed me to navigate a city that I had not been in before. They were always willing to answer even silly questions. They even arranged for me trip back to the airport when our workshop was done. I highly recommend this hotel. The only drawback was the thin walls. Lucky for me I had a corner room so did not have many neighbors.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katzkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to earning those 5 stars from you next time. We hope that you'll join us again for a bit in our Saha Restaurant, or our nightly wine reception. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,747 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $128 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing