We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Carlton, San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #45 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Carlton, San Francisco”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Located within walking distance of Union Square and the Civic Centre, the Hotel Carlton offers excellent value and a very welcoming atmosphere. The reception staff were very friendly, the lobby a comfortable place to hang out with daily "happy hour" complimentary wine from 5.30-6.00pm.
The rooms are very comfortable (we had a King Sized bed) and provide adequate space.
Not too many negatives to comment on - the complimentary wifi was inconsistent and the elevators a bit slow, but otherwise I'd highly recommend staying here. The general location is a bit on the "gritty" side, but gives a perspective of the real San Francisco.
The patrons were of all ages and nationalities.

Room Tip: If you can, take a King room - they're more spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We know our building is old, however we feel it is what keeps us a part of the San Francisco vibe! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to the opportunity to earn a full 5 stars upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    1,128
    366
    97
    43
See reviews for
379
1,269
168
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is quite near to the Union Square and it's cheap. The staff was quite nice that they told us which area was relatively dangerous on our first night there. The room had no air-conditioning but the weather in SF was cool enough. The room was clean, big enough for two people and they had free Wii-fi. The only drawback was that we couldn't close the window and it was quite noisy during mid-night and early in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for a great review! We are happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay. We apologize if the noise from the street was unpleasant however we know that is part of the charm of San Francisco! We hope that you'll join us again soon for some wine during our nightly wine reception, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Sorry for my late review!!

I was @ San Francisco from 16 - 20 July 2012, and it was a beautiful summer which I would never forget. Hotel Carlton is v accessible by foot / muni to anywhere. Within walking distance will be Union Square. Along the walk, it was great discovering nice little cafes & interesting stores like the Argonaut Book Shop.

It was also nice to finally meet the staff who doubled up as jazz musicians that the other travelers often mention.

Would definitely return to Hotel Carlton if I'm back to San Francisco!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hepburnfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and time in San Francisco. We appreciate that you understand the "charm" that is the Hotel Carlton. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I loved this hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The bed was comfortable. If you are looking for a typical, chain-type place this is not for you. It was fun, quirky and unique. The staff was friendly, happy and helpful- without exception- from the front desk to housekeeping to the valet. Had a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant. And the free wine in the lobby each evening was a very nice touch.
This is an old building and the walls are a bit thin, but the price was great and the total experience was unique and fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Carlton. We hope that you'll join us again soon for another adventure in San Francisco. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My real rating for this hotel would be a 2.5 out of 5.

I got this on hotwire (as part of a package) for a decent price. Bottom line, it was "worth" what I paid for it. Clean rooms, "decent" free wireless, and friendly hotel staff. But the walls are *incredibly* thin. You can hear the person in the room snoring. Talking or Television can be heard easily and this is a big problem. Such a problem that I would rate this a 2, if it weren't for the great, friendly staff.

As a business traveler, the most I would pay for this hotel would be about USD $130 a night. If you are coming to this hotel to wake up early, leave the hotel and then come back to go into a deep sleep, it's a good hotel and it's better than any "no frills" deal you can get. And if you're here for a night or two and planning on being out of the room for the most part, also probably fine, if you are planning on getting up early.

I stayed here for 4 nights in a row and really missed a basic fridge. Most 3 star chains come with a small fridge. Without any kind of in-room dining options, the fridge was a big missing element.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing Sutter St. There is a condo building being erected directly from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate your honesty though, and the time you took to review us. We hope that you'll give us another chance to show you the charm and uniqueness of The Hotel Carlton and San Francisco. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our first visit to San Fran and we decided to take a shot in the dark and stay at the Hotel Carlton. First off the rooms are very small, and no A/C the windows do open for some downtown fresh air. Limited towels. Noisy streets and lots of sirens. There was a laundry shoot right by room could always here something being thrown down it. Heavy doors so you hear lots of slamming. If your looking for a quick breaky but average quality then eat there. They charge $34-$40 a night for off-site parking and you have to call the front desk and order your vehicle and wait 30-45 minutes for it to arrive!!! OH and you have to tip the guy each time! The elevators are very small and take a lot of time to arrive as well I suggest you use the stairs. There are no ameneties at this hotel either no pool or fitness area. The front end staff were nice and helpful and the hotel was Pet friendly but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy-Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. We understand that our building is old, and some of the amenities you are used to are unavailable due to this. We hope that you'll give us another chance, and join us for a bite in our Saha restaurant. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here while touring through California. The rooms were dated, the skirtings looked like the dust had been painted over. Bedding & towels were relatively clean and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom could have been cleaner. Stayed at the back of the hotel. The police or ambulance cars are noisy and they could be heard frequently through out the night. The hotel borders the Tenderloin district which isn't a safe place to walk at night. The staff were friendly and helpfull. The free Wi-Fi was good. The restaurant was excellent and was very busy on the night we dined. Some of the rooms were being upgraded, new carpets were being laid. I think mine had already been done!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie120c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. We understand that we are a bit older property, however we think that's what gives us our Charm! We hope that you'll join us again soon for another adventure in San Francisco. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,238 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,652 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#59 of 229 in San Francisco
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing