We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #43 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I loved this hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The bed was comfortable. If you are looking for a typical, chain-type place this is not for you. It was fun, quirky and unique. The staff was friendly, happy and helpful- without exception- from the front desk to housekeeping to the valet. Had a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant. And the free wine in the lobby each evening was a very nice touch.
This is an old building and the walls are a bit thin, but the price was great and the total experience was unique and fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Carlton. We hope that you'll join us again soon for another adventure in San Francisco. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    1,103
    349
    93
    40
See reviews for
352
1,236
164
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My real rating for this hotel would be a 2.5 out of 5.

I got this on hotwire (as part of a package) for a decent price. Bottom line, it was "worth" what I paid for it. Clean rooms, "decent" free wireless, and friendly hotel staff. But the walls are *incredibly* thin. You can hear the person in the room snoring. Talking or Television can be heard easily and this is a big problem. Such a problem that I would rate this a 2, if it weren't for the great, friendly staff.

As a business traveler, the most I would pay for this hotel would be about USD $130 a night. If you are coming to this hotel to wake up early, leave the hotel and then come back to go into a deep sleep, it's a good hotel and it's better than any "no frills" deal you can get. And if you're here for a night or two and planning on being out of the room for the most part, also probably fine, if you are planning on getting up early.

I stayed here for 4 nights in a row and really missed a basic fridge. Most 3 star chains come with a small fridge. Without any kind of in-room dining options, the fridge was a big missing element.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing Sutter St. There is a condo building being erected directly from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate your honesty though, and the time you took to review us. We hope that you'll give us another chance to show you the charm and uniqueness of The Hotel Carlton and San Francisco. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our first visit to San Fran and we decided to take a shot in the dark and stay at the Hotel Carlton. First off the rooms are very small, and no A/C the windows do open for some downtown fresh air. Limited towels. Noisy streets and lots of sirens. There was a laundry shoot right by room could always here something being thrown down it. Heavy doors so you hear lots of slamming. If your looking for a quick breaky but average quality then eat there. They charge $34-$40 a night for off-site parking and you have to call the front desk and order your vehicle and wait 30-45 minutes for it to arrive!!! OH and you have to tip the guy each time! The elevators are very small and take a lot of time to arrive as well I suggest you use the stairs. There are no ameneties at this hotel either no pool or fitness area. The front end staff were nice and helpful and the hotel was Pet friendly but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy-Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. We understand that our building is old, and some of the amenities you are used to are unavailable due to this. We hope that you'll give us another chance, and join us for a bite in our Saha restaurant. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here while touring through California. The rooms were dated, the skirtings looked like the dust had been painted over. Bedding & towels were relatively clean and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom could have been cleaner. Stayed at the back of the hotel. The police or ambulance cars are noisy and they could be heard frequently through out the night. The hotel borders the Tenderloin district which isn't a safe place to walk at night. The staff were friendly and helpfull. The free Wi-Fi was good. The restaurant was excellent and was very busy on the night we dined. Some of the rooms were being upgraded, new carpets were being laid. I think mine had already been done!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie120c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. We understand that we are a bit older property, however we think that's what gives us our Charm! We hope that you'll join us again soon for another adventure in San Francisco. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Great value hotel. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. Be prepared for the fact that the hotel is an older building and the rooms show some wear but they are clean and large. This property is within walking distance to a wonderful,upscale shopping area and some great little bars and cafes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to earn a full 5 stars next time. Please join us again for dinner in our Saha Restaurant or our nightly wine reception. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We moved to the Carlton from the utterly appalling Nob Hill Hotel and were knocked out by the helpful attitude and calm efficiency of all the staff. The rooms were clean, bright and with extremely comfortable beds; the early evening wine reception was a blast, with the opportunity to talk to lots of other guests. The location is very good for getting Downtown and to lots of good places to eat in the evenings, and the cost was LESS than the rubbish location we had just left!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, and up as high as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Carlton. We hope that you'll return again to explore more of what San Francisco has to offer. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

You can not beat the price or the location. The staff was funny & extremely helpful. The lobby was funky & beautiful. The rooms were clean & everything you could ask for. Great that they have a safe in the room & the biggest hotel closet I have ever seen. Would definitely go back. The free happy hour was the perfect finishing touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicky_McChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wine reception. We hope to see you again soon for a bite to eat in our Saha Restaurant! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,391 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#24 of 228 in San Francisco
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,870 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#100 of 228 in San Francisco
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing