We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Carlton- All Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #47 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 5, 2012

You can not beat the price or the location. The staff was funny & extremely helpful. The lobby was funky & beautiful. The rooms were clean & everything you could ask for. Great that they have a safe in the room & the biggest hotel closet I have ever seen. Would definitely go back. The free happy hour was the perfect finishing touch.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicky_McChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wine reception. We hope to see you again soon for a bite to eat in our Saha Restaurant! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,544 - 1,550 of 2,959 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, and we
Would highly recommend it. We are 63 so can walk stairs etc, as the lifts were a bit small for me.
Boutique hotel...it said....well THEY invented the word. Built in 1937, it's restored and maintained beautifully.
Service.....OMG.....they even folded our sleep wear...?
Breakfast in their restaurant....one of the best we have ever eaten, and we've been to 42 countries,over the past 47 years.
Happy hour....5-6 every night, although the live music was a bit loud.

Cost....for all that. $120 - $300/night room only, depending on time of year etc. we were on a tour so our rate was, I don't know
You only walk a few blocks to Union square, Macey's, and, the Powell st Trolley car...a must do.
Highly recommended.....by two very happy Aussies...

Room Tip: Being in the SF city area, all rooms could be a little noisy from dumpsters at 5am, but we can easil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelorange49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay, and appreciate the charm of The Hotel Carlton! We look forward to your return, and hope to see you in our Saha restaurant. Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Other than location and good reception appearance they got it all wrong. The walls are paper thin so you hear people's conversations in the room next door. And seeing it's a pet friendly hotel it also means you get to enjoy the hound howling in the room next door waiting for its owners to return to their room. It gets worse...at six in the morning it sounds like the garbage removal truck parked in your room -keep the windows shut tight as the street noise is bad. The valet parking is $39 per day and you wait no less than 30 min for your car to be brought around -my time is Prescious I don't enjoy waiting and the valet attendant had a bad attitude to make things worse. They have a wine hour with this guy called Nazz who plays horrible, cheesy eighties porn tunes on his Casio keyboard in the bohemian looking reception area. The restaurant took 15 min to seat me and they weren't even half full so ordered a red curry take out -turns out it was Tofu, peas and broccoli on a bed of pasta with a bit of spice which cost me $21! Horrible but the pizza next door at Fly is great and reasonably priced.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Marina_JNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. We apologize if we did not live up to your expectations. Our ratings on TripAdvisor actually come from our guests! We hope to be able to show you how we got that rating so please join us again. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We -my son and me - had a nice stay in S. F. The Carlton is located really centrally - and even at night we didn't feel uncomfortable in that area.
Especially the staff was very, very friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and cosy, nice view from our room, nice lobby.
(We had our breakfast only in near restaurants, at night the "Fly" (just beneath the Carlton) can be recommended.)
One thing that was not optimal: We sometimes had little problems with the WLAN/WiFi, but the staff was also very helpful with that and they tried their best ...
We enjoyed the really nice elevators (worldmaps and nice pictures !).

We hope that we will have the opportunity to come and stay here again ...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans-Georg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your great review! We are pleased to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again to explore San Francisco some more. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Certainly not full of all the mod cons, but that was what I liked about the hotel! Have stayed twice this year, both bedrooms were comfortable.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Ate breakfast in the restaurant once, was quite pricey, but very good. There is a grocers store not far away if your want to grab a snack or drinks for tour room and save some dollars. Enjoyed the cocktails in the bar next door too! But for the best bargain pop down for free wine at 5.30 (tip the barman and you get double the amount of wine!) the chardonnay was lovely.
Central location, easy to walk distance to Union Square. Free wifi. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us! We appreciate the time you took to review us, and we are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the wine reception, and hope that you'll return again to eat in our Saha restaurant. Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here while attending a business conference in downtown San Francisco. Most of the clientele appeared to be tourists from overseas. The hotel is dated, but it was relatively clean and the bed was comfortable. There was no air conditioning but it wasn't necessary during my stay - the night air was cool and comfortable. The street noise is pronounced, even on the 9th floor. The hotel borders the Tenderloin district which isn't a safe place to walk at night. There are a number of good restaurants if you walk up to Nob Hill. The staff was friendly. The decor is an odd collection of pictures from overseas, many of them from India. The free Wi-Fi worked fine. I did not eat at the restaurant although it gets good reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll join us again soon so we may make up for any challenges you faced during your stay. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great view, quiet room, cute, chic lobby, pretty good location. I forgot my toothbrush and they brought one up immediately. The TV was having issues and only got analog channels so no HBO etc. Shower was great because it had a window that overlooked the city skyline.

Room Tip: Ask for one up high around 915
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Socaliscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for any inconveniences you went through we the TV, and we are looking into them. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,362 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,358 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 230 in San Francisco
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $134 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing