We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel staff...ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #46 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2 days in July during a Trade Show visit. This was by far the friendliest and funniest staff I have ever encountered at a hotel. They were truly a pleasure to talk with and work with. The room was clean and comfortable, the restaurant served a good breakfast and they offered free wine during their happy hour. It was a bit of a walk to the Moscone Center, but I would definitely stay here again. This is a very affordable hotel in San Francisco. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends. Don't pay for a comedy show during your stay here, just hang out with the staff at the Carlton Hotel. They'll make you laugh and put a smile on your face!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for a phenomenal review! Our team will certainly be recognized for a job well done, and for making you feel at home while in San Francisco. We hope that you will return soon, so we can continue to show you the service you have experienced!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,845)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 2,845 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Carlton Hotel. The front desk team is very welcome and the room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was ok. It is not a luxury hotel but the decor is very nice and agreeable! The location: it is a walk distance from Union Square and there are public transportation close to it. The hotel restaurant is also nice. The only warning is to be way from 'tenderloin' a close neighborhood a little bit decadent. But the environment close to the hotel is nice and looked safe. I was traveling by my own and I felt safe at the hotel and at the neighborhood. I recommend it. It is a good trade relation price and service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for such an excellent review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We are honored that you chose our hotel during your stay in San Francisco, and that you took the time to provide your feedback and comments. Please join us on your next visit, and we look forward to seeing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Carlton and enjoyed every minute of my stay. The hotel has a sort of laid back character which I found quite relaxing and helped me enjoy my time there.

The hotel is in a good central location provided you don’t mind a little walking, Union Square being only 10 minutes away.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble for them. Provided us with a map and told us of some places to see and a couple to avoid!
Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Walls are a little thin but there are earplugs at the front desk if it gets a little loud.

If I ever head back to San Francisco I wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are elated to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel Carlton and San Francisco. Union Square is such a great place to visit! We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 8 nights and had a great experience. There were a few positives and negatives, but overall we had a great experience for a price much cheaper than other San Fran hotels.

* Staff are incredibly nice and funny - I very much enjoyed their company during the complimentary wine service and they were always spot on with recommendations on what to do and see, where to eat, nightlife, etc. Not sure if they read these comments, but thank you to all the staff!!
* Rooms are basic, clean and well-maintained
* Walls can be paperthin at times - there are ear plugs at the front desk!
* The ambience at the place is very "traveller", which I liked a lot.
* The location is pretty good - walking distance to the CBD and Chinatown, but close to the druggie part of San Fran so be careful where you wander!

San Fran is quite expensive, so I would highly recommend this hotel for people who want to save a bit on accommodation, be close to all the action and dont mind walking around.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saraht1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Carlton. Our team will certainly be recognized for their efforts in making your stay a memorable one! We hope you'll join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I were on vacation to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The Hotel Carlton was the first leg of our road trip. The lobby had a welcoming, cozy, and warm ambiance.
We especially enjoyed happy hour with wine and music. The staff was courteous, friendly, and very professional. The location was perfect for walking to shopping areas as well as many excellent restaurants recommended by the staff. The restaurant at the hotel, the Saha, which specialized in Yemenese cooking was excellent, and the service was outstanding. We ate a dinner, and two breakfasts there. The rooms were cozy, decorated beautifully, and the bed was
comfy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: We liked our room, although, it was over the restaurant, and the light from the sky lights did come...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbee800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We are thankful you chose the Hotel Carlton for such a special occasion, and hope you'll join us again for many more! Congratulations on 20 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It's a Great place with super friendly staff. The thing I liked most is that the staff would not only ask you how is your stay in the hotel but hows your stay in San Francisco. They would recommend places for you to go as well. Front desk was always there with a smile on to help you anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Premnath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for this phenomenal review! We are pleased to hear that you had such a memorable time while at the Hotel Carlton, and that our team made such a difference to you. We hope that you'll join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hotel Carlton was quite delightful. It was a good location, within walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, the financial district, and the Embarcadero. Also close to the California St. cable car,which takes you right down to the Embarcadero....if you don't want to walk. The room was quiet,cute,cozy and clean. The staff was very warm and friendly, also helpful with questions about what to do and how to best get there. The valet car thing wasn't so bad once you knew to give them thirty minutes to get your car...but it was often shorter than that. Overall a very good experience, and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the rear of the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9tngail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Carlton and San Francisco. The cable car ride is such a testament to the San Francisco atmosphere, and we are glad you were able to experience that. Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,271 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 229 in San Francisco
4,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#63 of 229 in San Francisco
4,763 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
1,684 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 229 in San Francisco
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $164 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing