We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price”
Review of Hotel Bijou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bijou
Ranked #129 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed for four days. I came to see the city and visit friends not the amenities of the hotel. If you want the perks go two blocks up the street for twice the price and all the amenities. JR, Jalessa and Warren were the best, offering me great places to dine and advice on what to visit first. The room was clean upon entering and cleaned daily. The towels were fresh and all the toiletries stocked. I didn't partake in the movies or the breakfast offered as I was out early every morning and in late every night. If you travel a lot, homeless people in every major city that you visit; some places are better at hiding them than others. They are not standing in front of the hotel and I didn't see them bother anyone. Every time I step out of the hotel I was greeted with a good morning or have a nice evening....and yes these were from the homeless people just around the corner. I did not receive this greeting inside the hotel unless JR, Warren or Jalessa where there. Again if this bothers you, just pay more two blocks up the street to see them walk past instead of stand around the corner. I didn't come in to watch television or work so the tv or internet had no baring on my stay. Overall it was a very nice visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside away from the street if they are available. You will not have a view of...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glittle261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bijou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 791 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

If you minus the homeless people outside and the noise they make all hours of the night, and the horrible internet reception, horrible TV channels and the noisy elevator this is a okay place! The staff is very nice here and i feel like they did everything they could to help us out, they even called the cops because of the loud homeless outside for us! They offer to have free WiFi in rooms but but you have to go into the lobby to use it which sucks because i wanted my privacy. Also the TV channels did not come in very clear and it was frustrating trying to relax after a long day but I would just sleep when I could. Jalessa offered for me to have ear plugs which was really nice an it cut down on the noise so I thank her for that! Thank you to Jay R. too for making a food recommendation for us, it was delicious! If it wasn't for the nice staff, most of them, the older woman who works in the morning did not seem to care or enjoy her job much, and the good location this place would be horrible. I will recommend this place for people who need to rest but not for business.

Request a room higher up and towards the back to avoid the noise of the sirens and homeless, downtown san francisco.

Room Tip: high up room
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for pointing out the employees that most stood out to you. I apologize about the areas commented on, we are taking proper steps in correcting this services for our guest, i look forward to being able to report back when complete. Perhaps we can entice you for a return visit to give us a second chance.

kind Regards

Blanca Rivera
Hotel Bijou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Thank you JR and Jaleesa
My 2 weeks was great.
The room was pretty decent. I wasn't expecting greatness but it serves it's purpose. The location is very close to all the forms of transport and the touristy Union Square.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank znznznznznznznznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review we are happy to hear that your two weeks here were enjoyable. I am very happy to hear that my staff offered good service to you. We are sorry for the internet. As you may have noticed our maintenance guy was recabling as we are preparing for some upgrade on the internet, I will report back when we have completed this phase.

Kind regards
Blanca Rivera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with a friend for almost a week, for a conference that was held at Moscone center.
The hotel is o.k: clean and week kept. The t.v. was quiet old and you could hardly see.
The location was good when thinking about walking time to Moscone center (15 min), bart station (1 min to powell st.), restaurants (1-10 min for any type of food you wish), and shopping (market st. Is just a 1 min walk). But the main problem is the people on the street just under the hotel. Although noting bad happened it was not a nice feeling to go trough all the homeless when going to the hotel. They also made a lot of noise under our window at night, and there was noting to do since all the twin rooms are on that side.
All in all it was o.k. For the price we paid - $100 (conference price).

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Amir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that the location was good for you, as we thinking the location is great, accessable to various areas. in Regards to street people yes they do not bother, but they can make noise, our staff does thier best to keep area clean, we ask that at any time you get noise that you let the front desk know so that we can continue to do our job and keep the area clean.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of a return visit.

Kind Regards

Blanca Rivera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A very nice place, front desk and breakfast people as well as cleaning ladies are friendly and willing to help. The price is cheap for the center of SF. The rooms are well-equipped and clean. Come with some ear-plugs (the hotel gives you earplugs for free) as some evenings around the block could be noisy, but nothing special if you are used to live in town. Breakfasts are simply good and cheap. I recommend this hotel because compared to the big hotel companies around; Bijou stands as a "jewel" of relaxing and friendly space downtown. Internet for free; old movies, ...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alex c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review, we are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us, and everything according to y our standards. We look forward to a return visit.

Kind Regards

Blanca Rivera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Located down town with-in walking distance from Market Street and Union Square. The price was very reasonable for it being a "holiday weekend". There were some homeless people in the area and there was a bit of a wait for our room but this didn't affect out stay what so ever. Our room was clean, our host Jaleesa was the best! Super friendly and accommodating. She hooked us up with parking information and breakfast. Would definitely stay there again. THANK YOU JALEESA! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franco0891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest

Sounds like you met Jaleesa. I am thrilled to hear that she offered such wonderful service, thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel and mentioning her name. The Hotel Bijou does have a wonderful location accessable to the convention center, San Francisco shopping centre, cable car turn around, and a short distance to china town.

we look forward to a return visit.

kind regards

Blanca Rivera
hotel bijou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Fantastic location, a couple of blocks away from the nice area, without the zillion dollar price.
Warren and Julisa were outstanding hosts.
We even brought food in and had a movie night in the little theater.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Daer Guest Thank you for your the review and we are thrilled that you could take full advantage of the movie theater room. Happy to know that my staff delievered good service to you. Please visit us again.

Kind Regards

Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 230 in San Francisco
1,361 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#178 of 230 in San Francisco
773 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#121 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Music City Hotel
#119 of 230 in San Francisco
402 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijou

Address: 111 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $127 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bijou 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bijou is the most unique of all the Bay Area boutique hotels in downtown San Francisco. Inspired by San Francisco's rich cinematic history, our San Francisco Union Square hotel is adorned with classic movie palace designs and dramatic Hollywood portraits. Each of our 65 comfortable guest rooms in our Union Square hotel in San Francisco is named after a motion picture shot here in the city. Using the original movie stills as decorative accents, Hotel Bijou provides our guests with the most interesting downtown San Francisco hotel rooms while simultaneously keeping you centrally located to everything this exciting city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bijou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bijou Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Bijou San Francisco
Bijou San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing