We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bijou
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$399
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$488
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$223
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$245
$212
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$338
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$390
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$299
$239
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$458
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveler rating
178
333
207
77
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
333
207
77
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstenderloineddy stunion squarebart stationcable carnever felt unsafemarket streetfriendly hotelthe staff was friendly and helpfulfree coffeelate at nightlight sleeperan older hotelevery eveningpublic transportationheart of san franciscofew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 841 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Bijou for 2 weeks and was disappointed I had to leave! My room was exceptionally clean/cleaned everyday by the very friendly and helpful housekeeping staff. More than adequate closet space and dresser space for your belongings. Bathroom could use a little more space for placing personal items but the bathtub was sparkling clean as well as the toilet, sink and floor. Very short walk to Union Square where there is a number of great shopping places and restaurants. All of the front desk were happy to assist you with anything you needed, Thank you JR, Warren, and Brenda you added flavor to my stay. I would definitely stay here again and again the next time I have have the opportunity to visit San Francisco.

Room Tip: Yes, as others have mentioned it can be noisy at times, but then you have to remember you are in the heart of a city that does not sleep. Really enjoyed the corner room it is a bit larger, but maybe a little nosier than the rest.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleanforthemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review,. we appreciate the positiive feed back, and we hope to have the pleasure of a return visti.


Kind Regards

Blanca Rivera
Hotel Bijou General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I spent two weeks in the Hotel Bijou and thoroughly enjoyed my "second home". The location is great- right in the heart of downtown. It's only a couple blocks from Market Street, and it is very convenient to public transportation. There is also a large selection for breakfast, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate are available all day. (I don't even have to mention the private theater; if you're lucky, you can even put in a special request for a film!) My favorite feature of the Hotel, however, is it's staff. Brenda, JR, and Warren are fabulous: extremely helpful and very friendly. I will miss them and Hotel Bijou, but hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Ask to be up high... sometimes the street can be a bit noisy at night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khall007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for the great review, we were very happy to have had you as our guests, we look forward to a return visit.

Kind Regards

Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had a late change in plans and looked for a hotel in San Fransisco near the Mascone Convention Center for a professional meeting in October. All the hotels suggested by the convention were booked, so I looked for a place to stay on Trip Advisor. I found the Bijou, booked it, and was quite pleased with how it worked out. The location was a quick walk to the convention center, very near the BART station (so it was easy to get to and from the airport without paying a lot for a taxi). The staff was great. Warren, the evening lobby clerk, gave some great advice on where to eat, what to do, and was very entertaining to chat with. The room was okay. This place is a little older, but they have kept it up pretty well. The TV had limited channels and not the greatest picture (not a big deal for me) and the mattress was a little too firm, but I can't really complain. It was a good price and in the end worked out real well. I had a room in the back, and it was quiet at night. Others have complained on this site that the rooms overlooking the street are noisy at night, and I can believe them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review, and mentioning the staff we appreciate the opporunity to serve you.

Kind Regards

Blanca Rivera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

At first glance you do worry that this is in a 'dodgy' area, don't be put off. Once you step inside all is good :) Quite a cosy little 'boutique' hotel that is literally on the doorstep for everything. Rooms are clean and acceptable, however, the only thing missing, for me, was tea/coffee facilities in the room. There is an un-limited supply of fresh coffee in the 'cinema' downstairs, but you have to ask for milk if the dining room is shut. We had a 'side' room, that looked out over, what can only be described as a 'mini ghetto' :0...always homeless people outside, enjoying 'harmless' frivolities! They never bothered us once, but beware and take ear plugs, these can be picked up on reception also! We found the location amazing, as it is literally around the corner from Union Sq, where you get all the major retail outlets and also where you can be first to pick up the cable car that runs all the way to the Wharf and around SF, it's also 5 mins from the BART. All in all, terrific stay at the Bijou and would definitely stay there again if ever in SF :) Enjoy and take it for what it is.

Room Tip: Avoid room 216, this is on the side of the building and has a view over the ghetto :/
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettymoo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest

We look forward to that return visit already, and yes the hotel bijou has a wonderful location, accessible to shopping, cable car, moscone. and great dinning restaurants.

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us.

Kind regards

Blanca Rivera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The positives are the hotel is charming, clean, central, and convenient to transit.

The negatives are that there are no air conditioning in the rooms and noisy at nights with the street dealers below your room window. I used earplugs at night to sleep and the people below are harmless as long as you mind your own business.

Depending on your expectations, this place is not for everyone. I would not stay in this place in the hot summer months without air conditioning. In the cooler months I would stay again.

For the price, it is worth staying if you can put up with the noise.

Room Tip: All the rooms with double beds have their windows facing Eddy Street where the noise can be excessive.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest thank you for staying at the Bijou we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Yes the Bijou, has good location next to shopping centre, cable car turn around, union square, moscone convention centre, and next to a lot of great dinning restuarants, quiet rooms are available upon request, and we do supply fans for the few hots summer days that san francisco has. we look forward to a return visit.

Kind Regards

Blanca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews