We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location and good service”
Review of Hotel Bijou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bijou
Ranked #132 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“central location and good service”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is in an extremely convenient location: close to the subway and bart station, cable car, tram and rental car return for most rental companies. The Bijou is clean and charming, except for the windows that would seriously need some cleaning. Yes the wifi is slow but it's free and tha shouldn't ruin your stay.
Warren at the front desk was a great help. He was full of relevant advice and thanks to him we discovered one of the best (if not the best) japanese restaurant in san francisco. He speaks fluent french and is barrel of laughs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cataclop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear

Guest thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review, as well for mentioning a staff member that had remained memorable to you. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards

Blanca Rivera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    305
    191
    71
    39
See reviews for
114
273
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two days.
They have check-in time as 3 pm and no matter if you have flown international and tired. Still hotel management will keep their promise -- They will not give you room before 3 pm ;-)

Internet connection is soooooooooooooooooo slow.

Breakfast is okay and room was clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NamitaMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We are very sorry for the wait in time, we guarantee room to be vacant and clean by 3 pm. Check out time is at 12 noon, from there housekeeping needs time to clean the room. With it being peak tourist season hotel is running at high occupancy. we wished to accomodate our guests as best as possible. If the room is not available we will gladly store your bags for you and try to get a room going as fast as possible. Once again we are sorry for the inconvenience and thank you for taking the time to write a review.


Kind Regards

Blanca Rivera

Hotel BIjou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What Hotel Bijou lacks in modernity it makes up for in charm.
The location is very convenient, the staff were friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.
Downers was that the internet access was not fast enough, and skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest thank you for the review. We will continue to work to improve on our "downers", breakfast which is $7.05 per person/day buffet style bagels, toast, waffles, pancakes, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, hardboiled eggs, fruits and vegetables with juice and cofee, as well as internet speed which is complimentary wireless. We look forward to a return visit.

Kind Regards

Blanca Rivera
Hotel Bijou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was literally the last hotel room left in San Francisco under $500 and I took it rather than stay in Oakland which was the next option. If you like seedy, this one is for you. The staff was kind but the hotel thrives on a dated feel and so I spent as little time there as possible.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

The Hotel Bijou is a 3 star hotel on AAA and various sites. While the hotel has not had a recent renovation it is maintained. We look forward to a renovation this coming winter and we ask that you please keep this in mind for your future San Francisco needs. The hotel has a wonderful location close to San Francisco shopping centre, Cable car turn around and San Francisco shopping Centre.Thank you on the wonderful comment on the staff.

Kind Regards

Blanca Rivera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hotel Bijou was a one-of-a-kind place with a movie theater theme. Each room is decorated with photos of an old movie that is about or filmed in San Francisco. And there is an actual tiny movie theater inside the hotel itself that shows old-time movies based in San Francisco. It was clean & cozy, and the staff were extremely helpful. We liked the proximity to Union Square, the BART station & the cable cars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chj54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to a return visit.

Kind Regards

Blanca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed for 2 weeks

Employees
Rj front desk day and night manager
Lafeat night audit
Lois night manager
Warren night concierge manager
Blanca Gm all were great
All of the staff accommodated my stay
Laundry was misplaced
And they found it the next day
Cleaned and pressed
Continental breakfast great

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiTomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the wonderful review on all the my staff. Sorry about the misplaced laundry. We look forward to a return visit.

Kind Regards

Blanca Rivera

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

this was a clean and comfortable hotel, the staff were very polite, and the location was near plenty of shops. homeless people were about but did not bother us too much.i would return to the hotel on another holiday

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the review, we look forward to your next visit.

kind Regards

Blanca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#125 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#100 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijou

Property: Hotel Bijou
Address: 111 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bijou 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bijou is the most unique of all the Bay Area boutique hotels in downtown San Francisco. Inspired by San Francisco's rich cinematic history, our San Francisco Union Square hotel is adorned with classic movie palace designs and dramatic Hollywood portraits. Each of our 65 comfortable guest rooms in our Union Square hotel in San Francisco is named after a motion picture shot here in the city. Using the original movie stills as decorative accents, Hotel Bijou provides our guests with the most interesting downtown San Francisco hotel rooms while simultaneously keeping you centrally located to everything this exciting city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bijou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bijou Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Bijou San Francisco
Bijou San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing