We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best red thai curry experience - Every!”

Benjarong Thai Cuisine
Ranked #656 of 5,715 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marina District
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best red thai curry experience - Every!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Overal experience was outstanding although we got to the restaurant at 8pm on a Monday night and it was quite early for a feed and the restaurant was quiet. We had a prawn and veg tempura starter which was massive (and we are big eaters from a rugby background). We were a little confused about how the mains were served so being totally British we ordered far to much for the two of us!
I had the Thai Pan and THE BEST CHICKEN THAI RED CURRY I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED ! It was awesome. My wifes main of crispy pork with basil was very good too! Service was great and the price was the cheapest we have experienced in SF. A pure little gem on Lombard Street ! Will Definately return to SF to visit this eatery again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davept1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    51
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great Food and very well priced. Good service. If you like Thai, try this place, you might even eat there twice!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kpcdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great Thai food is walking distance from the Cow Hollow hotel on Lombard Street! I loved the green curry and the drinks were great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbiecara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Simply the best thai ever.”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I had just arrived in SF. After a lengthy drive, we wanted casual dining with tasty food. Enter TripAdvisor. One mad dash cab ride later, we gazed upon what we can't stop talking about, Benjarong Thai.

No reservations were needed and we walked right in and were promptly seated. We ordered both a lychee and pomegranate martini. Heaven and insanely good. Plus, $6 each. I challenge you for find a martini for $6 anywhere else in SF.

Our food was simply the best thai we've ever had (and we've had a lot.) I had the Thai hot basil with chicken and my wife had a veggie dish. Wonderfully complex and rich with goodness. With each entree around $10, an absolute SF bargin.

I can't recommend this restaurant enough.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank COSouthpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food and a great value”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This little gem is located across the street from the Coventry Motor Lodge and offers great food and a very reasonable lunch "specials" that we took advantage of. good thing because we we went for dinner was awful!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bevi1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjarong Thai Cuisine also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Benjarong Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing