We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Gay Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Civic Center Motor Inn
Ranked #198 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Cazadero, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Gay Friendly”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The staff is always exceptionally Friendly and the motel is inexpensive and close to several South of Market Gay Bars and Dance Clubs. We drive into San Francisco from the North Bay area and enjoy the convenience of location near places where we can have a few drinks and afterwards not need to worry about driving...The rooms are clean, and they have a free breakfast room run by a friendly person .....They has a swimming pool and free parking inside the boundaries of the Motel.
So summary is: an average, inexpensive motel, with a very friendly Staff!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SensuellMan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    82
    91
    49
    56
See reviews for
58
95
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's a motel and it's not in the nice part of town, we weren't expecting much but were in a bind for a last minute room on Saturday night of PRIDE weekend. We were pleasantly surprised! Free parking, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J13Piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This motel is clean and quiet. Internet was spotty, at best. I was unable to work from here due to internet signal dropping. This is a good motel to spend the night at, but if you need to work online, you'll want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Car parking next to your room door (drive-in hotel - I should have known).
Loud traffic - the whole night (drive-in hotel - I should have known).
Loud guests - the whole night - o.k. if you like hearing what others do in their bed.
Bad smell in the room (aircondition or hidden humidity ?).
Toilet doesn't flush - but easy to fix if you are a craftsman.
located in an area in SF that residents try to avoid after sunset.
My local business partners did not let me walk there alone - but I did not experience own threads.

Room Tip: chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dios14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

To get to downtown San Francisco from the CCMI, you walk up 9th street and take a right onto Market Street. On Market Street you WILL encounter a lot of homeless people, crack heads and people with mental health issues, some of who are having psychcotic episode (talking/shouting to invisible people). You may find this unnerving if you are not used to it, and I would avoid the side streets at night. There is a big chain burger bar on market street that looks OK, but when we went in just for a cold drink, the majority of customers were people who live on the street, so be warned. Before anyone says, "they have to go somewhere", yes they do, I am just making people aware so they can choose where to stay. You do not see any further into central San Francisco and the touristy areas, I assume they get moved on, (towards 9th street?), you do see plenty in the parks, living rough in the hidden areas, very sad sight realy.The hotels street is noisy, we were woken every night by sirens or noisy bikes/cars. Relatively handy location and free parking, student style buffet breakfast with very limited choice. The rooms are very used and tired. It's cheap for all these reasons. We were on a 21 day road trip and stayed in 10 different locations, this was the worst by a long way. If I could rewind the clock, I would spend an extra $50 per night and be able to relax.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed there in May 2014 as part of a trip around California. We booked it last minute.

The 1st thing I noticed is that the area that it is located in is terrible. Lots of empty shops and a large amount of homeless people walking around. I am a police officer in a rough area in England and I still felt uncomfortable. Staying here with kids would not be advised and I drove to most places even though they were only a couple of minutes away.

Its not really close to any restaurants either so you have to walk/drive to get to any.

The motel itself is not that bad and the breakfast is ok if you just want to grab something on the go. Staff were also ok and the pool looks decent as well.

If the hotel was anywhere else it would have got 3 but the proximity to the main roads mean it is also very noisy of an evening as well.

The rooms are nothing special but the shower is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel is situated in a bad area of SF, even though it looks pretty close to the center.
I was afraid to stay there and all the people in the hotel looked that they will stalk you :) The rooms were ok and clean but for the same money one can find better accomodation. I woudn't go there again but as I said, in the end it wasn't as bad as expected.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra02013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#138 of 228 in San Francisco
148 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#172 of 228 in San Francisco
472 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#159 of 228 in San Francisco
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#123 of 228 in San Francisco
376 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#171 of 228 in San Francisco
129 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 228 in San Francisco
2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Center Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Center Motor Inn

Property: Civic Center Motor Inn
Address: 364 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3836
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Center Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To really enjoy the City, stay in the center of it at the Civic Center Motor Inn. Ideally located just a few blocks from Union Square, cable cars, the Opera, theatres, and world class restaurants, the Civic Center Motor Inn is the perfect jumping off place for touring the City and other Bay Area destinations. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to the Civic Center and Moscone Convention Center. The Civic Center Motor Inn offers the ultimate in value and convenience, including complimentary continental breakfast buffet, free parking, easy freeway access, and nearby public transportation. Our friendly staff is at your service to help make your stay enjoyable and a place you want to return to again and again.The Civic Center Motor Inn offers 57 attractive guest rooms, each designed with your comfort in mind. Guest room features include: Free Parking Free High Speed Wireless Internet Free Continental Breakfast, 100% Non-Smoking Rooms Available, Swimming Pool, Microwave & Refrigerator, Hair Dryer, Iron with full size board, Expanded Cable Television with HBO included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Civic Center Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Center Motor Hotel San Francisco
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing