We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local value with parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Civic Center Motor Inn
Ranked #197 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local value with parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had tickets for to back to back Giants games and found this place to be reasonably close to AT&T park INCLUDING parking. The staff was great over the phone and in person, Clean rooms and Zero complaints. We got to see a different side of the city staying here which was cool. Costco is around the corner as well as a neat Food Truck court for really great eats. Will stay here again for a quick, inexpensive getaway from SJ.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    82
    90
    49
    56
See reviews for
58
95
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked this room on Friday June 21st. My husband was in ICU at SF General. The Hotel was close to the hospital. The desk clerk was so helpful to myself and daughters that night and rhe next morning. Wasn't sure what we were going to get was really surprised the room was super clean and the bathroom was very nice. The hotel was an older one that has been remodeled was very impressed, would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a motel, nicely priced for budget travelers, with a large parking lot (rare in SF), in a nice location. I stayed 2 times in 2 different rooms. One of the rooms was fairly big and had a couch where I could sit and watch TV. The other one was small, no couch, just bed. No difference in price, one should ask the staff which one they are getting.
Rooms are clean, well maintained, but I had a feeling the ventilation wasn't so good, the quality of sleep was also ok, nothing spectacular.
Breakfast was good, they make pancakes and waffles for you that are actually tasty. Stay there (if the price is good), enjoy the surroundings, come back for sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with couch in the north wing, those are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We got a nice last minute rate at $65.00 and at this price this was great value. Had breakfast included where we made our own waffles. Super friendly staff and handy walk to Powell st tram and Market st. Close to the freeway south also.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tver, Russia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed there for just one night. Despite the hotel is located close to the Union Square, walking to it wasn't fun, since the route passes through quite boring blocks. Returing at night was even worst since SF (or just this area) suddenly discovered itself like a major bum home.

Otherwise it's fully OK as a motel, you can quickly drive to any city location, as well as get to a freeway. The price seem to be very reasonable, I suppose that hotels located just a few kilometers from this point are two times more expenside. The Motor Inn was a logical step of our road trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonic1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The area is a bit less high class than most but I was not afraid to walk at night as long as I had a friend. The room was nice and comfortable and clean. The room service was terrible. I ordered two chocolate mousse cakes, cheesy garlic bread and two milks. It cost $32, took an hour, they gave me coke instead of milk, and the food quality was awful. NEVER ORDER FOOD HERE. Other than that our stay was very pleasant. The complimentary breakfast was great and we enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SierraJaneSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed only 1 night here but we were very pleased with the price, cleanliness of room, swimming pool area and free parking! Hotels in San Francisco make a lot of money by charging high parking fee ($30-40/day), especially in central location and this SOMA district. This hotel offers free parking and full breakfast included! People working here care about what they do. They asked us several times if "we needed anything" and offered assistance right away when we asked for directions. They marked on the map good restaurants and places to visit.

We enjoyed their swimming pool and checked our e-mails on the computer in the lobby which was free and accessible for guests.

The hotel was busy accommodating school choral group staying there when we arrived but we could listen to a free short concert by school girls practicing in front of the lobby for their performance. That was cute. We recommend this place and if we come back we would stay here again. In center of the SOMA, very important district in San Francisco (typical local culture, restaurants and clubs, expensive lofts around the corner). easy access to highway.

Room Tip: our room was located in the back of the hotel facing parking lot, quiet, no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#137 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#174 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#163 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexis Park San Francisco
#176 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Music City Hotel
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#100 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Center Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Center Motor Inn

Property: Civic Center Motor Inn
Address: 364 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3836
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Center Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To really enjoy the City, stay in the center of it at the Civic Center Motor Inn. Ideally located just a few blocks from Union Square, cable cars, the Opera, theatres, and world class restaurants, the Civic Center Motor Inn is the perfect jumping off place for touring the City and other Bay Area destinations. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to the Civic Center and Moscone Convention Center. The Civic Center Motor Inn offers the ultimate in value and convenience, including complimentary continental breakfast buffet, free parking, easy freeway access, and nearby public transportation. Our friendly staff is at your service to help make your stay enjoyable and a place you want to return to again and again.The Civic Center Motor Inn offers 57 attractive guest rooms, each designed with your comfort in mind. Guest room features include: Free Parking Free High Speed Wireless Internet Free Continental Breakfast, 100% Non-Smoking Rooms Available, Swimming Pool, Microwave & Refrigerator, Hair Dryer, Iron with full size board, Expanded Cable Television with HBO included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Civic Center Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Center Motor Hotel San Francisco
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing