We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother. Noisy and in a terrible area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Civic Center Motor Inn
Ranked #204 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked into here for 3 nights. We had a Superior Queen room. Wish we hadn't. The noise that goes on until all hours of the night uncontrolled is terrible. The staff like to pass the buck and are not interested too much in any issues. Breakfast was ok. Parking is off the street. The area around the Motor Inn has a lot of homeless people and we would never walk out of a night. It is a good 15 min walk to Market Street to catch a tram to downtown. Rooms are basic, they are clean. The pillows on the beds are terrible. They are more like a cushion than a pillow and very uncomfortable. Sleep quality was minimal. Would not recommend and would never stay there again. Disappointed in our choice for our stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank T0J057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 348 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

....which surprised me because its a classic motor inn style and the street is far away from the rooms. Breakfast was good. Wifi was intermittent. Pool is small but looked clean....didn't use it personally. Parking was free.....that was good!!!

Rooms seemed recently upgraded but thin walls. Sort walk to Market Street...can see that not everyone will be willing to do that though. Overall, I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Weej1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed for about 6days while around for a conference from Abuja,Nigeria. Compared to other hotels id used in the state before, this was particularly cheap for the services. Close to mo-scone center/union square and staff were quite warm. Free Wifi right within your room (most others bill u if u use wifi outside the reception). Complimentary breakfast was ok too with a nice swimming pool downstairs. The down side is some of the facilities were old (TV,chair) though functional. I will be back again

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmanuel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stay here quite often. The cost is usually best in town...All rooms have refridgerators and microwaves, which most other hotels dont have or cost extra...The best free continental breakfast in town...The nice lady will make waffles for you...The staff is always friendly and accomodating...
My only gripe is that some rooms have newer flat screen tv's, but most have the older ones...I sometimes need to hook up an external source but cant because the tv doesnt have the connections i need...
Its not the Four Seasons but for the price in San Francisco it cant be beat...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRoach63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Everyone in the office is super nice. The room was very clean and housekeeping does a great job cleaning the rooms. Rates are the best rates in town.the hotel is very close to the heart of downtown San Francisco. Waking distance to shopping, food, city hall and the main library.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrswift2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was the worst Motel I have ever stayed in. We checked in on a Saturday and wished we could check out the next day but we had prepaid for 5 nights (over the net from Australia) The motel was noisy day and night. It was not just neighbourhood noise, it was actually in the complex. Out of 5 nights we had 1 night without any disturbances or broken sleep. Our 2nd night there we had someone knocking constantly on our door at 4.30 in the morning. When I mentioned this to reception their explanation was either a drunk or someone got the wrong room. Our last 2 nights there were practically sleepless as the people staying above us kept us awake with what seemed like them moving furniture. I know they most probably weren't but that is what it sounded like.
There was no Motel directory in the room, no instructions for an emergency either. The room was dated, the television was old and there was nothing to tell us about available TV channels. When we asked at reception if they could help us with the different channels we were told no.
There was an overhead fan but we could not find a switch for it.
There were a lot of homeless people wandering around the complex. We felt unsafe our entire stay.
The shower temperature changed dramatically,obviously when water was being used somewhere else in the complex. I had a cold shower more often than a hot one!
The microwave had a dreadful stench to it when we used it to heat water for a hot cup of tea. We found our entire stay there very unpleasant and would never re book it or recommend it to anyone else. The staff certainly did not make us feel welcome. The whole experience was incredibly disappointing and we were pleased to leave there and continue with our vacation in the USA.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiwitess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can tell you I'm not picky at all, but this hotel isn't worth even one single cent.
The heater didn't work, we were freezing in there the whole time and the bed sheets were disgusting so that we didn't want to use them that much. There were couple of brandings in the sheets and it wasn't clean at all. Even when the windows have been closed it was as loud in the room as if they would have been open, the room isn't isolated at all. hot water didn't reach for two people to take a shower. staff was very unfriendly. the cleaning lady woke us up because she was knocking on our door at 9 in the morning three times, when we didn't answer she called us on the hotel phone because she wanted to know when she can come in to clean our room!
it's very central but it's also in a very bad area, you don't feel very secure.
parking was no problem though.
don't go there. i know it's cheap but it's even not worth it for that low price!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaqib, Director of Sales at Civic Center Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review - I am very disappointed to hear that your experience with us has not been up to proper standards. Please be advised that we take our customers very seriously and want them to enjoy our hotels, its amenities, and the overall San Francisco experience to its fullest. Please allow me to offer you alternative accommodations in San Francisco as we have sister hotels located in various parts of San Francisco. I really want you to experience our beautiful city and provide us with another chance to serve you well. Your feedback is extremely important and we will take the appropriate measures needed to rectify some of the issues addressed in your review.

Please feel free to contact me directly at shaqib@staysf.com and I would be more than willing to setup your next stay with us.

I hope you do give us another chance of serving you properly.

Sincerely,
Shaqib S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Music City Hotel
#117 of 231 in San Francisco
434 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#142 of 231 in San Francisco
154 reviews
Alexis Park San Francisco
#159 of 231 in San Francisco
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#179 of 231 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Red Coach Motor Lodge
#151 of 231 in San Francisco
240 reviews
Layne Hotel
#202 of 231 in San Francisco
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Center Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Center Motor Inn

Address: 364 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3836
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $100 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Center Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To really enjoy the City, stay in the center of it at the Civic Center Motor Inn. Ideally located just a few blocks from Union Square, cable cars, the Opera, theatres, and world class restaurants, the Civic Center Motor Inn is the perfect jumping off place for touring the City and other Bay Area destinations. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to the Civic Center and Moscone Convention Center. The Civic Center Motor Inn offers the ultimate in value and convenience, including complimentary continental breakfast buffet, free parking, easy freeway access, and nearby public transportation. Our friendly staff is at your service to help make your stay enjoyable and a place you want to return to again and again.The Civic Center Motor Inn offers 57 attractive guest rooms, each designed with your comfort in mind. Guest room features include: Free Parking Free High Speed Wireless Internet Free Continental Breakfast, 100% Non-Smoking Rooms Available, Swimming Pool, Microwave & Refrigerator, Hair Dryer, Iron with full size board, Expanded Cable Television with HBO included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Civic Center Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Center Motor Hotel San Francisco
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing