We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Civic Center Motor Inn
Ranked #198 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

the motel is in the soma part of san francisco- meaning, it's kind of in the industrial area- not a lot of people around, not a lot of places to eat and see around (if any) and when you get to market st. the first thing you see is a lot of homeless people - not a pleasant feeling.
the room itself was average- you get what you paid for- not dirty or anything like that, and breakfast was good (comparing to other motels in the US)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikoned b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    82
    90
    49
    56
See reviews for
58
95
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel and I would not recommend this hotel. The room we stayed in sounded like it was next to the Freeway, fortunately we had walked around all day and was shattered enough to sleep.!. Rooms fairly clean but smelled very fusty. Due to the neighbourhood you didn`t want to open the windows. We did see a begger being arrested at the hotel reception as he refused to move. The area around is really bad and we felt unsafe at night. When I visit San Francisco next time I will pay the extra and stop somewhere around Fisherman`s Wharf and Pier 39. rather than this area

Room Tip: Avoid the king size room - I think it was room 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil190734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I was at the Civic Center Motor Inn July 7, 2011. I have since checkout made 2 dozen calls to the Inn requesting they release the hold on my credit card. The manager, a Ms Raquel, told me personally that she was doing it. It is now day 40 and she still has not returned the fax my bank sent her on 3 different occassions requesting she fax back the release form... This is a definately a thumbs down for RAQUEL and CIVIC CENTER MOTOR INN. That situation would not have happened under BEST WESTERNS MNANAGEMENT TEAM. I WAS SORRY TO LEARN THEY NO LONGER HAVE THAT INN.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank hferrerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here after a mix up with a sister property (Inn at Broadway). The Inn at Broadway lost our reservation, so they sent us to this property and honored our price. I checked real quick and it showed the rate was about $30 more.

First thought upon arriving at this motel - WHAT A DUMP! Parking and WIFI is included with the rate. I booked a non-smoking room and this room reeked of smoke. But you know...I'm easy. It wasn't a problem. The room did look nice and it was clean. One of the light fixtures didn't work. But everything else seemed ok. The room also had a coffee maker, a microwave oven, and a frig.

The good: comfortable beds, free parking, free wifi, a block north to a Starbucks and a Burger King, a block south to Trader Joe's, Peet's, Nordstrom Rack, & Bed Bath and Beyond, and a block west to Costco. A lot of places to eat and shop within walking distance. If you have business at Civic Center Plaza, it's only 3 blocks away. If you workout, there's also a Golds Gym and a 24 Hour Fitness within a short driving distance. Bummer, since I workout often and I didn't pack workout gear. I didn't experience much noise from our neighbors - the motel was fully booked.

The bad: non-smoking room smells of smoke, wifi is awfully slow, and the gay bar just across from our hotel room was noisy until about 1-2am...not sure, but the last time I saw was about 130am. Parking lot was pretty full, but the person in charge let us park in the driveway overnight.

I would stay here again, but hopefully at a cheaper rate. The price I paid wasn't worth it, but what do you expect when you book it the night before.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front or the 1st floor in bk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillA858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We decided to stay at this motel because of the price and location. Checking in/out was smooth, rooms were clean although we are not fussy travelers. This is a two star hotel and it is exactly what we paid for, nothing more.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JitterCritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The staff is really cool. the rooms were well kept. Tina makes the worlds best Belgium waffles in the morning and the breakfasts are always healthy and the all you can eat never runs out. The office staff (Rahil,Vish,and of course the beautiful Alexandria) are really cool and easy to get along with. It is an all around present trip like always and i'm coming back again the next time i am in San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoNFrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Whenever I am back in town, I always stay at this particular hotel. I've been coming here for over 2yrs now and I love all the new renovations. They have free-wifi, nice plush beds, and also complimentary breakfast. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and polite. I will continue to be a faithful customer and appreciate the great service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#137 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#172 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#165 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alexis Park San Francisco
#177 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
The Opal San Francisco
#101 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Center Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Center Motor Inn

Property: Civic Center Motor Inn
Address: 364 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3836
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Center Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To really enjoy the City, stay in the center of it at the Civic Center Motor Inn. Ideally located just a few blocks from Union Square, cable cars, the Opera, theatres, and world class restaurants, the Civic Center Motor Inn is the perfect jumping off place for touring the City and other Bay Area destinations. Business guests will appreciate our proximity to the Civic Center and Moscone Convention Center. The Civic Center Motor Inn offers the ultimate in value and convenience, including complimentary continental breakfast buffet, free parking, easy freeway access, and nearby public transportation. Our friendly staff is at your service to help make your stay enjoyable and a place you want to return to again and again.The Civic Center Motor Inn offers 57 attractive guest rooms, each designed with your comfort in mind. Guest room features include: Free Parking Free High Speed Wireless Internet Free Continental Breakfast, 100% Non-Smoking Rooms Available, Swimming Pool, Microwave & Refrigerator, Hair Dryer, Iron with full size board, Expanded Cable Television with HBO included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Civic Center Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Civic Center Motor Hotel San Francisco
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing