We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a little personality”
Review of Carriage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carriage Inn
Ranked #142 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 11, 2010

After having booked this hotel we were mainly concerned with its location that was supposed to be in a bad neighbourhood. Though we did see some scruffy looking people in the nearby blocks we did not experience any discomfort, a taxi was never needed and Union square a 10 minute walk away.

Upon check-in we were upgraded to fireplace rooms. The roms are decorated in a way not seen very often in american hotels and are a good break from standard business furniture. Staff was friendly and breakfast almost non existent.

All in all we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 307 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

We travelled to SF for 5 nights with a 17 and a 13 year old for the start of a three week holiday. We thought this hotel was a short walk to Union Square. It was actually only 15 minutes but it was in a location that had a lot of homeless people and beggars etc. They did not bother us and it was OK to walk in during the day but we got cabs everywhere when it was dark. The hotel was great, very comfortable and clean and the front desk staff were very good and helpful. There was a great diner across the road that did super breakfasts and great burgers. It also had a bar.
It was good value for money, great room, staff, just wrong location. But nevertheless a good find.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamsFamilyX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

It's a great place to stay! the location is fine, we liked the fact that we were able to reach union square and the public transport by foot. the people and the close hotel area was a bit strange but no one ever bothered us anyhow.
if you don't feel walking around there at night a cab is an easy and convenient solution.
the rooms are lovely, the beds confortable.
really loved the Carriage inn and San Francisco :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukasHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

the hotel was very pretty, comfortable and the bed was very good!
but I advice everyone to take another hotel near union square or the fisherman's warf, as the area of south market is very terrible! a lot of drunked people, people who shout out in front of you...homeless, gang members...one day we stay at pier 39 and pray to manage to return with daylight, because when it's dark it makes fear!

I had pepper spray with me but I felt not safe at all!!

You will never know what some kind of people has in mind!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerridwen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The hotel itself is very nice, clean. The rooms were just as the web site said, very tastefully decorated. The "continental breakfast" consists of a few muffins and coffee in the employee's room, no place to sit, no options for food, only muffins.
To get to the center of the action (market and powell st), you need to walk on Market between the 7th and 5th st = VERY SCARY AREA. We were 2 girls and decided on taking 5$ taxi rides to bypass this area. There are a LOT of homeless people, drug dealers, gang members, people shout at you, whistle, want to sell you stuff, are talking to themselves, are peeing in the street in front of everyone!! And that was a sunday afternoon!! We would NEVER go on that part of Market St at night. The Tenderloin area they tell you to avoid when you get there is supposedly behind the Civic Center, but it looked pretty bad in all the area. Be careful.
On a lighter note, you do need your hotel card to go up the elevator and all the rooms have an inside corridor access so we felt very secure once we were at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VP007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haiyi, General Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2010

We thank you for having selected our hotel and for having taken the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We value your candid comments as it allows us to know where we can improve our guests' experience.

We are located in the SoMa district, which is well known for its colorful and vibrant energy and is truly a departure from more straight-laced areas of the city. SoMa represents a melting pot of cultures and people, and there is always something new to see around every corner. It sounds like you saw some interesting sights, and we agree that while this area isn't for everyone, it great for people-watching and is centrally located to San Francisco's most popular sites. At our hotel, guest safety and security is a top priority and we endeavor to maintain these standards so guests feel safe and secure. Your comments help us identify areas of improvement that are within our control, and we appreciate it. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance, and thank you again for your feedback!

Regards,
SV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Évitez le côté rue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Alain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotelsSF, Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#135 of 230 in San Francisco
1,111 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
656 reviews
Cova Hotel
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
1,421 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#181 of 230 in San Francisco
3,141 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn

Address: 140 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2833
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $138 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage Inn features 48-rooms and offers a witty, warm, and sophisticated escape from the ordinary. Featuring guest rooms saluting San Francisco's notables eccentric notables and drawing inspiration from the "carriage" of a typewriter, the hotel provides a San Francisco experience well suited for vacationers, theater patrons, convention goers, couples and business travelers alike.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carriage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carriage Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing