We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room!”
Review of Carriage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carriage Inn
Ranked #138 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Huge room!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The room is huge and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfy. The rooms all had a name of a famous person from San Francisco. On the table inside, an old fashioned typewriter had a typed paper all about that person. There was a confusion on if and where we get a complimentary breakfast. Apparently, you only get one if you bought a certain package? Most of the staff were helpful and friendly, except the woman who checked us in was like a robot. The registration room was very small.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlgrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear littlgrn,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Thank you for also sharing your experience for regarding the check in process with one of our front desk hosts, I will be sure to convey your experience with her to our Hotel Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest on your next trip to San Francisco!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    139
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
64
105
24
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights towards the end of August, as I was attending a conference at the Moscone Center.

The hotel was excellent, and very comfortable. Rooms were clean and well equipped. I only had limited dealing with the reception staff but they were friendly and helpful each time. And it was only a 10 minute walk to the Moscone Center.

My only two grievences were that the windows are single pane and subsequently you hear everything outside (you will need ear plugs unless you are a heavy / deep sleeper!) - and that the area is pretty intimidating. I suppose I did just get used to it after a few days and did find that the best route back from Moscone was along Howard Street and then up 7th to the hotel. But a number of times in the evening I would glance down side streets and see gangs hanging out, or have to navigate around homeless folks in the street. In all fairness we had no incidents in the 5 days we were at the hotel - we never bothered the people in the street and they never bothered us, but as I say, it was pretty intimidating and I was quite relieved to checkout at the end of our stay.

If this bothers you, factor in the costs of taking a cab back to the hotel every night in your holiday budget!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKchicane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear UKchicane,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am glad to hear that overall, you enjoyed the accommodations and service provided by our staff.

Thank you also for providing tips to our future guests about the best route to take to/from Moscone Center. Walking down one block on 7th Street and then east on Howard Street is the easiest, fastest and the best path on foot to Moscone Center, AMC Metreon, Yerba Buena Gardens and the rest of the sights of our neighborhood SoMA, South of Market.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco!


Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My recent trip to San Francisco was my first experience with a hotel on the west coast. In trying to find a hotel within walking distance of the Moscone center, I started to realize that anything was going involve some kind of compromise based on reviews and pricing- shiny new hotels in sparkly neighborhoods were all going to make my wallet cry. If you can afford somewhere else, go for it. If not, this place may be nicer than some of the other hotels in the area.

I flew into SFO and took the BART to the market street station that's near the hotel. Despite being a very small guy, trying to find the hotel while staring at google maps on my phone at around midnight, I still managed to get to the place without being accosted or mugged. Market street isn't bad, but some of the side areas can seem imposing until you get a feel for the place. Well, even then, there might be some lingering concern for personal safety. My solution was to walk very fast, and sometimes run. Your mileage may vary. There were a couple of spots between the hotel and Moscone that weren't great, but I didn't bother anyone and they didn't bother me. As for hotel security, the "lobby" is a small entrance room always attended by someone. You need a room key for the elevator. If you're coming back late or checking in late, the person at the desk will have to unlock the door for you.

I booked at the last minute and didn't realize I had booked a double room and not just a double size bed, for just myself. Even if it was more than just me, the room would have been plenty big still. The theme is a nice idea but in execution is a halfhearted retrofit of an old building that still feels oldish. I don't know if the A/C worked (if there was any?) since I didn't use it. I usually tethered my phone to my computer because it was faster than the hotel wifi internet service. The bathroom was large but on the dimly lit side. All the fixtures worked fine. I don't recall any issues with cleanliness overall, and I didn't have the room cleaned while I was there. If you're really sensitive to noise and get a street-side room, you might want to get ear plugs as the windows don't insulate sound well.

I received tickets redeemable for breakfast items at a cafe just a little ways down the street. It's a nice little cafe! You'll know it when you see it, it stands out as it's pretty new... the breakfast ticket covers a reasonable array of stuff but I didn't have much time to try much more than bagels and bananas. Coffee was pretty good.

Theres a hotel immediately across the street that's also a Best Western (the Americana) with more facilities that you can use if you're in the Carriage Inn. The CI doesn't have a fitness room/pool but the Americana does- and you can use it if you talk to the front desk people in the Americana and get a key for the elevator over there. It's a small fitness room but I wasn't familiar enough with area to map out nice long run routes, so I went with the elliptical instead. It worked. I saw the pool but didn't use it.

And finally, based on previous reviews of a lot of the more budget-oriented hotels in the area, it seemed the incidence of bed bugs was strangely high. Due to that, I spent my first night on top of the sheets in fear. That fear was unfounded, and I will be happy to note that I didn't encounter any hungry little critters.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaiyiHotels D, Director of Sales at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear ibmman,

Thank you for your review! I am glad that overall, you found our accommodations satisfactory during your stay with us in June while in town for a conference at the Moscone Center. As a tip and sidenote for our future guests: Easiest, fastest and best way to get to Moscone Center is to walk down 7th Street to Howard Street and go east three blocks down. Also, thank you for sharing your experience with our shared amenities with the Best Western PLUS Americania Hotel right across the street, which all of our Carriage Inn guests are welcome to use the fitness center and rooftop pool.

As with every metropolitan city, your first moments in San Francisco can be a little intimidating regardless of neighborhood, however just as you've experienced, it's all a matter of getting a feel for the area. Our neighbohood of SoMA (South of Market) area is an eclectic and diverse area which contributes to the overall makeup of the city of San Francisco. Although not necessarily the most luxurious part of town, SoMA is continually thriving with planned restaurant openings as well as major corporations moving into our neighborhood.

Again, your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to SoMA in the very near future.

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent four nights in this hotel during a conference. Check-in took over an hour due to only one staff being able to check in guests and a cumbersome paper form check in process. Our room did have nice bedding, but the room was in poor repair, dirty and smelled of cigarette and marijuana smoke. The bathroom floor and bathtub was filthy with smears all over the glass shower doors, black dirt accumulated in all of the corners and pubic hair/dirt/food remains on the bathroom floor. Our window didn't close. It was noisy and the neighborhood was really sketchy - we were unable to leave the hotel and walk the four blocks to the Mascone Center without being repeatedly hassled by aggressive panhandlers and homeless people. The breakfast is not at the hotel, but at a small cafe on the corner and was terrible. The fitness center was across the street in another dumpy hotel. Staff offered us another room, but it was just as dirty and the tiles in the bathroom floor were all cracked and it smelled worse than the first room. We asked them to please just clean up the room we were in and when we came back, it had not been touched. We live in the city and are used to urban areas (not our first time in San Fran) but did not feel safe in this area. This neighborhood is full of strip clubs, xxx theaters, marijuana centers and unsavory characters and you have to walk through it to get anywhere else. It was very noisy outside at night and loud enough to disturb us in our room on the 4th floor. Worst hotel stay I've ever had, and we travel frequently. We booked through BookIt.com and they were extremely unhelpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Ktmoon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologize that the quality of your room fell short of your standards. The service you experienced is not representative of the standards we are accustomed to providing as we are always aiming to uphold the standard of superior service. As a smaller property we offer our guests the options of additional amenities we would have been unable to offer due to our size.

The initial impression of our neighborhood can be surprising to some visitors but the south of market neighborhood is filled with a diverse group of locals which include families and singles alike. In many urban cities there are multiple paths you can take to avoid certain sections that some would deem as undesirable. Our well informed staff willingly provides our guests this type of information.

Hopefully you will return and provide us a second opportunity to explore our ever changing neighborhood. Perhaps your future stay in San Francisco's south of market district will be more to your liking. Thank you again for your time and response.

Kind Regards,

Don Ignacio
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is ok, not stellar. Showers are horrible, tiles were coming off the bathroom floors. Cleaning crew didn't give us fresh totels, just hung up our old towels. The area is AWFUL---very sketchy, lots of people haggling you---my advice--if your gonna spend money for a hotel, stay in a better area--like Financial District or even Fisherman's Wharf or Noe Valley.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyi, Front Office Manager at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Erin,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I am sorry that our location is not to your satisfaction. In regards to our shower and bathroom floor I will forward your feedback to the upper management.Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate input that will help us improve our hotel.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 415-626-0200.


Sincerely,

Roy Caspillan / Assistant Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

On the up side: good value, spacious room, interesting decoration (will be challenged by some), convenient breakfast at a separate location on the same block, free internet, helpful staff.
On the down side: could hear the neighbors upstairs pounding, chest drawers have a serious problem (poor conception - just won't open/close smoothly), no radio-alarm clock.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Luc V,

We certainly appreciate that you took the time to share your review about your recent stay with us and the Trip Advisor community. I am pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and service! I will certainly forward your comments about the chest of drawers to our Engineering team as well as Executive management to determine a possible solution. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to San Francisco, thanks again!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We usually opt for bed and breakfast places not chain hotels, but we needed to attend an event in the South of Market area so the location of this place seemed perfect. Despite its association with Best Western this hotel is quirky and charming--each hotel has a distinctive decor associated with a legendary San Francisco figure. The rooms are much nicer than the on-line pictures suggest. They were clean with very comfortable beds, high-end linens and flat screen tvs. We had a room toward the back which was quiet ,if a bit dark. If you faced on the street it might be noisy.
The neighborhood is "in transition" so families should be prepared to encounter panhandling street people--no danger but perhaps a bit offputting.
The hotel offers some nice perks--a free breakfast at a restaurant down the street and use of the pool/sports facilities of the main Best Western across the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Carriage Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear cbs02,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community! Your comments about your stay with us are much appreciated and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations as well as the breakfast at Caffe Moda during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco again very soon!

Best regards,

Nick Dalisay
Area Director of Sales
Haiyi Hotels Worldwide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#133 of 229 in San Francisco
1,036 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 229 in San Francisco
1,183 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#181 of 229 in San Francisco
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#189 of 229 in San Francisco
598 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 229 in San Francisco
1,341 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#159 of 229 in San Francisco
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Inn

Property: Carriage Inn
Address: 140 7th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-2833
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#78 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carriage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage Inn features 48-rooms and offers a witty, warm, and sophisticated escape from the ordinary. Featuring guest rooms saluting San Francisco's notables eccentric notables and drawing inspiration from the "carriage" of a typewriter, the hotel provides a San Francisco experience well suited for vacationers, theater patrons, convention goers, couples and business travelers alike.Located in the vibrant South of Market (SoMA) district, the convenient location provides quick access to many of San Francisco's top attractions and destinations including Civic Center Plaza, Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Westfield Shopping Centre, the Theater District, and Cable Cars that will take you to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carriage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carriage Hotel San Francisco
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western San Francisco
San Francisco Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing