We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Charming”
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Beresford
Ranked #145 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was looking for a Union Square Hotel to book which had twin beds since I was going to San Francisco with a colleague from work. I enjoy her company but was not too keen on sharing a bed! The Beresford Hotel had a room that met our needs and the reviews were good – so we booked it. We were not disappointed. The hotel has a lot of charm, the staff friendly and the rooms were clean. Yes, the rooms are smaller and the bathroom is a bit tight, but for the age of the building that is to be expected. We were glad we went to the back of the building as it seemed quieter. Water pressure was great and lots of hot water which is often an issue at the older hotels. There needs to be hooks added to the walls in the bathroom as there was nowhere to hand a towel or your clothes when you took a shower and the sink vanity is not large enough to hold them. As well- bring a night light or small flashlight for that middle of the night trip to the loo. The light in the bathroom went into some type of disco-effect flashing attack when you turned it on, not nice at 3 am! The bar fridge was well stocked and the prices reasonable which is a nice change from other hotels. Breakfast was served in the White Horse Tavern on the main floor and it was a good basic breakfast with fruit, pastries, cereal and of course coffee that was really good. However my main concern about the hotel was that a)the coffee was not available until 7 am and b) after 10 there is no coffee available. OK- I like my coffee I guess! There are no coffee makers in the room so I would like to suggest they put a coffee maker in the little lounge area where the ice machine is on the main floor. Or even get rid of the small main-floor fitness center that had a tread mill and elliptical in in (really - - - this is San Francisco, if you want to walk or run or climb stairs go outside!) and make a coffee room. All in all, a nice place to stay and I will happily return next time we visit the city.

Room Tip: Top floors towards the back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suitscase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel for many reasons. The location is great because you are within walking distance to all the great tourist spots. If you don't want to walk, the Bart, cable cars & buses are within a few blocks of this Union Square hotel. The rooms are clean & the staff is very friendly & helpful with directions & any other info needed. The continental breakfast was great & was served in the attached pub, The White Horse. The food there is great & so is the bartender, Steve. He provided so many interesting tidbits about the city. The people who frequent this pub were so friendly & entertaining. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Clustered with all the other hotels around Union square, neither an advantage nor a problem. My room was small but pleasing and comfy. Noise wasn’t a problem, which it certainly can be in San Francisco. Temperature control, ditto. Price was fair.

It was pretty bare-bones; there was no desk or table of any kind to work at. The ironing board was this tiny thing with short legs designed to go on a tabletop, only there was no tabletop.

The hotel Internet was WAY better than average, responsive and fast enough to watch an MLB.tv ballgame on. The front-desk staff were friendly and efficient in a low-key way. I’d go back, probably.

Room Tip: 311 was comfy but very bare-bones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hotel Beresford is older hotel but doors have modern key card locks, clean rooms, a nice business center, continental breakfast with Coffee. Location is outstanding just above Union Square and just below Nob Hill, 1 block from Powell St Cable Car. There are a couple of comedy clubs and bars nearby, back of Beresford property faces back of more expensive Marriott. Great value, great location, and pet friendly. Being a downtown city hotel, you hear noises but overall nothing unusual and that you wouldn't hear in a more pricey hotel in same area.

Room Tip: We were in pet friendly room 209 right by back stairs and above Kitchen. I think odd numbers are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BallsofThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed for 9 nights from 26th March to 05 April and I got to say that this hotel is very clean, friendly staff and a breakfast although consists of muffins, coffee, cereals it will get one started for the day. Its the location that really sells this little gem, walking distance to Union Square, China town and only 10mins from Market Street etc. This hotel is very convenient for everyone looking to explore the everyday life of SF.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TermonDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Yes, as it goes in real estate. The best part of any hotel is its location. Right next to Union square in SF, this hotel has unmatched convenience for everyone looking to explore the everyday hussle bussle of SF. The services are very average and would rate the room below average basis size and price. One can stay here if traveling as couple or with friends. I was traveling with a friend so had a fun time, but would not check-in here with family.
Not any in-house restaurant eating options, although neighborhood is swarming with options.

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing the street. Atleast one gets a decent window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vishalg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here for 10 nights at the end of March 2014 and very pleased with it. It's a small friendly hotel 10 minutes walk from Union Square and the Chinese Quarter and 15 minutes from Market Street where you can get street cars (F Line to Ferry Building and Fisherman's Wharf), #5 bus to Golden Gate Park and loads of shops, etc. Cable Car stop is about 5 minutes away.
Rooms were clean though smallish, but still enough room for two of us. Space is at a premium in San Fran anyway. Attached 'old English Pub' is convenient but don't expect gourmet dining - Cesarios 50 metres away is okay for a decent meal but the complimentary continental breakfast is more than adequate.

I asked for a quiet room before checking in and got one at the back away from the traffic and lift/elevator noise, though the air-conditioning on the adjacent building was a muted drone, but not overly intrusive.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel for the reasons stated above and its reasonable price.

Room Tip: As suggested earlier, phone in advance and request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#84 of 230 in San Francisco
1,205 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#133 of 230 in San Francisco
1,067 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,785 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#138 of 230 in San Francisco
404 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Address: 635 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $102 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing