We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay in San Francisco” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Beresford
Ranked #136 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay in San Francisco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a great stay at the Hotel Beresford on Sutter Street in San Francisco in May 2013. We were greeted by smiling and very helpful staff. Our room was very quaint on the third floor. It was not super large but it had its own bath and was clean and bright! There was no view. There was a continental breakfast every morning. It wasn't that great: cereal, fresh fruit, pastries, coffee tea and juice, all served on paper plates and bowls. No cream for the coffee. They advertised a wine and cheese in the evening at the pub on the main floor, but the one night we went it was mostly, beer and hot dogs. We didn't mind, the atmosphere was great!
The staff was very helpful and answered all of our questions and gave us some great tips and advice.
Great location, 5 to 10 minute walk to Union Square, China Town, Theatre district and the trolly/buses. Good restaurants around it.
There is no swimming pool and we did not use the Room Service. No internet service in the room but was available in the lobby.
All in all, we would definitely go back to the Beresford!
A big thank you to all of the staff!

Room Tip: I would choose a room on one of the upper floors and to the front, as the views might be better. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2thmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    406
    395
    133
    54
See reviews for
167
495
69
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The rooms on the 7th floor all suffer from odour problems. The bathroom windows don't fully close so the neighbouring buildings A/C will keep you awake. Wifi only works in the lobby. Receptionist didn't even look up from his computer during check in and on the final day, valet took over an hour to return the car and had broken a wing mirror. If you're price conscious, you're forced into this kind of hotel, if you're road tripping and can afford better, splash out. An extra 20 / 30 will get you so much more.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daj0ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Garfield Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked in knowing they has no coffee making asked where I could perhaps get a kettle from today down the road then told some rooms have it just not mine. Very noisy can not sleep go down to pub for tea to be told no we don't do meals kitchen under construction. Very old decor fatback tv no flat screens and remote is wrong one so have to get out of bed to turn tv off. Sit sideways on toilet as room is very small.

Room Tip: Don't get room above the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Extremely good location - 5 minutes walk from Union Square. Rooms were decent, slightly old feel to the decor.. the most disappointing was the breakfast ( bread, cornflakes etc, in paper plates) and no internet or even water in rooms.. its a good hotel to stay if the prices were a bit cheaper and if you need a place to crash..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mansi1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent 6 days at the Hotel Bersford. For tourists working to a strict budget it's the place to go! Hotel serves a basic breakfast of cereals, muffins and fruit with coffee and juice. More than adequate. They also have free snacks from 6pm consisting of hot dogs and popcorn! No other hotel I know of, has this on offer. The location is great. Close to Union Square, cable cars, station, etc. Room well furnished with small bathroom. Wi fi available, but not in rooms. Wasn't a problem as we used wi fi while having breakfast and snacks. Hair dryer available on request. I can't believe some of the comment from other visitors - For the price, you won't find better. I would have enjoyed a kettle in the room but other than that, I can't fault the hotel. Thank you for a wonderful stay in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street. We had room 615 and the room was great. If you require a hairdryer as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyB124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although a bit tired, this hotel has a terrific location in this beautiful city. The room was smallish, but we were glad to not break the budget. We went everywhere on foot. Passed on the breakfast in the hotel as it is served in their pub and it feels like a bar. We popped across the street to a diner-type place. All in all, a good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poetsrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
199 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Hotel Beresford (not to be confused with the Beresford Arms), is a quaint, European style hotel. It's older than many of the hotels I've visited lately, so it took a little time for me to adjust. I've been spoiled with some of the more glamorous hotels in San Francisco lately. This hotel is not far from Union Square on a nice, safe street. It's a very easy walk to shops, restaurants and transportation. Although there is a medium size hill to climb from transportation on Market Street. The lobby of the hotel is the only thing that put me off for a moment. Although they have made an effort with their furnishings, I think the hotel loses a bit of credibility with the front desk. It's a little bit in disarray, with all the inner workings exposed to customer view, and the front desk staff wearing street clothing rather than a uniform, gives the initial impression of an SRO or transient hotel. But it's fine. Don't let that put you off like it did me, initially. The front desk personnel, although busy and a little distracted, are actually very nice. The lobby is small, but not the smallest I've seen in SF. I've been in some hotels that don't even have a chair. We were given a room on the top floor, which was a relief since I've heard that rooms above the bar can be noisy. We needed to be up at 5:30 am for the Bay to Breakers race the next morning. The surprisingly OK elevator whisked us speedily to our floor. For some reason, that surprised me. I guess my experience with older hotels is that that the elevator is usually slow and unreliable, if it works at all. Our room was fine. It had the usual view of a light well and roof top that one finds in SF, but it also had a partial view of the Transamerica building, which made me happy. The decor was modern, and although I had this idea that the room was old, run down and dirty, it was actually not. See the photos. It was fine. There was no tub, just a stall shower, but we were only there for one night, so it was ok. The toiletries were good. The mini bar was the cheapest in all of SF if not the entire United States. The TV was older and not a flat screen. That was a bit of a disappointment. I usually like to catch up on HGTV when I stay in hotels, but this one did not provide that channel or any other premium channels. The bed was very comfortable indeed. The room had everything I required except HGTV. And I believe the hotel offers complimentary breakfast, but we had to be at our race too early to take advantage of it. The thing that really made me agreeable to this hotel was that they put out a big tub of water bottles and a big tray of power bars for the Bay to Breakers participants, (although I noticed all the guests helping themselves). I thought it was a very thoughtful thing to do, and definitely not something a bigger brand hotel would have thought of. We are actually staying at the same hotel again the next time we go to SF for the Marathon in June.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepid_Traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Property: Hotel Beresford
Address: 635 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing