We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, well located”
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Beresford
Ranked #140 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Beresford perhaps five times in the last 40 years. We are pleased to report that the hotel,although old, is well kept and has been modernized in significant ways, including a new elevator since our last visit. In our room the TV set was old and a few favorite channels were missing, but the room was nicely kept up.There was no hair dryer and no coffee maker in the room, which we did not find a problem. New doors and locks were visible, carpeting in the halls was super.. The front desk staff, bell staff and maids were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. Our stay was for two nights, and we were allowed to delay our checkout for an hour so that we could await our pickup in comfort. The continental breakfast was as advertised, and was pleasant (including the best chocolate muffins I have ever had). It would be nice if some protein were added, such as little yogurts.

For the price, and given the great location, we like the place.and will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Beresford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's very central, you can easily walk to Union Square and the cable car. The rooms are pretty small and dated, but what else should one expect from a hotel that's this price? I personally thought it was pretty cozy. The beds were quite honestly the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The bathroom was super tiny, but everything worked well.
The continental breakfast was pretty terrible. There's a box of some stale pastries, coffee, orange juice, corn flakes and bananas, and the room in which it's served is pretty shabby.
Really though, it gave us everything we needed. The room was totally clean, and the hotel staff were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location, close to restaurants and bars (some small and quaint). We like to walk so we set off for Fishermans Wharf daily which took us around 1/2 an hour, very good for the calves. The first night we stayed after driving from San Francisco and were quite tired and ready for an early night....no chance. We were in room 209 which is directly above the games area of the pub directly below which sounded like a party was on in our room. Needless to say I spoke to the night manager who was polite and sympathetic and offered another room with single beds on the 7th floor but as it was getting close to pub closing (1:30am) we decided to move the following day. We were given a queen room on the 7th floor and the remainder of our stay was pleasant. Tip:request a QUIET room.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room when booking
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyMouse955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location but is in dire need of repairs, and the service at the front desk needs improvement. I am not sure when ripped wallpaper, broken beds, and mis-matched furniture became the definition of cozy and unique. But this hotel's best feature is the location...which it shares with many other hotels. I have stayed at many hotels in the Union Square area (Sir Francis Drake, Westin St. Francis, Handlery, Marriott, Nikko) but we chose this one based on the pictures and because the others were booked due to a convention. For the price, this was terrible. The issues were numerous, but the most outstanding were how poorly the room was. I knew it would be small....that is fine, but the TV remote didn't work, the shower head didn't work, the bed literally sloped to one side and was badly broken, the wall paper was ripped on the bathroom, and no two pieces of furniture matched in the room. It looked like it was assembled at a garage sale! The staff at the front desk barely speak English, which was trouble for some of the guests from England that we witnessed trying to get help.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mybloodhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The key factor is location, just one block from Union Square. The room is small, and the bathroom even smaller, but in San Francisco one doesn't spend much time in the hotel.
On arrival the bell hop (porter in UK) was getting the luggage out of the taxi as soon as we pulled up, a good start. Reception staff not great, certainly not attentive, however when we wanted to extend our stay it was handled with ease.
Breakfast served in the mock English pub bar, consisted of cereals, breads, pastries and fruits. Not the most comfortable breakfast venue.
A pleasant Italian Restaurant and a comprehensive supermaket within one minutes walk. On departure we walked with luggage (just 10 minutes) all down hill, to Powell Street Station to take the BART ot to the airport. We would certainly consider staying at Hotel Beresford on a future visit to the City.

Room Tip: Ours was on the 7th floor overlooking Sutter St. We could hear the lift (elevator) but it was not a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is at least my 15th visit at the Beresford. I started staying in the mid-1980's. No, it is no fancy schmancy. But it is very clean, comfortable, well located, servicable, and filled with valuable. I thoroughly enjoyed my room, 716--at the top floor, with a southern view, with lots of light. I noticed it was remodeled, with a flat screen tv, and now card access, instead of a key. I even like the hallways, very Victorian, with wallpaper, charming fixtures. I did not use the fitness center, but did make use of the handy computer. The breakfast, included in the rate, while not gourmet, is more than acceptable. I enjoyed the muffins and sweet rolls, plus the orange juice, cereal, coffee--and did not fill deprived. Staff members,to be acknowledged and I apologize to those whose names i forgot.include Marlon, Patricia, Philip, Vince, and Carrie. Thank you Trisha Lo for your help. Housekeeping service was excellent--thank you, too! Rates are very, very fair for what you get. Location could not be any handier. You are three blocks from Union Square, You are across the street from several bus lines. Cable Car stop is just 2 to 3 blocks away. Lots of small restaurants and shops in the vicinity. I will happily return.

Room Tip: A high floor, especially with a south view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLMChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

nice old-fashioned hotel. friendly staff. if you need something (like a toothbrush) because you're baggage is still somewhere else - beresford hotel has everything.

don't take a room near the elevator - you won't sleep.

location is wonderful, supermarket is around the corner, everything else as well.

breakfast is...mhmh let me say sweet so we had a good selection of muffins and croissants =)

its a good place to stay.

Room Tip: don't take a room near the elevator
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
1,177 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
1,361 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#132 of 229 in San Francisco
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
1,041 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,274 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#183 of 229 in San Francisco
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Address: 635 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $146 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing