We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but got the job done”
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Beresford
Ranked #142 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I were excited to find this hotel IN the city at a decent price (even considering the additional cost for parking) because we were used to having to stay in a nearby town to get a nice hotel at a good rate.

After reading some of the reviews that mentioned the small size of the rooms and the noise level I was a bit concerned, but what one person considers noisy or small is not always what another will consider noisy or small. But it was both - the room was the size of a shoebox and the little bar attached to the hotel was RIGHT downstairs from our room so the only way we were able to fall asleep was pure exhaustion from a long day combined with earplugs to block out all the sounds.

There was a view of a brick wall, no hair dryer, no coffee maker, if there was a vending machine I didn't see it, the bathroom (like the bedroom) was very small.

The place is quaint, the room was ok, just really small, the staff wasn't rude and the breakfast was bananas, dry store-bought danishes and cereal. But it was better than trying to hunt down a place to eat without having to move the car and it was included in the price, so...

Next time we travel to SF, this will be one of the last places I check for availability. It wasn't the worst place I've stayed, but the noise level, the sad breakfast, the lack of what seems to be standard amenities these days (hair dryer, coffee maker) and the small size of the room make me not want to stay there again.

Room Tip: If it's possible to ask for a room that is not right at the top of the stairs near the opening t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumerraiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

The room was ok, but out of the window there was a big pipe, a sort of air conditioner of the big building in front of the hotel, switched on all day and night long. It was impossibile to sleep. I asked twice , but they didn't want to do somethintg (it seemed impossibile to change room in a 7 floors hotel...). It's really close to Union Square, but it's not cheap and that noise was incredible all day and all night. It's not fair when you pay 330 dollars for 3 nights and you can't sleep. And the breakfast in the pub next to the hotel is really weird...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke111Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here by myself (single woman traveling for a convention) and felt very safe and quite pleased with this hotel. Very clean, great shower, and though small with just a Queen bed, the rooms are a super bargain in this pricey area of Union Square. Less than $100 for stay in early November. The breakfast was really good - included in the price and so nice not to have to run out and 'find' breakfast. Juice, coffee, fruit, cereal, and pastries. Perfect. No view (at all) but also no noise as some other reviews stated, so I must have been on the quiet side? There is no restaurant in the hotel, but, there is a bar, called the White Horse Tavern, that is funky, and fun and gets a hopping local as well as tourist crowd. They have reasonable draft beers ($5) and FREE hotdogs nightly from 5-9 pm, with all the 'fixings'. So, inexpensive place for a snack and a beer to relax. (The place gets noisy, and 'goes late' so I would not want a room right above the bar). There is a no Wi-Fi in the rooms, but, you can go down to the lobby, the bar, or the small lounge room with couches and plug in. There is a 24 hour Walgreens around the corner, so anything you need, easy. Lots of good restaurants nearby. This is an older hotel, very charming and quaint. Excellent choice, very happy with this property!!! Great find!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the bar, unless you are a reveler yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainydayghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I travelled to San Francisco and for about the 30th year stayed at the Hotel Beresford. The hotel, itself, is an older hotel & very quaint, the rooms are fairly small & the hotel views often look onto the side of the building next door (I prefer to get the negative factors out of the way first!).
So why have I come back to stay there for the past 30 years? Te front desk staff are some of the nicest people I have ever met & they have come to know me on a last name basis. But while hospitality IS a key factor in the hotel trade there MUST be other factors. For example, the hotel is based near Union Square & Chinatown but costs only $109-$139/night. But another factor that keeps bringing me back is their continental breakfast (included in the room charge). You can get several cold cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, juice & coffee or tea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uncle_Ump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were very unhappy with the hotel, its dirty windows and still does not, and when the image pops open garbage containers, noise comes through the windows, very poor breakfast. Rooms cries out for repairs, doors do not lock the toilet.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Algis_S57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Modest, moderate, clean, well situated for walking and transportation.
Super friendly and helpful staff. We were "stranded" after Sandy and were able to get our room back without any hassle.
Continental breakfast.
WiFi, computers, printer.
I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creamcheese68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was a great old hotel. Friendly people, clean rooms, pretty good location. Breakfast is muffins and juice which is fine - it's as they advertise. The only issue is the parking. They have a good rate for valet, but if you're alone, it's really tricky. If there isn't anywhere to pull up by the hotel and you are alone you have to circle until you find a street spot. Their valet is inside after you check in. If you have someone to jump out and go in and tell them, all is fine. Alone, you have to find a place to park, go in, check in, and let them know where your car is so they can valet.

Room Tip: floor above the third and off Sutter st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#84 of 230 in San Francisco
1,189 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,376 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#132 of 230 in San Francisco
1,052 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
693 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Address: 635 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $145 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing