We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel dirty windows” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Beresford
Ranked #136 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Panevezys, Lithuania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel dirty windows”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were very unhappy with the hotel, its dirty windows and still does not, and when the image pops open garbage containers, noise comes through the windows, very poor breakfast. Rooms cries out for repairs, doors do not lock the toilet.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Algis_S57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    391
    380
    129
    52
See reviews for
159
476
66
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Modest, moderate, clean, well situated for walking and transportation.
Super friendly and helpful staff. We were "stranded" after Sandy and were able to get our room back without any hassle.
Continental breakfast.
WiFi, computers, printer.
I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Creamcheese68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was a great old hotel. Friendly people, clean rooms, pretty good location. Breakfast is muffins and juice which is fine - it's as they advertise. The only issue is the parking. They have a good rate for valet, but if you're alone, it's really tricky. If there isn't anywhere to pull up by the hotel and you are alone you have to circle until you find a street spot. Their valet is inside after you check in. If you have someone to jump out and go in and tell them, all is fine. Alone, you have to find a place to park, go in, check in, and let them know where your car is so they can valet.

Room Tip: floor above the third and off Sutter st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a horrible place to try and sleep noise from rooms upstairs and each side (plumbing noises from the toilets, showers and who knows what else). The rooms were pretty small but clean enough and the furniture is pretty dated.
The breakfast was very average and unless you like sweet pastries there is not much else to choose from. There is some kind of cereal but it did not look tempting, so do not choose this hotel for the breakfast inclusion as you will most likely not eat it.

The manager is pretty rude and needs to take a customer service course some of the other staff were not too bad but english is not there strong point.

The location was pretty good but I wish I had researched the hotel a bit better.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any, and do not believe everything they have written it their blerb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked this hotel for price and location and we got what we paid for. Room was clean and comfy rather small and outdated bathroom. Parking $27 pr day. It served it's purpose well, great location 2 blocks from union square. All reflected in the price. My only negatives were the breakfast is rubbish except for the coffee and our stay would have been greatly enhanced had the front desk staff been more friendly and helpfull. They looked bored and disinterested. I don't think they would call an ambulance for you if you were having a heart attack, they would quickly give you the number then go back to staring at the computer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked this room for price and location, must admit I had no idea what to expect. The hotel was perfect for our needs. We traveled with our 21 yr od daughter so the rooms were tight. It was difficult to spead out the luggage. But the rooms were spotless. On first night we had 2 double beds. After the first night we thought we would come back on Sat. They said they were sold out but to keep checking back. they did have a cancellation for a double/twin which was perfect. Location was great, they have continental breakfast which was fruit/cereal/muffins. We needed nothing more. If I had any complaint it was that wifi was only in the lobby could not access in rooms. Would definately choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joschwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander,WI
Level Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I mistakenly booked the Beresford instead of Beresford Arms . I can say the place is clean. That's about it. The mattresses are only springs and the radiator clinked all might so I had no sleep. The continental breakfast was dreary and not well provisioned. This is a very high priced hotel with low quality rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northwoodsgal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#86 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#84 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#126 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#134 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#121 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Property: Hotel Beresford
Address: 635 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing