We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Beresford
Ranked #142 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is centrally located, a 5min walk uphill from Union Square. The room was reasonable, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was again just like the room, acceptable and not particularly remarkable. My only piece of advice would be to make sure you request your valet car at least 30 minutes in advance of when you need it, as there was a long wait on the morning of departure. Other than that this hotel is perfectly reasonable if you're on a budget and just want somewhere close to Union Square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    360
    353
    122
    46
See reviews for
144
431
64
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Spent 3 nights here and it was OK. The noise level was a bit high and would have put a lot of people off but shutting the bathroom door helped. The decor and furnishings were very dated but it was clean and as another guest wrote 'we were only sleeping there'. Breakfast was disappointing ' no toast' even 'help yourself can be done better with more variety but there was certainly plenty of what was available. View was shocking and my brother and sister-in-law who were accross the passage from us didn't fare any better. Value for money it was fine so long as you're not looking for luxury. Can't say we had problem with the reception staff, they weren't particularly friendly but answered any questions we had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieMc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a twin room on the third (English second) floor for two nights. Whilst the room wan't huge it was plenty big enough for my son and myself with a nice bathroom and decent shower. It's a bit noisy - our bedroom looked out onto the backs of other buildings and we had a lot of air-con type noise so had to keep the window shut at night. Thankfully it was not too hot whilst we were there. The complimentary breakfast of bagels, muffins, cereals, etc. is served in the attached 'Old English Pub' and is fine.

Wi-fi is free but only available in the lobby area.

We found the staff very pleasant and helpful in an efficient way. They even managed to find us a UK to US plug adaptor to borrow when we realised we'd brought the wrong ones.

The location is very good. A short walk from Union Square, good bus connections to all over town and half a block from the Mason-Powell cable car line if you want to ride it. We took it to Fisherman's Wharf for our Alcatraz trip, $6 each. There are plenty of places to eat nearby.

The valet parking is good but quite expensive at $33/day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here overnight during a 2 day visit to San Francisco - ideal for what we needed. The room was exactly what we expected, double comfortable bed, enough closet space and shower room.
View wasn't great, we looked out over the back courtyard but hey we were only sleeping there! The reception staff were very helpful and recommended a great authentic (not touristy) Chinese restaurant for our evening meal. Valet parking cost $27 for 24 hours and was well worth it.
Check out the White Horse Tavern next door, it's just like being in a pub in the Dales or Cumbria, also free hot dogs and popcorn are available for everyone - yum!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Would reccommend this hotel for a great location. Rooms clean and adequate and staff helpful . Really near the cable car , union square and good transport links . Good value . Furniture a bit dated but who cares it was clean enough .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biizylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Unfriendly staff, sagging bed, poor continental breakfast, and building is not earthquake safe. Bartender refused to put on Raider game... In fact he lied that the bar did not receive the channel the game was on! Flood security light outside our room flooded our room through out the night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Amherst
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Other reviewers are correct about its faults. However, the location is convenient and it's relatively inexpensive. We paid $139/night. The older hotels in this area don't block the street sounds very well. But, again, that's what you expect for the price and the age of the building. There are a lot of better choices for a lot more money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Beresford Arms
#82 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#94 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#139 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,750 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#100 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Property: Hotel Beresford
Address: 635 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing