We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, noisy, but great location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beresford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Beresford
Ranked #136 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service, noisy, but great location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Maybe it is unfair to expect more of a hotel at this price. However - a smile from the staff would help. Or maybe they could just learn to at least pretend they care about their guests at all. Very rude staff, we overheard several conversations between the receptionists and some guests where the tone and choise of words were really rude.

Our first room was very small, the window was broken so it was really windy and cold inside. we tried to turn on the heat, but it didn't work. Because of that we changed rooms the next day. The new room seemed nice at first - a little bigger and the window wasn't broken. However - in the evening when we tried to sleep, we found out that the elevator was right behind the bathroom wall, and it was so loud! We didn't get much sleep the last 3 nights of our stay. And the hotel was full by then, so no more room were available.

The location is perfect though, which is the only good thing about the hotel. Next time we would rather stay a few blocks away fra Union Square at a slightly nicer hotel.

By the way - be aware that this is not a non-smoking hotel. Remember to ask for a non-smoking floor if you don't want the smoke to be all over your clothes etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    406
    395
    133
    54
See reviews for
167
495
69
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Got here at 1am to be greeted by drunks! They were leaving the pub next door Not a good start but the hotel improved from then after. Good clean room of a little small. Wifi only to second floor ! Shower and beds best ever. Union square only 2 blocks away. Free breakfast was basic but added bonus. Lori s on the corner was good - we breakfasted here on final morning

Would we stay here again if in San fran - if the price was right - as it was this time - most definitely ! It's not the ritz but it started off our west coast tour well :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoraNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

A great value in the perfect location!!! Lots of shopping and restaurants, walking distance to the financial district, Chinatown, the Market Street cable car line, and tourist tours. We arrived at the hotel at 10:30am, and were immediately able to check in. The room was a little noisy because it was immediately above the bar, but it was okay because we were out late anyway. The staff members were all very kind and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, but simple. It was an excellent value, however, only $102 per night to stay 3 nights over Easter weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Clean rooms, but be aware some rooms are extremely noisy overnight. We changed rooms after the first night because of a loud, bus sized airconditioning unit attached to the neighbouring building directly outside our window. Sounded like we were on a plane. It did not stop overnight although we were told it would. The second room was much quieter. Good location.

Room Tip: Rooms right at the back of the hotel will have trouble with the AC unit described above. Extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teebee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is centrally located and the pub is fun, many bars, restaurants stores nearby.
Many homeless in the city and can easily walk into any place , no dresser in hotel room and we were there nine days.
Staff did not inform us of a marathon running on the day of our departure so we had trouble getting a cab and then trouble getting out of the city

Room Tip: stay in the back of the building and the higher floors, note only one elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
449 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

First let me say price and location count for a lot in San Francisco. We paid $125 in July, which is easily $50 less than rates charged by many hotels. I’d much rather spend that $50 on eating and shopping. For those who want a lot of amenities, stay at the Ritz Carlton up the hill and pay $500. The room is simple but clean and nicely decorated. Our queen room was quite large; our son’s queen was a little smaller, but I wouldn’t call it tiny. Some rooms have showers only; if you want a tub/shower, be sure to ask for it. The breakfast is basic but it is free. Even a croissant and coffee can run you $5-$10 in San Francisco. They have a happy hour every night (alright, it’s hot dogs and popcorn, but if you are on a budget . . .). If you are an early riser and want coffee before 7:00 a.m., you need to walk 1-1/2 blocks to Starbucks. The front desk can be a little irritating to deal with on the phone, but they were okay in person. I think the reservation service is an independent company because they usually know NOTHING about your reservation after you have made it. You need to call the hotel and you will get someone who speaks English as a second language. I had to call a few times after making my reservation and I was never really sure whether the person I spoke with understood me. The staff is not overly cordial, but I did not find them rude as some reviews have said and the housekeeping staff is very friendly. I’m not sure it is possible to get a really, really quiet room. The rooms at the front are on the street and the rest seem to be surrounded by generators that run all the time. However, once we closed our bathroom door the sound wasn’t bad. Cell phone reception is spotty and wi-fi is only available on the first floor, but they do have a computer room (free) where you can access the internet and print boarding passes. The mini bar in the room is one of the cheapest I’ve seen, charging around $2.00 for a beer. If you are on a budget and want to stay in the downtown area, I would recommend Hotel Beresford.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors and in the middle would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhoenixRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for one week, the staff was wonderful, hotel was clean and close to everything. Nice touch was the bar that had free hotdogs and popcorn every night. There have been complaints about the breakfast but I thought that the coffee, danishes and fruit was quite nice, it was free so why complain. The rooms were vert small, literally could jump right into bed when I opened the door and closet was tiny, but who cares you make due. Definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelleegirl713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Beresford Arms
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beresford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beresford

Property: Hotel Beresford
Address: 635 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1017
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beresford 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Beresford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresford Hotel San Francisco
Beresford San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing