We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable chic boutique hotel in the heart of San Francisco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #93 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable chic boutique hotel in the heart of San Francisco!”
Reviewed April 24, 2010

My husband and I live about 2 hours away and wanted to getaway for a few days but not spend too much money on hotels. I'm a bit picky when it comes to the type of hotel which usually causes us to pay more. Luckily we snagged a deal on this place and only paid $89 a night for The Crescent Room (single queen bed).

Here are the pros: It's in a prime location! You are in the heart of downtown and within minutes you can be in Chinatown or Union Square...if you want to take the Bart or bus...you don't have to walk far. The hotel is very chic and modern. It's very crisp and clean design makes you feel like you're in one of the pricier hotels. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We planned to bike through the city so we brought our own bikes. They were willing to store the bikes in the back and even allowed us to do so before check in. We were going to a 2pm showing of Wicked and did not want to leave the bikes in the parking garage. They also allowed us to check out late and store our our bikes/luggage after checking out so we could grab a late lunch before leaving the city. We stayed 2 1/2 days and got the reduced parking rate of $28 a night...essentially our last day in SF we were able to park for free since we were leaving later in the afternoon.

Here are a few cons about the locations: For some reason our keys kept zeroing out. Each day we had to get new keys which wouldn't be so bad if we weren't on the 6th floor. There was an iron, but no ironing board and the refrigerator was their minibar and full of mini liquor bottles so it's not even possible to store anything in it...not even a bottle of water. One of my pet peeves are hotels that either don't give you wash cloths (i.e. European hotels) or in this case when they only give you 1. We had 3 bath towels and 1 wash cloth. It was an odd combination... Lastly, we knew about the free breakfast but were not too impressed. There was a selection of pastries, fruit, and cereal but it was nothing to really brag about. I'd recommend eating at one of the many amazing restuarants.

One tip on finding the place, in order to get to the hotel by car you need to go through the Stockton Tunnel. The parking garage they use is located on Sutter about 1/2 a block from the hotel. Overall, the pros outweighed any of my cons so without a doubt we will stay here next time we decided to stay the night in SF. If you're looking for a clean, modern and affordable hotel in the heart of downtown this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    429
    205
    78
    74
See reviews for
96
549
84
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The Crescent is located just a few blocks away from Union Square on a busy street right next to a Thai massage parlor. Strange location but very convenient.
We drove from LA and arrived in the pouring rain only to be instructed to park in the 27$ parking lot across the street. Luckily we never listen and found free overnight parking on a street on top of the tunnel. We were only staying for one night and moved the car early. before street meters kicked in(8am). The staff was very friendly and of Irish descent. There was a lot of other young, hipp people staying there, like us, some were British, some American.
I had booked the room for a bargain price on travelzoo and realized soon why: the first 4 floors were still being renovated. When I inquired about it, I was told that the GRAND OPENING was still to be in May. But no worries, there was no noise, except the vacum the next morning at about 9am. The bath room was cute but the water pressure of the shower was low. We still got both cleaned up and went down to the lobby to have some continental breakfast where we were enjoying croissants and coffee, cheese and cereal.
The breakfast room seemed a bit cold and industrial and were it not for the classical music and the food, we would have probably gone around the corner to a cozier boulangerie.
Check-in and check out were rather fast, although there were only 2 desk clerks.
The rooms were European size, sml. but our upgraded room had a queen bed and was furnished very modern, much in the style like the Mondrian Hotel in LA, all in white, so if you don't like being reminded of hospitals find something else for the night.
As I mentioned before the hotel is very conveniently located and we were able to walk to many restaurants and shops of Union Square within minutes. I think I would stay there again, mostly because I'm curious to see the Hotel when it is done.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albina0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Clean and professional. I had a great time in my stay here. The rooms are clean and the staff helpful. It was also very affordable compared to the more "high end" hotels in the area. It was definitely a good find.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2010

This hotel is truly a diamond in the rough! Don't let the lack of advertising scare you...this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. The rooms have a contemporary decor that is right out of a design book, outstanding views, incredibly helpful and friendly staff, and just around the corner from Union Square. Anyone looking to stay in San Francisco needs to stay at the Crescent. We stayed at another 'reputable' hotel just around the corner at double the price and it was horrible after staying at the Crescent. Take advantage of their terrific deals and book your trip today! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandfyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I thought I was getting a great deal from Travelzoo for this hotel. Here is the scoop.

1. We arrived after 9pm and had to wait nearly 15mins before any staff arrived to check us in. I think they only have 1 person working at night so if this person is called away, there is no telling when you'll be helped. After flying after a full day of work and driving to SF, it was ridiculous to wait so long.

2. When we arrived in the room, we noticed that the toilet was already clogged before even using it. When we asked for assistance, the same staff member came up with a plunger and actually asked us if we want to do it or should he.

3. No tissue paper. If you need to blow your nose, get used to toilet paper.

4. Not enough hot water for 2 showers.

5. The bathroom was very small with barely enough space for toiletries.

I think for their advertised disount rates, this is an ok price for this hotel, but I hate to think what they plan on charging people after their special is over. I think they have A LOT to work on.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We were disappointed with The Crescent. They're new (opened Oct 2009) so you can expect growing pains. The website looks nice and the rooms are well decked out, if a little small (we had a junior suite).

A big problem was the service. We'd been there two nights before the Concierge mentioned a) there was free breakfast and b) they had a dining room on level 2 (what?!). We were surprised that noone had told us, but despite this their response was nonchalant.

Don't expect the toiletries to be topped up everyday (even if you use them up) and our bed wasn't properly made until the last night (no duvet cover and then it appeared). We had to ask for an ironing board - and even then it was one of those small ones that are almost useless. Cough up for some full sized ones I say.

The cable channels mysteriously disappeared one by one - on the last day only a handful of channels were working. Again, the front desk were mystified but not overly fussed. It felt like someone hadn't been paying the bills and the service was getting cut off...

There is heating but the only air con is a fan on the ceiling - and you wouldn't want to leave your window open at night in this neighbourhood.

The main issue was the hot water - there was none for the last 24hrs of our stay. I can understand valves break but my issue is that there was no Plan B - no letter under the door to advise us the water hadn't been fixed overnight, and no suggestions as to what else to do. We had to call the conceirge at 7.30am to ask for an update. So I trawled the internet for nearby hotels/health clubs looking for those who took walk-ins. We ended up paying USD$20 ea to have a hot shower in a nearby health club. I would have expected The Crescent to make these kinds of arrangements for their guests, or at least made some suggestions, but nothing. And there didn't seem to be any sense of urgency about it either. Did I mention the weather was pretty cold at the time?

We checked out that day and when we returned for our bags prior to the airport, they'd set up a cupcake stand for guests -an apology. And we got our night's accommodation for free. But still - don't expect proactive service and don't expect what you would in a 4 or 5 star hotel.

So what is going for it? The bed was small (double size) but comfy and the room looks nice. The location is very good, only a couple of blocks from Union Square. But I wouldn't stay here again at 4 star prices.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JusFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff. It was like being in my own room at home.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madcityriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,158 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
986 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
5,201 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
570 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#56 of 229 in San Francisco
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Property: Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Address: 417 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3608 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and the menu features Bay Area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing