We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Little Treasure"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #98 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Mystic Hotel is just a couple of blocks from Union Square in the center of San Francisco. Their renovated rooms are quite small, but very cozy and is decorated with a modern design. I would suggest using the steps as the historic elevator which cannot be renovated because it is historic got stuck several times while we were there although it never happened to us. They have a lovely Continental Breakfast on their second floor which becomes a lovely restaurant for lunch or dinner. The bar area is small and a bit cramped. I would choose this hotel again the next time I am in San Francisco but ask for a larger room.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious; west facing rooms get very hot in the afternoon and there is no A/C but i...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Apparently some rooms are small but we received a very large room 5 floors directly above the lobby with a huge bathroom including a plate glass rain shower style shower. All fixtures were new. Everything newly updated and spotlessly clean. Once the trash truck passed by about midnight the room was quiet enough all night. Extremely comfortable bed. Fine but undistinguished breakfast included. Very friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable (but San Francisco priced) on site bar. Free wi-fi included. Call me old fashioned, but I wish I could have found a pen in the room! Would certainly stay here again next time in SF. Wish my camera had not died so I could have left photos.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShadowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in Room 502 (which happens to be a handicap accessible room) and it was super roomy! I absolutely LOVED it. Gorgeous exposed brick, with red and gray accents. Spotlessly clean. It was also a wonderful location. I'll say this hotel offered me a perfect stay, except it was quite noisy, but all you need are some earplugs and voila! You will enjoy this hotel. Also has a really cool restaurant/tavern inside that is frequented mostly by locals... that is how you know it is awesome!

Room Tip: 502 was very roomy, albeit noisy because it's facing the street. I'd actually request this v...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heatherili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. When we arrived we where upgraded to a queen room from a junior suite (two rooms) free of charge. The rooms where lovely, very clean and stylish with great views.
The hotel its self was lovely with a great bar that had live music what we were there.
All staff where friendly and polite and could not do enough to help.
The hotel was a very good price given the style of hotel and location. We where 2 minutes from union stay and access to teams for fishermans warf.
I will defiantly use this hotel again. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cattherese22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a really enjoyable stay at the Mystic Hotel with a great central location. The rooms were very comfortable but were very small. Continental breakfast included started the day brilliantly. We had no problems with noise but then we were on the 8th floor. Staff were very polite and helpful.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I really wanted to give this hotel a top review as the location was great for public transport & seeing all the sights. We had a very warm welcome & were excitedly told we had a newly refurbished room which was lovely. A nice big room with a comfy bed and a lovely large bathroom too. The breakfast was a great selection of cereals, fruits & pastries. The downside was that we had travelled from the UK & time difference made us very weary in the evenings - wanting to get up early, make the most of the day & get an early night but our room was above the bar which hosted a Jazz band most evenings therefore most nights we were unable to sleep. Also the walls were very thin as we could hear neighbouring guests easily & staff milling around the hotel during the night. All in all, if you have no problem with sleeping or would enjoy the Jazz then this hotel is just for you!

Room Tip: Advise against room 301..!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samluvssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The most distinctive things about this hotel aside from its location near Union Square and Chinatown are its modern decor and small rooms. My room basically white with gray carpet and a few pieces of furniture in glossy black. I traveled alone and had a double bed. Two people would find the room adequate but cozy. Nice touch is the sensor that automatically turns on the bathroom light when you get out of bed. Breakfast good but not exceptional. Front desk friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Not in front.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EugeneDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
1,183 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
1,042 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#81 of 230 in San Francisco
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#154 of 230 in San Francisco
49 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,846 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Address: 417 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3608 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $192 - $1,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and the menu features Bay Area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing