We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #88 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

First impressions at check in were very good. We got upgraded to a 6th floor suite which was nice. Staff all really helpful and friendly. Hotel is obviously a historic hotel that has had a really modern face lift. For me it looks really funky but yes the lift is pretty slow and the hallway floors are bit creaky. No aircon which given the unusual hot weather was not great but the fans did the trick.
Noise wise - that 6am garbage truck is a shocker. The crashing sound as it empties the dumpster is not a nice way to be woken. Sure the noise is only a few minutes but not how I want to wake up on my holidays. City noise I didn't find too bad. It comes as part of being central to everything.
Location was awesome with an easy walk to Union Square / Market St for shopping. Bus stop across the road to get to fisherman's wharf, bus to Castro district two blocks away. About 30mins to airport.
Breakfast was probably the only let down. For a hotel that looks nice I kinda expected more service here. There literally was no one that seemed to work there that wasn't just clearing tables. No choice or variety really. I know Americans love their pastries/bagels but for me I just wanted some toast. No option at all for anything hot. Fruit, yoghurt, cold hard boiled eggs, couple of cereals were the choices. Would especially have loved even if I could get a latte.
Starbucks across the road, laundromat nearby. In room wifi great.

Given everything seems to be so expensive in San Fran I'd say this hotel was good value for money but has room for improvement.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBiebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    415
    190
    75
    70
See reviews for
87
527
81
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Recently travelled to SFO from New Zealand and had reserved a 6 night stay - had a lovely quiet room on the 9th floor, after 2 days the charming Eric on the front desk upgraded us to a suite - which was so spacious and we kind of felt spoilt. All the staff were friendly and very helpful especially when I foolishly locked my case keys in my case! (Blame it on the night life) I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: The hotel has only 9 floors and the higher you are the quieter hotel was
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 425christana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
303 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Loved this place. Spent almost a week here during JaveOne / Oracle world. Couldn't get into one of the main hotels so found this place, happy I did! The service is amazingly good -- and the rooms are small (but this is SF!) but well appointed. And they have a KILLER bar and even better restaurant on the 2nd floor! Most nights they have live jazz too. The only negative was the SF was HOT HOT HOT for the first 3 nights I was there (like, in 90's weather) and they don't have AC in the rooms, but they do have killer ceiling fans so I survived just fine.

Read the other reviews -- this is a great SF hotel IMHO having stayed at dozens of them over the years. The location is awesome too -- 2 blocks from Union Square, 3 blocks from Chinatown, 5 to Financial District. Awesome places to eat/drink around too.

Room Tip: I was in 804, overlooking the Hyatt -- and had my windows open when it cooled down at night -- it di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJM-Weasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stylish hotel well located in the Union Square area. This is not 5 star luxury but the hotel will appeal to anyone who wants something a little funky. Free continental breakfast was in line with that offered by similar hotels but at other times the bar/restaurant has very good food and with live music in the evening becomes quite lively. Easy bus or cable car ride to Fishermans Wharf and other places of interest.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have a poor outlook but easily accessed via the staircase. Upper rooms have a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerfromLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel is ideally located in downtown San Francisco. Rooms are a bit small but nicely done. Great for a solo traveler. Rooms are very clean. Restaurant has a good breakfast. There is a jazz band that plays in the evening and the bar serves some very interesting (and good) drinks. The only downside was the noise from the garbage trucks early in the morning but if you request a room away from the alley it should be ok.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVR_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Some of the negative reviews for this hotel had my wife and I thinking twice about booking it. We are very glad we didn't buy into the negativity. Not only does this hotel offer outstanding value (we even received free breakfast), but it is also extremely cool. The chic lobby, push/pull door elevator, retro red carpets on hardwood flooring in the hallways and distinct room layout were awesome. The location was also ideal. Just a couple of blocks north from Union Square, which features a myriad of transit options to take you anywhere in the city. The staff was friendly and competent. We were allowed to check in at 11AM despite the fact that official check-in is not until 3PM. The free breakfast, while not spectacular, was generous and tasty. Roy, the friendly breakfast host, was a pleasure to chat with over tea and pastries. The setting for breakfast is called the Burritt Room, which becomes an awesomely moody cocktail bar at night, featuring a great list of bourbon, scotch, wine and old school mixed drinks. This hotel went far beyond the simple "clean and comfortable", enhancing our four-night stay very nicely. I couldn't recommend it more. Oh, one of the complaints about this place is the noise. Yes, there can be some noise, but it wasn't bad at all. You are deciding to stay in the heart of a large city after all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Despite reading the many negative reviews previously posted about this hotel we were pleasantly surprised.
Friendly and helpful staff
Great night's sleep
Compact but functional room layout
Good breakfast offering
Only negative was the towels that resemble something you might expect from a youth hostel

Helpful?
Thank ADCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#79 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#65 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Property: Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Address: 417 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3608 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and Executive Chef Luke Knox turns out classic food like steaks and chops done right. Knox also takes advantage of Bay area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing