We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Ranked #86 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Despite reading the many negative reviews previously posted about this hotel we were pleasantly surprised.
Friendly and helpful staff
Great night's sleep
Compact but functional room layout
Good breakfast offering
Only negative was the towels that resemble something you might expect from a youth hostel

Helpful?
Thank ADCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    413
    188
    74
    69
See reviews for
86
519
81
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a Chic little hotel with great location is great with less than 8 mins walk to union square. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is of limited variety with decent coffee and pastries. Wi fi is throught out the entire hotel although the connection is weak and I do get lost signal at some instances.

Ok. now with the cons - the rooms are small and there is only one lift that serves all the floors. There are no bell boys so u have to carry your own luggage up and down. The walkways leading the rooms are dim so if you are travelling alone- there is a scary element to it. The frustrating garbage trunk that woke me up EVERY NIGHT even though i stayed on the 7th floor is really not acceptable. This is the catalyst that caused me to rate this hotel as poor considering that I paid $300 a night for it. On the average, i only get 3-4 hrs of sleep here in this hotel.

Room Tip: nothing that i know of
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_ot777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I could have not been any luckier to stumble onto this quaint Boutique hotel.

Where do I begin. First, I would like to give a big thank you to the front desk staff! They were amazing at making sure that my vacation in San Francisco was a pleasant one! Eric, Angel, Jasmine thank you so much for your hospitality.

The hotel itself is very nice and it was right up my alley. The room was clean, with simple closet space and refrigerator for small snacks. Most Americans would find the rooms a little bit to small but I found it to be just right. I was there to see the city not stay in the room all day.

The location of the hotel is its best asset and that is what I loved. It was close to EVERYTHING. I could not ask for anything better.

Loved the continental breakfast but they need more staff there to help. You could see that the current staff was really overwhelmed during this time with some of people that were a little bit demanding.

All in all this was not the Hyatt next door but it sure give the Hyatt a run for their money being that this is not a full service hotel!!

Thank you for everything and will see you definitely in the near future!

Paul M

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed three nights in this hotel on the first leg of my trip to the USA and I really think the reviews here on Trip Advisor are unfairly off-putting to would-be travellers.

First thing I learned while planning my trip - San Francisco is expensive. This hotel isn't cheap, but by the standards of the city it is middle of the road. And that is exactly what you get. It isn't and doesn't pretend to be five star, but it does provide good service, clean and comfortable rooms, and it's in a fantastic location, just two minutes' walk from Union Square which also makes public transport to other parts of the city very accessible.

The bed was the most comfortable I have slept on, and I really liked the style and decor of the room

Do realise that such a central location means you will hear city noise at all hours, so be prepared for that. Perhaps they should look into better soundproofing.

The other downside is the elevator, which had me worried a couple of times that it might get stuck. The breakfast was very basic, but as I never need more than juice and a slice of toast, I was content.

I'd definitely stay again, this hotel suited me just fine.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, maybe pick a higher floor. If you're impatient with elevators, pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

don't choose this hotel if you are in a business travel in SF: tiny rooms, almost no breakfast (breakfast is OK if you are in a youth hostel but in such an expensive hotel...), dark dining room, no chance to have a quite dinner at all, bad service in summary...

Room Tip: bring your own breakfast, tiny rooms, too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jotalezana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The positives - friendly staff
The negatives -
1. No parking allowed in front of hotel; ergo, no valet,
2. No luggage carts or bellman to assist in carrying luggage to room
3. No luggage rack. Had to use chair as a luggage rack, ergo, no chair
4. Unsafe room – locking mechanism is inoperative
5. In-room safe is laying, unsecured, on the floor
6. Electric outlet in bathroom is inoperative
7. Only one washcloth on 1st day – was told by housekeeping that they had no more
8. Toilet continued running
9. Towels are rough – not to 3-star standard
10. No shower caps
11. No shoe shining cloth
12. No recycle container (single trash can only) (may not be a requirement, but is typical in 3-star hotels)
13. No morning newspaper available – was told to go to Hyatt Grand Union, a competing hotel
14. No robes
15. No pen or pad (may not be a requirement, but is standard in 3-star hotels)
16. No channel guide available (for 43 channels). Had to ask the desk twice. Stated that housekeeping would bring it up. Never did. Had to go back to the front desk to retrieve it myself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very happy with our stay - clean rooms and friendly staff. Couldn't ask for a better location, right by Union Park and within walking distance to many things. Only downfall would be bad water pressure and towels were very "crispy". Very cool restaurant and bar in it that is not your typical "hotel restaurant".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNfoodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#90 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer

Property: Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Address: 417 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3608 (Formerly Crescent San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Hotel Union Square San Francisco by Charlie Palmer is a smart, sleek retreat situated in the heart of the city's busiest neighborhoods. Conveniently located just one block from the iconic cable car line in the middle of three key destinations – Union Square, Chinatown and the Financial District — Mystic Hotel offers a convenient, comfortable and unique modern boutique hotel experience in a historic location. With a contemporary look and feel, our accommodations are designed to reflect the changing need of today's traveler. Enjoy high-touch service and an ideal Union Square location, perfect for travelers looking to experience all the adventures of San Francisco. Like a private club, enjoy handcrafted cocktails in the Burritt Room, the intimate film noir-inspired bar named for Burritt Alley, where detective Sam Spade's partner Miles Archer was gunned down in The Maltese Falcon. Then, step into the speakeasy vibe of renowned Chef Charlie Palmer’s adjoining Burritt Tavern, where walled-in and curtained booths create dark corners for private conversations and Executive Chef Luke Knox turns out classic food like steaks and chops done right. Knox also takes advantage of Bay area's tremendous green markets as well as the extraordinary offerings from local food artisans in menus built around prized regional specialties from Dungeness crab to West Coast oysters. That's what we like about San Francisco: it's up to the minute and still in the moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing