We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room; good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Ranked #153 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
DEER PARK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean room; good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Room was clean and adequate in size. Stayed in the area to be close to some friends who were staying in a nearby hotel. Overall, I was fine with my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy that you liked the room and everything was convenient
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    151
    197
    69
    50
See reviews for
86
168
50
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BILLINGS
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Environs of hotel are in a rough neighborhood but close enough to the hot spots of San Francisco to not be a problem.....one half block to be exact. Carpet in hallways was pretty rough and difficult to tell if it was clean. Breakfast was very basic but sufficient. Price, compared to other hotels in area, was good - like one third of the Hilton down the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the time inconveniences but we are happy that you enjoyed your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

When my husband booked this hotel via Expedia Secret Hotels, I could not believe what I was seeing when I read the reviews. We were devastated, wondering what we were going to find and more importantly the feeling that we would not be safe when we walked out of this hotel. The location is fine, on the next block to the Hilton only 50 yards away. The rooms are small but you are only there to sleep, the bed had clean bedding every day, white and spotless. The bathroom was large and once again cleaned daily. Yes the place needed updating but for the price you pay it is excellant. If you want perfection stay at the Hilton and pay there prices. Union Sq is 3 blocks away, we never saw drugies as had been stated in other reviews, yes there are loads of homeless people all over Union Sq, if anything they were more in the centre than right by the Hotel. They do not bother you, some ask for a dollar, when you say no they leave you alone, it was no big problem.Please don't be put off, this is a good value hotel with friendly knowedgeable staff. We stayed in the front, noisey with the traffic in the morning but we liked the sound of San Francisco waking up. the back rooms had no view.

Room Tip: They do suites if you ask for a larger room, we stayed 3rd floor at the front which we liked. the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cococardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, General Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. You have address topics that quite ofter come up when guests research our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
180 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pros:
- Location is AVERAGE. Some people are posting reviews saying that the locations is excellent. My opinion is that although the location isn't bad it is not that great because it is about 3 blocks left of Union Square where you'll find lots of homeless, drug addicted and crazy people yelling at people walking on the streets.
- Wifi signal was OK.

Cons:
- Shower could be better.
- Blankets were not smooth.
- Sleep quality isn't good.
- I thought it was extremely expensive for what you get. It is not worthy!!!
- Rooms are old and small.
- Staff is not pleasant. They ignore your presence.
- Breakfast is bad.
- Dirty elevator.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leonardomrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We apologize our hotel did not meet your needs. We cannot control the amount of homeless people in San Francisco. The prices in San Francisco are all pretty high especially because we are located in the heart of SF. Most of the hotels in San Francisco are small because that is just they way they are built. We cannot renovate the actual room size, but we are remodeling the tiny details such as the showers and carpet and paint. Our staff are usually very friendly and we are sorry that you felt that they ignored your presence, they could have been busy helping people. The breakfast is what all Super 8 hotels provide their guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Extremely surprised to see how clean and modern our room was. The hotel was only 3 blocks away from Union Square. The continental breakfast in the morning was very nice. The rooms are very small, but the bathroom was extremely clean and fairly large. Overall this hotel is an amazing deal for the price. As a college student, this will be my first choice any time I return to SF.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We really appreciate it and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#99 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#176 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Property: Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Address: 415 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2009
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area Hotel San Francisco
Alexander Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing