We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Ranked #155 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel location is convenient and safe. We lived in a queen bed room. The room is super small but the rest room is super big. The bed was comfortable and everything looked clean; no funny smell. The free breakfast was OK, but the room is very small and your choices are limited.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JieZ208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    154
    214
    73
    50
See reviews for
94
179
52
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I recently spent a few days at this hotel. At the time most SF hotels were booked out and rooms still available were expensive everywhere. I decided to give this hotel a try.

The local area is OK if you approach from Powell St. Coming from the other direction was a bit dodgy like a large number of areas in the city.

Staff at the front desk was always present, friendly and helpful.

The room was kept as clean as possible by cleaning staff. The bathroom was always well cleaned every day. The fittings were showing signs of use. The carpet is extremely old and no amount of cleaning could ever revive it.

Wifi worked very well, with reasonable speed and reliability. Breakfast was available in the form of coffee, cereals, toast and packaged pastries which were OK. I much preferred to take breakfast in the hotel room instead of the breakfast room.

If the price was right I'd consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Postcode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. The building is very old so we cannot do anything about that . all we can do is make you rooms and your stay with us as clean and great as possible.
The breakfast is continental. We also serve waffles, oatmeal and juices. You might have came in a busy week when our rooms were almost sold out. Next time we will try to make your stay with us better. See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Check in time is 3pm. We got to our room at 5pm only to find that it was in the process of being cleaned. Obviously the cleaning staff and the front desk we'rent communicating because they sent myself, my wife and daughter up to room without telling us that it wasn't ready.

So we waited. And waited.

I don't mind when a company makes a mistake, so long as they compensate us for it. Why not say 'Hey, we messed up. We're going to take 20% off the bill--anything. All we got was a mumbled 'sorry 'bout that' Really? You're sorry.

No, we were sorry. Sorry that we booked this place.

The rest of the experience was fine. You get what you pay for. It was an inexpensive hotel and the quality was consistent with what we payed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We truly are sorry for your inconvenience. We always have our rooms ready by 3. Next time, we might be able to adjust your price because of this. Again, we apologize because you have had to wait until your room was ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location is excellent.
Disadvantages:
-poor breakfast, but not the worst
-not enough space in breakfast room - you have to wait to seat
-old furnishings
-additional fee for parking - 20$ per night
-too expensive for what you get

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ania-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you did not feel our hotel was convenient for you. We do the best we can to make our guests feel welcomed. Our breakfast is continental and it is what we have to serve. Our hotel is small but it is just built that way so we cannot make any adjustments with that but we are trying to renovate the hotel slowly, so that it is not as old-fashioned but still some antiques so we may recognize how beautiful it still is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Calgary,AB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent last 4 of July in that Hotel and frankly- was not impressed at all. The location is close to a Hilton and Merriott but and absolute ugly, dirt and a real no-no to walk after the sundown, Lots of bums, pushing carts, drug addicts almost in front of hotel and other worse things in the neighborhood. The hotel does NOT have parking and you pay a valet service $20/day extra. It is very, very old, dirt and by no means I will ever stay there again. If you are a tourist with family I strongly suggest to stay close to Fishermen's Wharf of the Golden Gate bridge. Price is low, but in my view, not worth all the risks for the family and the car.

Room Tip: If you are with your family stay out of the downtown area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carloscalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Sir, I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay with us. The subject of being in the "bad" area of San Francisco is a fair question. Unfortunately, I cannot control the entire surroundings and nearby streets and keep away pan-handlers or homeless. This is a city wide problem that occurs all over town. This happens in the financial district, union square, downtown, fisherman's wharf too. I am happy that you noted that we are surrounded by some fairly decent hotels, i.e the Hilton, the Clift, and Serrano hotels these are high end properties that deal with the same problem as we do. For the safety of our guests, we have 24-hour front desk and we also participate in a friendly neighbors policy, which are businesses on our block which carefully watch suspious activity and try to keep the homeless folks walking elsewhere. Finally, we do not allow any guests to stay without a credit card, this always helps to keep the guests inside decent and clean. Thank you for you concerns, I hope I was able to explain the circumstances better. On a side note, our hotel provided much better amenties than most in our area including free wifi, 32" LED TVs, and deluxe breakfast with waffles, yogurt, breads, fruit, and coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

So, attending a meeting in the Hilton Hotel, just half a block away, and running my personal vendetta against Hilton atmosphere, plus the fact that the Starbucks *in* the hilton is 25 or 50% more expensive than the starbucks one block down... I am still convinced that this super 8 is a mistake of society.

Making a quick calculation, counting the number of rooms, the fact that there is ONE person at the "reception", and that is normally a (very friendly and helpful!) student, and considering the price of a room there, this hotel must be a gold mine. No serious personnel costs; no repair costs (they would be necessary, but one can do without); and no breakfast costs, since the breakfast---included in the room rate---is so gruesome, that no-one takes it twice.

My room, somewhere high up: inside window, view on the breakfast rooms and many air conditioners. The bathroom, a joke.

The hotel would be ok when, taking the location into account, the price would be around $30. The real price was, for me, 5 to 8-fold of that.

Tear it down, please.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padgoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Owner at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Sir, I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. I would like to inform you that starting July, we have upgraded our breakfast drastically including: oatmeal, yogurt, and waffles. In addition to that we also offer free WIFI (other hotels charge for) and 32" LED TVs. I hope you will give us another change to change your perception. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This location was at least clean, but the service was not up to snuff. And do not stay here with a family. It is on the very edge of Union Square and is VERY near a part of the city you do not want to walk around at night (or in the day for that matter). I would pay a little more for a better location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baseball4evr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you did not feel that our location was good, but we are in a safe environment. nothing bad happens in our streets or area. We make sure our guests belongings are safe in their rooms and if they ask to keep their bags with us after checking out, we make sure to keep them safe until they retrieve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,328 reviews
Music City Hotel
#121 of 229 in San Francisco
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#184 of 229 in San Francisco
514 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#140 of 229 in San Francisco
385 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#152 of 229 in San Francisco
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Property: Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Address: 415 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2009
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area Hotel San Francisco
Alexander Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing