We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area
Ranked #164 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I was in San Francisco for the Craft Brewers Conference. The host hotel was the Hilton across the street. I paid less than half the conference rate and got a room that was clean. I pretty much got what I expected. There was a complimentary continental breakfast that was really not worth the walk up to the sixth floor. The shower was new and clean. Don't expect the Ritz and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrewMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Thank you for staying with us, sir. We are sorry that you did not feel the breakfast was good but it is continental with great nutrition to start off your day. Hope to see you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 556 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

We actually stayed at the hotel in December 2009 but the computer wouldn't let me pick that date. The hotel was small, it looked like it used to be an old dormitory. The room had an odd shape that made it hard for us to put our luggage anywhere. The hotel SMELLED!!! Everywhere there was an unpleasant odor. The breakfast was typical cereal, danish and some fruit. We called the front desk to get a new chair since ours was broken and we had to call each day to remind them for 3 days until they brought it. We booked it because we didn't want to spend much on the room since we would be sightseeing and only sleeping and showering there. If I had known I would have spent more somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

We apologize for your inconvenience. Our hotel was a hotel since the start. We do not know why there must have been a bad odor when you arrived but i can tell you now that our hotel is much up to date than it was in 2009.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I regret staying here. This is our first night of four and unfortunately we cannot change hotels. First off, I'd called about parking and was told the rate was $19, I specifically asked if that were per day or for then entire stay and the hotel said the entire stay, you pay once (I called hotel directly). Not so. So right off the bat another fee adding to an overpriced room. Our room is a double suite and very small. The electrical outlets are jammed, the lights turn on and off consistently. The hotel staff said, that happens. Our TV would not work, and internet access? No luck there either. Icing on the cake as I write this at 1:39 am listening to the same beat of loud middle eastern belly dancing music from the restaurant below our room. I am wide awake and online to see what time the restaurant will close and this madness will stop.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmg236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2014

We apologize for your inconveniences during your stay with us. Our hotel is old and the rooms are small. It is the same around the area. There is no restaurant next to us anymore. They have moved to a different location. We have no problem with internet access and the TV since we have repaired everything that needed to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This hotel isgreat for what it is--a mid-to-low grade hotel in the TL. The sheets were clean, the floor was clean, the bathroom was clean. And a deal at $70 a night. No complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you soon if you travel to our wonderful city again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Hey you get what you paid for, this is not a luxury hotel its a basic 2 star motel. Clean rooms, hot water, and a comfy bed. Yes the rooms are small but it works. This hotel is for budget travelers. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PANCHIT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and exploring our amazing city! Yes, we always have our guests feel welcomed and at home when they return at night and before they leave in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I was forced to make a last minute reservation on a busy weekday in San Franicsco. The location seemed ideal for me but every thing else was subpar, Evan for one night the hotel had an uncomfortable feel. From a shappy lobby, creeking elevator, to a very basic room with one hard chair and a worn bed the experience will not be repeated, Sure it was cheap for San Francisco but you got what you paid for so I can't complain too loudly.
I will chalk this one up to desperation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calflyer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and we're sorry for the inconvenience. Our hotel is very old. We have made adjustments and improved the elevator and are currently renovating the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Holy cow, hotels in San Francisco are expensive! And if you do find a cheap one you've got to worry about bums, shared bathrooms, theft, bed bugs, and the lobby smells like curry. Not this place. Forget the stigma of it being a Super 8. If you are a snooty McFancyPants, the Hilton is right across the street...literally. This place has everything you need. The rooms are small but you know what is in them? A comfy bed, a T.V., a shower and toilet. That is all you need on a vacation. Who cares if it has a gym, massages or room service? This is San Francisco there are 100 plus things to see and do. You should be taking in sites not sitting in your room watching T.V. The room is small and clean. The carpets looked dirty but they were fine, all these buildings are old. Hot water, DISH TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, complimentary breakfast. It's a continental breakfast and for those of you who don't know what that means, it means NO HOT FOOD. Just coffee, cereal, fruit and bagels. Just enough to start your engine for some sight seeing. I stayed here with my wife for our anniversary. We are power budget travelers. We like to spend our money on food and fun not place to sleep. I tell you I'll stay here the next time I go to San Francisco, it's in the heart of everything!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSmith_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelVik16, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and understanding how San Francisco is. We make sure everything is right for our guests. See you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,375 reviews
Union Square
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Union Square Plaza Hotel
#187 of 230 in San Francisco
529 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 230 in San Francisco
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
412 reviews
Adante Hotel
#185 of 230 in San Francisco
735 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#145 of 230 in San Francisco
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area

Address: 415 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $151 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Square Area Hotel San Francisco
Alexander Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing