We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for a great price in a perfect location”
Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beresford Arms
Ranked #84 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed in the parlour suite. Huge full apartment, plenty of room for 3 teen girls and mom and dad. The location is footsteps away from Union square,yet still in a quiet location. We found it quite quiet only the fire trucks every now and then. The hotel is a designated heritage building (you're stepping back in time,dated). You have to love old buildings with character to appreciate it. Banging pipes and an original lift are part of staying in an historical hotel. Combine the clanging cable cars, the 100 year old hotel, bay windows and skinny steep roads and you have the San Francisco experience. This hotel has the most fantastic Indonesian restaurant right across the street. If you want the Holiday Inn, go stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2011

What a terrific find for a special rate of $79/night! If you want Four Seasons-type amenities and comfort, then I just suggest you pay $600/night and go stay at the Four Seasons on Market Street. If you want a clean, comfortable, charming hotel in a safe, central location then check out this hotel. Yes, it's old but so is most of SF. The room was a decent size. We had no problems with the hot water. Best of all, we filled up each morning with a nice included breakfast. $79 room + breakfast = score!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WISCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

On first impression room seemed somewhat dated but roomy. However at random intervals including through out the night there was repeated loud banging noises coming from the heater? the lift? the pipes? They woke us up repeatedly. The first night we assumed they were trying to repair the lift but it continued the 2nd night. Internet connection in the lobby was mind numbingly slow. I have read another review that say wifi was great- well there was no mention of it at check in or in the in room information. The room could accomadate 4 people but only had enough cultry for 2. Location was good but we were pinned down by a homless person out the front when the taxi droped us off at night and had difficulity getting away form him. Take care at night. The free breakfast was very basic, muffins and pastry and tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M3l045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I like the fact that the hotel is directly 3 blocks down from great shopping in Union Square. The hotel room was very large, clean and comfortable. Its a older hotel with loads of character. The Continental Breakfast and evening reception was a really nice touch. The staff was very professional and personable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJOY909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

This is obviously an older property but the suite rooms are a reasonable rate and come with a spa bath and kitchenette. Great for travelling families.. Union square is only a 5-10min walk and shosp and restaurants are accross the road.. Can be a little noisy at night due to fire brigade being close by but this didnt worry us. A good value hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scullytraveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We booked this hotel at the last minute and got a reasonable rate but because of this we must have got the shabby room. We did see in other rooms and they were nicer. But our room needed a coat of paint and new curtains as ours were torn. But our main problem was the lack of hot water. When we rang the front desk, they could not offer any solution and blamed the faucet. When we checked out they gave a very vague sorry and did not offer any sort of compensation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I stayed at the Beresford arms for four days during a tour of California. Initially I was concerned at seeing the faded signage outside however other than that I cannot fault this hotel. Location is perfect, 5 minutes from the bustle of Union Square but far enough out to be “relatively” quiet. The room I had was of excellent size and easily made up for slightly dated decor. (in fact the suite I was upgraded too was huge). The thing I loved most about this hotel is the free extras. Free breakfast, Daily wine tasting with cheese & biscuits, rooms with kitchenettes, free wi Fi, free use of public computers. In fact every aspect of the service in this hotel was faultless. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrobop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#143 of 230 in San Francisco
1,195 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#71 of 230 in San Francisco
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
1,759 reviews
Andrews Hotel
#128 of 230 in San Francisco
644 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Address: 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6193
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $144 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing