We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,358)
Filter reviews
1,358 results
Traveler rating
309
654
297
65
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
309
654
297
65
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese small kitchen junior suite union square murphy bed post street indonesian restaurant full kitchen continental breakfast jacuzzi tub street noise few blocks every afternoon tenderloin noisy at night charming hotel older hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,358 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2019

We stayed at the Beresford Arms for a few days in April. The staff were very friendly and we were more than satisfied with the room which was comfortable and quiet with minimal road noise. The hotel doesn't have double glazing but it's not an issue. The breakfast is informal but good, and the afternoon wine and cheese is a lovely touch.

It's conveniently placed to head to other places in the city, especially those north of market - you can easily walk to Chinatown, the Financial district or Fisherman's Warf (our tip would be to get to the latter early). It's also easy to get the main western MUNI bus link going west to visit Presidio or Golden Gate Park if you'd rather not walk there.

If you're coming in from the airport then get BARTS to Powell St, then walk north on Taylor till you reach Post to avoid the Tenderloin district which can be a triffle alarming.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AndySmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

This is a charming hotel in pretty central location, 3 blocks from Union Square. A good choice if you prefer a bit of old world charm and decor to steel, concrete and plastic. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with an accessible bathroom.

Free wine and nibbles at 4:30pm is a nice touch, and gave us an opportunity for some socialising with other guests.

The included breakfast in the lobby is sweet pastries and cakes, typical of America but not to our taste, so we bought some supplies and used the toaster and coffee machine in our room.

The only let-down, really, was the awful, snowy analogue TV channels. We don't travel to watch TV, but it is nice to relax with before bed.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPLatManOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

This was a perfect choice for our stay in San Francisco. We spent 5 nights, the room was spacious and very clean! Even tough the hotel is situated on a busy road , the room was quiet and we got a good nights sleep as the bed was comfy. Position wise the hotel is about 10 minutes walk from SF downtown. The small (included) breakfast was sufficient to get you going in the morning with a few items on offer.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank CesarSarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Just returned to UK after 7 nights in this hotel. Although this hotel is dated I feel it adds to the character. It is a beautiful hotel situated in a central location within walking distance to all tourist attractions etc. Staff are very helpful and rooms were cleaned daily. I found the hotel very clean and tidy. Our sink broke and was fixed within an hour after we reported it. Breakfast and afternoon cheese/wine was excellent. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to a friend.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Tony0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

old fashioned English style hotel with comfortable rooms and spacious bathroom. Continental breakfast was small with mainly pastries and fruit with coffe or teas. Complimentray afternoon cheese and crackers with wine was a bonus and good to relax over. no safe ion room however reception had facilities for this. young lady of a morning seemed at times disinterested at reception however overall stay nwas excellent and in a very good location to Union Square and transport. Restaurants nearby.

Room tip: we upgraded to a spa suite and large bed was very comfortable, also higher level.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bob001_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews