We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beresford Arms
Ranked #83 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Arrived just as they were serving cheese and wine, lovely. We had warm welcome, nice room very well equipped. The hotel is very well situated not far from Union square. Breakfast was continental. Pastries and fruit which was adequate. The rooms were clean and very comfortable bed. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    554
    231
    54
    26
See reviews for
299
426
44
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Bermuda
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We spent one night here so that we could be right in Union Square without having to negotiate all of the hills. The location was great, close to the shopping and dining and the cost was reasonable. They have a nice little pub and restaurant that we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Very little elevator so try and stay on a lower floor. Ask for a non smoking room. The rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

In the first place we got a room next to a generator outside (room 416) and this was very noisy so the next morning we asked for an other room. This was no problem for the staff and they found a better room for us very quickly. The staff was very friendly and helpful in general also when I wanted to make a phonecall in my room which didn't workout. They let me make a call in there office.
Although the heater was turned off it kept heating up which was not very nice. The water pressure was very good. The lokation is perfect so overall we had a plesant stay.

Room Tip: This is a very good option for a plesant stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazzoAlkmaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We only stayed one night but it was fine. We have been upgraded to a bigger room and front desk personel was very friendly and helpful.

Pros:
- big, spacey room
- front desk people

Cons:
- almost 40$ to have a car parked during night?
- noisy surroundings
- poor breakfast

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Was had such fun staying here, like and a big old but lovely Victorian building, just up a bit from union square. Great mini mart across the road and Thai restaurants. There were 5 of us so we had the parlour suite on the corners of the building which was huge with 3 queen beds, big bathroom and little kitchen, perfect. You can open the bay windows and look out at the fairly bust street and watch people was funny at times, you do get fire engines screaming past but that was all part of the experience. Free brekky in beautiful lobby area with amazing coffee !! Also starting at about 5pm every night is free wine and cheese for at least an hour so great if you've been out all day and arrive in time for a few !! What a great find I say, we and my 3 teenage daughters loved staying here. Thanks Beresford Arms :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlChal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights & chose the hotel for its location to Union Square which was a short walk away after reading other reviews. The hotel badly needs updating, it might be called Old World Charm to some but it has a shabbiness about the decor, especially the reception area. Our room was adequate & clean, but it was cramped, there was no air conditioning & a fridge that was hotter than the room! The room overlooked several other rooms and it was quite noisy at certain times of the night.The wi-fi was non existent in the room we were given & was very slow even in the lobby. The breakfast & afternoon refreshments were very welcome. Staff were friendly & very helpful when needed.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in a fabulous parlor suite which we requested upon arrival. We have stayed here before and plan to do so again. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast and wine hour give you the opportunity to socialize with fellow guests from all over the world. The hotel is charming old San Francisco in a perfect location, a great value. We feel very at home and wouldn't consider any other hotel in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vict0ria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
1,102 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
1,278 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#99 of 227 in San Francisco
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
1,601 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Property: Beresford Arms
Address: 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6193
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing