We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beresford Arms
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$399
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$488
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$223
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$245
$212
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$338
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$390
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$299
$239
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$458
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,238)
Filter reviews
1,238 results
Traveler rating
273
612
264
60
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
612
264
60
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesesmall kitchenjunior suitepost streetunion squareindonesian restaurantmurphy bedfull kitchencontinental breakfaststreet noiseevery afternoonfew blockshonor bartenderloinnoisy at nightcharming hoteltea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
449 - 454 of 1,238 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beresford Arms is an older European style hotel and some of the furnishings were a bit worn and dated but it was very clean. The TV reception was patchy, the wifi worse, but having read some reviews here it seems I was lucky to have it in my room at all. I found the location excellent for all amenities and public transport and didn't feel uncomfortable returning to my hotel at night alone. Some of the staff were pretty surly and seemed sick of their job. Overall it's a great place for a couple of nights but if you were staying more than that you may want a higher level of comfort.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

So....

Staff were really friendly. Lovely people who couldn't do enough to help.

Rooms are spacious and spotless what more could you ask for!

The corridors of the hotel stink of wet dog though!!!

The location is good because it is 3 blocks from Union Square.

There is a bar around the corner on Jones called JOnes. It is really good with a nice outdoor area and great food. Amazing burger bar called Pearl opposite.

They serve wine and cheese at 4pm and a free breakfast... wow, people were like flies on xxxx.. it was hilarious!!

The hotel is surrounded by homeless and "disturbed" people, i wouldn't feel comfortable for my mum or sister walking round there on their own.

All in all, it did a job. If I went back would I stay there again? No. Would I be desperate to recommend? No.

If I HAD to stay there again would I be annoyed or disappointed? No.

So Average

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigpoppapump82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was almost the highlight of our stay in San Francisco! The days we were there is a freezing and windy so it was lovely to come back to this hotel and unwind with their complimentary wine and cheese each afternoon.

Our room was big and amazing and I didnt have anything to complain about. We were on the front corner (so two streets worth of noise) and I did not hear a thing throughout the night.

The takeaway places across from the hotel are great too.

Walking distance down to the shops - heck we even walked to Fisherman's Wharf from here! Not too bad at all!

Loved it, must stay here :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I booked my reservation in April. when I called to see about my reservation that was for Sept. they had no reservation for me. so I had to re-book. When we get there the people who greeted us were friendly. they let us check in early, we stayed on the 2nd floor. we get to our room and the room is stuffy. we find out that there is no air conditioning we have to use a fan against the window to get air. they asked us if we wanted the court yard or the street view. we chose the courtyard. we looked out the window and the courtyard was an alley with a bunch of trash with homeless people sleeping there. the bathroom was probably the best room in the hotel. so you can only imagine how bad it was. I definitely would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent four nights here. On arrival we were upgraded from a mini suite to a full suite. Between four and six wine and cheese is served in the looby.A kitchen with all utensils. Two tv's and tons of room for the four of us.internet service was a bit iffy, but there is excellent service in the lobby. The biggest plus of the hotel is its location. Literally ten minutes walk from the city center.
Highly recommend this hotel and would like to thank the reception staff for their outstanding service.

Room Tip: If you are renting a car, avis is just fiftty metres away
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronniemarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews