We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What noise?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beresford Arms
Ranked #83 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
1 review
“What noise?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights, was going to change my booking last minute after reading comments about the hotel being dated and noise levels. The hotel was spotless, bed was comfy, bathroom huge, and room cleaned fresh every morning. Our room was at the front and on the first floor so I was apprehensive about the street noise I'd read about because I'm a light sleeper. I had 6 nights of perfect sleep. There was traffic and people passing but nothing extreme and it's actually a very quiet area of the city. Very handy location for exploring the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chazzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    557
    231
    54
    26
See reviews for
301
428
44
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Although we only stayed at the Beresford arms hotel 3 nights we thought it was a great hotel. It was fairly priced in the expensive city of San Francisco. We loved that the hotel was older as we had not stayed in an older hotel in the US. The hotel was in the perfect location just a 2 minute walk to union square. The rooms were huge, like an apartment with a kitchen. The rooms were clean and beds super comfy. The staff always willing to help you out with anything you may need.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Lovely older hotel, very good location and within easy walking distance to Union Square, grand reception area where a complimentary breakfast is served, pastries, muffins, fruit, tea and coffee, adequate to get your day started,there is also an evening wine and cheese reception which was a nice touch and good way for chatting to other hotel guests. The bedrooms and bathrooms are a really good size and we found everywhere in the hotel to be very well cared for and spotless, the staff were all helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. Don't be put off by how the main entrance looks from the outside when you arrive, as it's a little Gem on the inside. We had a lovely quiet room to the rear of the hotel, therefore street noise wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our last couple of nights in SF. I was delighted when we walked in and they told us we were being upgraded to a nicer room, king size bed, etc. The room was very nice, but then that evening, we found out that it was also one of the noisier locations, right in the front. Nevertheless, it is a decent place for the price. The breakfast is very basic and in the lobby of the hotel, not in a dining area. No place to sit, juggling coffee and a danish, we decided to eat breakfast out instead. There are other places in the area that I would recommend over this one, but as a last resort, for the price, the rooms were decent and clean.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay, ask for a room away from the front of the hotel, and an inner room, if possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fusi0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely olde world hotel just 2 minutes walk from union square rooms are large and very clean and comfortable and the staff can't do enough for you . It is old fashioned but perfectly comfortable . The complimentary breakfast is basic just melon croissants and muffins but there are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby offering more options if you prefer that . The hotel also provide a complimentary cheese and wine on the afternoon all in all good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lovely staff, clean rooms even though they are a bit tired. No bar or restaurant however complimentary breakfast was simple, fruit and pastries but quite good. Wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice touch. Close to Union Square is a bonus.

Room Tip: No coffee or tea in the satanard rooms, but the junior suite has a separate full kitchen for only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 6 nights in the beginning of Sept. 2013. We found it to be a lovely atmosphere and clean and friendly. Good location. Walking distance to many of the city's attractions. However, if in-room wifi is a priority for you, do not stay here. Their internet is almost non-existent. We had to be in the lobby to check our email and sometimes it didn't work there either. It wasn't that big a deal for us so I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a jr suite. Very nice with two queen beds, big bathroom and separate, full kitchen. No air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cll1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#98 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Property: Beresford Arms
Address: 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6193
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing