We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cosy home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beresford Arms
Ranked #85 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Worthington, Mass
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Best Christmas tree in all of San Francisco. Friendly staff, tasty cheesy wine evenings, warm muffins & fresh morning coffee! Room are truly comfortable, glinting bathrooms always clean, kitchenette perfect homey size. The photographs in the hallways are truly interesting, not paint by numbers art. Nearby restaurants are truly delectable -mainly Vietnamese- and if you crave deli you can't get better than Dave's down the block. Our cat it so at ease here it doesn't hide under the bed! Best compliment you can five a hotel is that you don't want to leave it! Clean sheets that make you fall asleep instantly.

Room Tip: I have yet to stay in a bad room after decades of going there so hard to say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margotlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    528
    223
    54
    26
See reviews for
283
416
43
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We found this to be a nice, well kept older property. Staff was great, very helpful and friendly. However, it was hot the first night we stayed here and you had to open the windows for cool air. Not a big deal except the street noise was very bad. It was Saturday night and LOTS of people
were out LATE. IT WAS AFTER 4 am when it finally got quiet between sirens and people. This is not something we are used to.
The room was spacious, well appointed and clean. The stocked items in the room were very affordable. This was one of the few places where we could find an affordable room for 5. The hotel had a charming old appearance. Beds were decent. Housekeeping left us fresh towels outside our door since we left the do not disturb sign out while we were gone. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms would be great so you don't have to mess with the elevator. The hotel has love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwueste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
275 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel near Union Square in San Francisco for 5 nights over Thanksgiving. Our family traditionally spends time in the city every year over the holidays for shopping, enjoying the holiday atmosphere and doing various touristy things we don't normally do. Since our favorite hotel in Union Square got converted into condos, we had to find a new place this past trip. The Beresford Arms offered large family suites with ample sleeping accomodations for the 5 of us. We have 3 teenagers. The suite included a large bathroom with a spa tub and a kitchen. The hotel is at the edge of the Union Square area, on the fringes of a neighborhood that feels a little "sketchy" later at night. The room was large, but the furnishings are old and the upholstery on the sofa and chairs in the living room needed a good cleaning. The spa tub didn't work when we first arrived, but the staff fixed it the next day. It is an older spa tub, but it worked well and was nice to soak in after a long day of shopping. Our HUGE complaint is that it was impossible to get a good night's sleep, The hotel is old, and the windows are old glass panes, uninsulated, and NO soundproofing. All night long we heard EVERYONE walking down the street and firetruck and police sirens all night. We were up on the 4th floor, but still heard all the noise. I don't know if there were so many sirens because it was a busy time of year in Union Square, so more "problems". Or if it is like this all year long, but I imagine that the crowds of rowdy,noisy people late at night is a typical problem, as there are lots of bars/pubs in the area. If you want to sleep, this is not the hotel for you. We wouldn't stay here again because of this problem. However, the good things are that the staff is very friendly and helpful. The lobby is beautiful. They serve breakfast daily, nothing special, but it starts the day. They put up the Christmas tree while we were there, and it was quite festive. They also have a late afternoon spread with cheese, crackers and wine. We were never there during that time to take part. All in all, not a bad place, but since we actually like to get some sleep, I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is as far away from street noise as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildwoodatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked this hotel through hotels.com. It was a good choice. It was clean, the staff was friendly and very helpful when booking transportation. A breakfast with pastries and coffee is available each morning with cheese and wine served in the afternoon. It is in a great location-walking distance to Union Square and a cable car stop.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and had a street view-could hear cars and fire engines all night but we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeelyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel (circa 1910) on Nob Hill shows a dated elegance. The lamps, headboards and dressers are ornate. Very stylish paintings adorn the walls of the rooms and hallways. The bathroom fixtures are European style double knobbed faucets, but the shower fixtures show their age. We had a junior suite with a kitchenette. There's a small sitting room alcove with a small desk and sofa, 2 beds, a large bathroom (with a large tub/jacuzzi, and 2 sinks), and a modern kitchenette with full sized refrigerator, compact microwave oven, electric cooktop and oven and toaster. Rooms are clean, although the towels had a few flecks of colored lint. The sound of the water in the heating radiator and the cooing of pigeons in the central "courtyard" lull you to sleep, although you can hear the muffled conversation and creaking of the guests walking in the room above, or the closet door sliding closed in the adjoining room. The main door to the room from corridor has a 2" gap at the bottom, so I plugged this with a bath towel to block out the hallway lights at night and stifle the sounds in our room.The television is old (cathode ray tube, not flat screen), and there were very few channels available (NBC, CNN, PBA, CW, ESPN, ESPN2), even fewer than those listed on the TV channel card provided. The hotel is located on Nob Hil near Union Squarel, so be prepared to walk up and down some steep side streets to get to the Powell BART station. Tenderloin district is adjacent, so be careful where you walk, especially at night. Continental breakfast with croissants, muffins, pastries and fruit, coffee and tea. Still, for <$175 a night through AAA discount for midweek during a convention, it was a great deal, close to the Moscone Convention Center.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Foothills
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has been our place to stay since the early '90's. We can count on clean rooms, a friendly staff and a hassle-free stay every time. We usually stay in a two-queen junior suite but have also enjoyed the spacious Parlour Suite for special occasions and family vacations.

The location is ideal. A few blocks from the exciting Union Square where there are restaurants and stores
galore. With that in mind, a peaceful night's sleep is not going to happen in a big city. We prefer a street
view room and endure the noise vs. a more quiet interior room with no view. The choice is yours and the hotel
will gladly accommodate you.

Valet parking is kindly offered at the hotel. Our stays are usually for one night and we park at the Butterick
Garage on Sutter and walk to the hotel with our light luggage. It is about two blocks.

Room Tip: There are no screens on the windows. Rooms on higher floors may see a little pigeon action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanskiKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Weekend Trip with my husband and daughter to San Francisco. Chose the Bereford Arms through Booking.com. It was a good hotel located on Post Street a few blocks from Union Plaza in the heart of the city. We stayed in what was considered to be the family suite which included a small kitchen with stove, refrig, microwave which would be great for anyone staying in the city for a longer time. Also had a large bath with two sinks, two queen beds and a small sitting area with desk and couch. The couch was a pullout, but we didn't use it. The building is old, on the historical registry of buildings. That may turn some people off but we found it to be well maintained and comfortable. If you stay in an inside hall room like we had, the pigeons come to your windows starting early in the morning as we discovered the first night. The second night we left the fan on low and that completely drowned out the noise and we slept comfortably. Comforty beds and VERY clean room. They also provide coffee, tea, muffins, croissants, scones and fruit in the lobby each morning for guests and wine and cheese in the evening for guests. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freefromwisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#136 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cova Hotel
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Property: Beresford Arms
Address: 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6193
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing