We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back Again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beresford Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beresford Arms
Ranked #82 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I absolutely love this place. It doesn't have the glitz or glamor of a Hilton or some fancy dancy resort but it is comfortable, spacious, friendly and is really close to all of the Union Square action. Went for the 49er playoff game and was delighted with the service and room. There is no better value in this location. As for the noise? It's downtown San Francisco for God's sake!!! It's not the rural Smokey's What do you expect? Besides, if you really want less noise, then request an isolated room. No big deal.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the street noise. And please don't make this request at the last min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HattieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    549
    230
    54
    26
See reviews for
298
423
43
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked over the internet. My husband and I liked the looks of the lobby and public areas, but the rooms are awful. There is no HVAC, only radiators for heat. The day we checked in the outside temp was about 60 and the temperature inside the room must have been in the 90s! After complaining the bellboy arrived to turn off the radiator. We opened the windows and installed a fan but it was too hot to sleep.THEY WOULD NOT MOVE US TO ANOTHER ROOM! In addition to the heat, the furniture was very shabby, carpet old, and bathroom in bad repair. It was the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel in the US.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two room Suite which was very spacious and clean and suited a family of five. The Hotel is in a good location, just a couple of blocks from Union Square and there are plenty of good eating options nearby. Our main issue with the Hotel was the street noise at night - in over 20 years of travel this is the worst we have ever come across. It's not just the traffic and sirens, but people calling out and yelling most of the night as they walked around the streets. We stayed for six nights and found it was noisy every night of the week, but particularly bad on Saturday night.

It might be OK if you had an internal room or were a very heavy sleeper, but apparently the two room suites are on the corners of the hotel. It's a pity, because the hotel has a lot of other things going for it, good value, nice staff, good location, but we would not return because of the noise.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Reasonably priced, spacious suite includes kitchen, clean. No dining room, but continental breakfast in the morning, and late afternoon tea. Location: Street noise excessive at night. Perhaps there are quieter rooms than ours. We chose it because I thought it was close to UCSF, as I was there for a surgery. Most of the people we met came from all over the globe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I found this hotel after lots and lots of searching on the internet. My mom, two Uncles, my husband and I have been going away for christmas since my Grandma passed. We all have everything we need but never have time together so our gift is spending time with each other

One person in our group is a smoker. I had no idea what a challenge it would be to find a hotel with a smoking room. There were not alot of options.
This hotel had some smoking rooms.
What a great find!
good location
clean rooms
nice continental breakfast
plus wine and cheese

I have read in previous post about the breakfast. now where to sit? there was room for about 20 people
or there was nothing to eat?
nice to have coffee and pastries while waiting for everyone to get ready for the day

Also people mention the noise? Your in a city what do you expect

This was a great place to stay even though I am a non smoker I would go back.
oh and customer service was great too

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We totally enjoyed our stay here - If you like place with character and charm - this is for you. We stayed in junior suite which was roomy for 3 of us. The room was clean and furnished fitting with style of the hotel. We enjoyed the continental breakfast and the wine and cheese which was offerred in the afternoon. On New Year's eve they left party hats and bottle of champagne in our room. The price is very reasonable - I booked directly with the hotel and the service was good. Very happy. I would be happy to return here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albertatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here with my family in July 2011 for a couple nights. The hotel is small, quaint and has the look of yesteryear. A nice decent place, for a reasonable price. The room was average with small kitchen in the corner, bathroom has a nifty bidet in it. I stayed on the first floor, which required you to go up about 6-8 steps. This was difficult for me, because this was the last stop on my trip and I had heavy luggage. The location was fairly convenient, and easy to get around. I did not attend the wine and cheese hour, but the morning breakfast was just okay. A light breakfast of coffee and danish is what was available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Beresford
Hotel Beresford
#136 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serrano Hotel
#98 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Arms

Property: Beresford Arms
Address: 701 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6193
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beresford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing