We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome at Christmas time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Square Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Union Square Plaza Hotel
Ranked #187 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome at Christmas time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been to union square many times. My favorite time is Christmas ! All the lights the beautiful Christmas tree and of course to watch the kids and adults ice skate. With all the stores decorated with different scenes it is just beautiful . A must do to experience !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kimical65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    122
    162
    95
    78
See reviews for
59
175
67
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Positives: clean, comfortable, relatively quiet (you are downtown, after all), great location, courteous staff (minimal interactions), price (especially considering location)

Negatives: no extras, really, but like I said, you get what you pay for. WiFi is extra, but if you're opting to stay downtown you probably aren't doing it so you can stay in your hotel room.

Note: I booked through Hotels.com and the gentleman at reception had no record of me. However, he quickly made accommodations and I was given a room prior to the posted check-in time, so kudos for that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tklempan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Centrally located, convenient and cheap. But this is an old building, small and worn down rooms and noisy. We were on the first floor and you could hear the traffic. The room and the bed were not in a good condition. This is a super budget hotel and has no conceirge or room service. Just one guy at the front desk (who was pretty friendly and helpful). It was a bit of a pain to park our car on the road (which was a no parking zone at the time) and take out our luggage and check-in at the hotel without concierge.

It is a good option to crash for a short stay and if you want to avoid the expensive SF hotels. We stayed here for just a one night stopover, so it was fine. I would avoid it for longer stays. We paid $105 (with taxes) for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Legal_Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Rutland, VT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There was an awful smell in the corridors. The room I was in was rundown and did not give the impression of being particularly clean. The front desk staff were helpful and the hotel is convenient for downtown SF.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTPikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Union Square and do not care about appearance or quality, this is the place. The building is very old, as are the windows which makes for very noisy nights. The bathrooms are very tiny with the sink in the room versus inside of the bathroom. This can, however, be a benefit if you're traveling with multiple people. We received no washcloths and the towels are dingy. The elevator is creaky and often takes several minutes to get where you're going.

This hotel is great if you plan on spending very little time in the hotel, but don't expect any extra amenities, like shampoo, conditioner, coffee maker, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slwcm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was a bit worried when I booked this hotel after reading the other reviews. I just needed a centrally located hotel near the Hilton for a conference, and didn't want to pay $300 a night for a room I would only be sleeping in.
When I arrived at the hotel I was very impressed by its location, a block from where I needed to be, and opposite a theatre. The front desk staff where very friendly, and as my luggage hadn't made it over with me they suggested a couple of local options for buying some essentials.
The room was clean and tidy, a little aged, but I would classify it as charming and quaint. The bed was comfortable, the TV worked well, and it had a decent size bathroom and closet. It didn't have air conditioning, but did have opening windows, and San Francisco is not exactly warm in October, so it wasn't an issue.
Everything I needed was within walking distance, fast food for late night cravings after a 16 hour flight, decent restaurants on the other side, drug store, and decent shops a few blocks away.
If you are after 5 star opulence, then pay the $350 a night down the road. If you need a clean functional room near the centre of town, this is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgefromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, N.J. 08007
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel was in need of a face lift...was not a 4 star as advertised. On the positive side....the sheets were clean and the bathroom, although dated was clean. The noise on the street was a bit much especially on weekends, but the price was cheap for San Francisco...so you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barring2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#137 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#175 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Squa...
#155 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#186 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Square Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Square Plaza Hotel

Property: Union Square Plaza Hotel
Address: 432 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Union Square Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Union Square Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Union Square Plaza
Union Square Plaza San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing