We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #97 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 16, 2006

I have just returned from a trip to San Francisco. When one considers the price of the Serrano Hotel in San Francisco, I would say its a grand buy for the money. The hotel is very clean, and the service is excellent. I found the bellmen to be extremely knowledgeable about the area and willing to assist beyond the call of duty. Additionally, the hotel has a very central location: just 3 blocks or so from Union Center, and if you like walking then its walking distance from Pier 1 of the waterfront -- about 10 blocks. But if walking is not your thing, then catch the streetcar or the city bus. The street cars and buses from Powell and Market go any direction, as I caught the streetcar to the waterfront and to Height Ashbury. I even walked to Chinatown from the Serrano, but I am a walker. There are delis nearby that stay open until 2am, and there is even a East Indian restaraunt in the next block that is open 24 hours. So if location and price without sacrificing service, style, class, and cleanliness is what you want, then the Serrano Hotel should be your choice.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    1,117
    512
    175
    117
See reviews for
507
956
154
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2006

I was hugely impressed by the Serrano Hotel. The service was wonderful (although slightly afraid of its customers.) The free chocolates were amazingly delicious. The free shampoo was surprisingly pleasant. The bedding is dare I say hip, and the decorating beautiful. The view from our room was not exactly picturesque, but beautiful to an artists eye. And at night, downtown could still be seen all lit up. The rooms were very clean and neat.

Just one thing to remember. The location is sometimes not as "nice" as the hotel. There are some homeless individuals nearby, although not for long. And the hotel is in walking distance of nearly everything.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2006

Stayed 4 nights 5/3 thru 5/7 This is a very nice hotel- turn of the century, but well maintained. It is has it's own personality; small, yet mansion like. Very clean, super first class service, room service on time, excellent housekeeping. The bell man and consierge all professional and helpful. The only down side is coffee is served in the lobby for a limited time 5am -10:am) which should be plenty of time.. but a long night in North Beach...and you might miss "coffee time" Room service can be ordered in advance. If you miss that you are on your own... But hey, there is a Starbucks on every corner. One other issue--the bathrooms have little counterspace--not girl firendly, but doable. Nice deep bathtubs!!!

The resturant Ponzu.. is excellent. Tthe wine tasting hour is neat. Great location--close to everything. If your visit allows I would definitely take the 3.5 hour city tour, great way to figure out where you want to go later.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traipse_About
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest US
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2006

This hotel more than met our expectations. It was beautiful and not far from many attractions. We got a great price so it was even better.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

I think at priceline prices (under $100) this is an amazing llittle hotel. Like other Kimpton hotels it has coffee and tea in the a.m. and wine in the p.m. The rooms are clean and bed linens cozy. The location couldn't be better...very central with good access to public transportation, city walks, restaurants, whole foods and entertainment. There is no concierge but the business center has free internet service which i enjoy as i can do my own research on city events. On checkout, I left behind a drawer full of clothes (hard to admit, but true) and they put my belongings in the mail the next day.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Rooms
Helpful?
7 Thank waifsandvagrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 20, 2006

This is a quite nice hotel with one major flaw.

All of the windows are sealed shut, AND the HVAC system does not include a "fan only" option. So if you want oxygen in the air in your room, you must either heat or cool the room.

Given the mild climate in San Francisco, the temperature in the room is generally fine, but if you want to breathe you must make it warmer, or cooler. Pretty terrible design. I stay in the city every week and will stay elsewhere in the future. There are plenty of other hotels in the area that have fresh air in the rooms.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 16, 2006

We got this room for $87 on Priceline, I cannot imagine paying more than that for such a small room. Generally, everything looked nice and most of the people who worked there were very very nice. The room was just so small we could barely move, let alone set up the ironing board. Also, there was no counter space at all in the bathroom to put your belongings on.
Everything was clean and husband really enjoyed the gym area. Close to some nice clubs.
When we checked in, the front desk clerk cheerily told us that since tomorrow would be Easter, there would be free pastries and coffee in the lobby all morning. I sent husband down at 11 to get something and he came back up emptyhanded. The new desk clerk had rudely told him that the morning was over and the pastries were not longer available. Not that they were gone, just that they were no longer available. Husband tried to explain that the morning did not end until noon (we had a late night, ok?!) but the woman was just totally snide.
If you can get this room online for less than $100, I would say worth it. The average $212 or whatever it is? No way!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
4,536 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#89 of 229 in San Francisco
1,668 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#103 of 229 in San Francisco
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
570 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,917 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#98 of 229 in San Francisco
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Property: Serrano Hotel
Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing