We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, with an elegance of the past”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #93 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Some may feel it's a little dated but stepping into the Serrano, as one of the staff permanently on-hand opens the door, transports you back to the charm and elegance of the past. The staff are very friendly and helpful, quick to respond to requests. The room I had was very comfortable with all the necessary amenities for someone on a business trip but I did miss not having a coffee-maker in the room. I did not try it but the fruity water in lobby looked enticing. Part of the charm was using the wooden-bannister staircase rather than the lift - not something one tends to do in more modern hotels. Well-positioned in San Francisco we could walk to most places- just as well as the Trolley (Tram) service was on strike while I was there. The breakfast offered was a la carte and fairly basic - and the service slower than necessary, especially considering there were only 5 other people in the dining room. All told, I will probably stay there the next time I visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Craig,
Your description of our décor as old-fashioned charm is perfect, thank you! We’re very happy you were comfortable in your room and that our location proved convenient. We apologize for the slow service you experienced during breakfast. We want all our guests to feel well cared for, and we appreciate your feedback that helps us know what we need to focus on. We hope to see you again when you next visit our amazing city; we plan to wow you with our ongoing improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,584 - 1,590 of 2,893 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we had a free room upgrade because they had none of our booked rooms left so not going to complain about that. We ended up in a suite, it was very nice if a bit dated.
My only complaints are that there is no dressing table with a mirror and the hair dryers need upgrading I couldn't get through doing half my hair before it overheated.
It's in a great location to get to Union Sq and loads if great restaurants, tram stops etc. we would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Emilou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Emilou,
A free room upgrade is always a great start to a vacation; we’re happy you appreciated it. It sounds like you fully enjoyed the conveniences our location offers. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to the blow dryer. We’re always striving to improve, and we’ll take your thoughts regarding our room into careful consideration, thank you. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

we got a great deal on this cool little hotel, but were a bit surprised by the $20/day extra amenity charge. our room was on the small side, but well maintained. they kept a giant urn of fruit-infused ice water in the lobby during the day, and had a coffee service in the morning (since there was none available in the room). they did empty out occasionally, so we had to frequently ask them to refill - we were there for a full week. the staff was marvelous & location excellent ... we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fangeldunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

We love our unique flair; it’s great to know you appreciated it too! Thank you for your praise of our great team; we’ll be sure to pass your compliments along to everyone. In our experience, guests appreciate one price for all that the fee includes, instead of separate charges for each item. Booking travel can often be a complicated endeavor as you try to compare and price a variety of hotels. It seems in this case you did not see details of the Urban Fee and we will address that with our booking partners. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hotel is located about 3 blocks from BART and close to Chinatown, theater district and Union Square. The room was small but with character and beautiful lobby. Bathroom soaps are C.O. Bigelow which was a nice suprise. There is a large homeless population in San Franciso in general; there is a church down the street from the hotel that offers them assistance but we walked by it day and night and no one ever bothered us. The staff was friendly and it was a short walk to the cable car stop that takes you to the wharf area. I thought it was a good value, clean, friendly, convenient and comfortable

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twisp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

It sounds like you enjoyed a great San Francisco vacation while seeing the cities many different personalities. We’re thrilled our location proved to be a convenient place to call home during your stay. It’s great to hear that our team offered you excellent service and that you found our hotel clean and comfy. We hope to see you again for your next San Francisco adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Overall, the hotel decor looked a little run-down and in need of renovation, but it was clean and efficient. Much has been written about the hotel's proximity to the Tenderloin district, which is not the nicest area in the city but is nowhere near as dangerous as some describe. My room on the 4th floor was quiet. Wi-Fi worked well (you need to pay the additional Urban Fee to get this). The adjoining restaurant/bar was less than impressive.
Would I stay here again? Maybe - if it was 20% cheaper. Otherwise I'd choose one of the other hotels closer to Union Square.

Room Tip: Higher floors - less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gm106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for your honest review. Your feedback is invaluable in our efforts to always improve. We‘ll take your thoughts regarding our décor, value and bar, into careful consideration. We’re thrilled you found our hotel clean and quiet. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can wow you with our ongoing improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I want to address what I found to be the main criticism by a lot of reviewers which is that this hotel is in a shady neighbourhood. This hotel is on the bordering edges of a less affluented neighbourhood but don't make the mistake of thinking poverty = dangerous crime directed at me. The location is not dangerous for a tourist minding their own business, just use some common sense. It's in a great location, near Union Square and very central. Even if you walk a few blocks deeper into the tenderloin district, you'll still find nice breakfast cafes (dottie's and homeskillet) and restaurants. Unless you've never seen a homeless person before, the neighbourhood shouldn't be an issue for you.

Plus if it does bother you, just ask the front desk which direction walk to avoid the whole issue.

Now about the hotel. The lobby is beautiful and really sets the whole mood of the hotel. The fitness centre and sauna looked nice but we never used the facilities.

We were 4 adults in a 2-bed room. Not too sure about all the complaints I read about really cramped rooms since I thought we had a good amount of space for an inner city hotel. Maybe we got lucky. Bathrooms were nice. Rooms were clean and beautifully decorated.


Service was excellent - we're talking front desk, the general manager, the cleaning staff, the front desk, the doorman... absolutely everyone we talked to at this hotel was so beyond pleasant.

We did park in a nearby parkade that was cheaper than the hotel. They have free coffee in the lobby every morning but we almost always woke up too late to get any (our fault)

I hate to admit it but we were the worst kind of guests too. First, we got a deal from hotwire for the room and I thought the hotel might treat us second class as a result but they didn't! It was a celebration weekend for us so our rooms were also left in quite a state and we made a lot of calls to the front desk with questions and requests. Everything was met with such high levels of professionalism. We owe them a really big thank you. Our trip to San Francisco was made all the better because of the staff at Serrano.


In short:
Positive: Staff and everything else
Negative: Nothing (but 24 hour free coffee would've been nice, ha)

Room Tip: 1516 was a great size beautiful room if you're looking for one with 2 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristenDayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Kristen,
It sounds like your celebrations were a success! Your compliments of our hotel team are much appreciated; you’ve made our day. We know our team will feel the same when we pass your praise along to them. We’re happy you loved our décor, room size and cleanliness. We are also glad that our location was the perfect base for your weekend; your perspective is refreshing. We hope to see you again when you next visit San Francisco; maybe you’ll find another cause to celebrate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Positive: The hotel has character. Lobby is beautiful, rooms have charm and are well maintained. Our bed was excellent. Personnel is generally pleasant although not always helpful. Very close to Union Square.

Negative: Our room (a deluxe queen) was a small corner room, and had a door shared with the adjacent room. Consequently, we could hear loud conversations next door, and I had to go and ask these people to speak more quietly. There was no night table on one side, which forced my husband to place things on the floor. The neighborhood was very depressing, with hordes of homeless people sleeping on the street just half a block away.

We tried the hotel restaurant the first day for breakfast, and found it so gloomy and bottom of the barrel, that we did not return. I don't understand how the hotel can be so charming but the restaurant so "forgotten." We therefore searched for small cafés near by but could not find any, so we went to the Grand Café on the corner (which, by the way, is a gorgeous Prague type old café that will close in July.) We had the same problem with restaurants, and could not find a charming small restaurant with reasonable prices within a few blocks. We asked people at the desk, but we did not like the place where they sent us. A good recommendation is a creole restaurant called Brenda's, seven or eight blocks away.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not have a common door with the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 123Avila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

We’re thrilled you loved our décor and comfy beds. It’s also great to hear that our hotel team offered you excellent service. We’re sorry that our restaurant failed to impress and that you were not pleased with our neighborhood. For future reference; we’d love to recommend Union Square for food options. It is known for its fantastic shopping, small boutique shops and yummy restaurants. Best of all; it is only a short walk from our front door. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can win you over with our ongoing improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
545 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#101 of 230 in San Francisco
213 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
1,872 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#104 of 230 in San Francisco
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $141 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing