We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Staff”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #97 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location and Staff”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Only a few blocks to Union Square. Great restaurant located at hotel, Jasper's. Bathrooms are small, but it is an older property. Nice leopard robes in the closet. Staff very friendly and helpful. Quiet location in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Weezee42-
We are so happy you enjoyed our property, location, and Jasper’s Corner Tap! We look forward to your return… Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    1,089
    496
    165
    109
See reviews for
473
914
152
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was my first stay at a Kimpton and won't be my last. When I arrived, the staff went out of their way to remember my name and greet me as I came and went. (unfortunately, that ended when the staff changed... but it was wonderful while it lasted) My room was comfortable and nicely decorated. Loved the "raid the bar" perk, wine hour, and the decent quality toiletries; not a fan of the basic showerhead mounted 7 feet high (but good water pressure!) and limited counter/storage space in the bathroom. Also, minor quibble, but for being an eco-friendly hotel, they gave me 3 sets of towels, which I presume all would be replaced when I left even though I only used 1 set - not exactly "green" -- and there is an in-room recycling bin (yay!) but no indication of what should be recycled (only plastic bottles vs. all plastic, etc).

After researching this hotel, I was a bit concerned about the neighborhood. On the plus side, the location was close to Union Square shopping and the cable cars and streetcars. The neighborhood behind the hotel looked pretty sketchy and you will encounter some "colorful" characters on the nearby streets. That said, I encountered homeless people in many parts of San Francisco, including Fisherman's Wharf, and it is diagonally across the street from a huge, bustling Hilton, so I wouldn't rule out this location based on that.

Green Features: They gave me 3 sets of towels, which I presume all would be replaced when I left even though I only used 1 set - not exactly "green" -- and there is an in-room recycling bin (yay!) but no indication of what should be recycled (only plastic bottles vs. all plastic, etc).
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laney02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Laney02-
Another Kimpton convert! I am so glad you discovered us and were able to enjoy our “Raid-the-Bar” and Wine Hour perks! Thank you for highlighting our convenient location. Kimpton is growing everyday… be sure to check out our other many hotels and restaurants! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my husband as part of a trip around California and also to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. When we checked in the receptionist congratulated us on our anniversary and asked if we would like a complimentary bottle of red or white wine, which I thought was really nice. Our room was high up with a very comfortable king size bed and a nice view of the city. It was pretty small, but not too surprised as I had read previous reviews on Tripadvisor. However, it was lovely and quiet. This hotel is in the bottom range for Kimpton Hotels but the price definitely reflects that. I thought it was a very clean, friendly hotel in a great location for Union Square, but it could definitely do with renovation. However, this did not spoil our stay in any way whatsover, we were hardly ever in our room. Would recommend if looking for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenpEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
karenpEdinburgh-
Thank you for your review! I am very pleased to hear that you both enjoyed our handy location, super-comfy beds, and downtown vistas as part of your California anniversary tour. Safe travels home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel is fine, part of the Kimpton chain, on the borders of the Tenderloin district so quite a few down and outs around the corner. If you take the main streets away from Union Square this is not an issue at all.

Not one of their more modern hotels. Two small dated lifts to the accommodation floors. Great bedroom but let down by a dated bathroom with a shower head which must have been 20 years old and a smaller than average bath. In need of a power shower!

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors so you are away from the noisy bar on the ground floor
See more room tips
Green Features: Top notch as this is a strength of the Kimpton chain
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Martin P-
Thank you for staying with us! Glad to hear you enjoyed our bedrooms. We hope you travels allow us to welcome you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

An attractive hotel with a welcoming stylish lobby. The rooms are on the smallish side but adequate with a comfortable bed. Seemingly endless list of complimentary items available if you've forgotten it. Free early morning tea/coffee available in the foyer and free wine evening 5 -6pm (we only managed it once). Excellent customer service,


Well located close to Union Square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
brenda p-
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I am very happy that you enjoyed our location and service! And yes, “Forgot It? We've Got It!”… we try to cover just about everything a traveler may need! Have a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed five nights at this hotel and were very pleased with the service, location, and rooms. We got a free upgrade upon arrival! You are steps away from shopping and great dining choices. The rooms are very comfortable; the bathroom is small, but manageable; if you have a hanging toiletry bag I would highly recommend using that as there is minimal space. This is a boutique hotel, so it's not very modern, however cozy and welcoming. The coffee in the morning is excellent; they keep it well stocked all morning. It is convenient having water available all day. The wine reception is a lovely touch. We got an excellent deal on this hotel through hotels.com; used a 10% off coupon and got the room for $178 a night and for this area of san fran, I felt we did well. We would stay here again. Thank you to all the staff for their great service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
JandC07-
Awesome! So glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed our property (and wine hour!). We will definitely pass on the kudos to our team. Looking forward to your next visit! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I would say this was above average for a city hotel. The staff was great and I enjoyed the bar. Decent sized room with a comfortable bed. Some stuff didn't work, but they were very responsive (replaced TV within 10 minutes). Lukewarm shower in the am was my only real issue.
Very interesting area with lots of street people, so be prepared for some conversations...thats SF.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank basil409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi, basil409 -

Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your recent trip to SF and the Serrano! I'm so glad that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us! We're really sorry about the water temperature problem, and can assure you our engineering team got right on that as soon as we discovered the issue! I'm so happy they were able to get TV up and running quickly, as well. We hope you'll visit us (and our eclectic neighbors) again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,380 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,520 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#94 of 228 in San Francisco
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,865 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,156 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Property: Serrano Hotel
Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing