We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb boutique hotel on the doorstep of everything”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #94 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of July. Very friendly and welcoming staff, lovely quiet room with great mattresses, ( let me know where you get them)Beautiful lobby with coffee in morning and wine reception every evening. Excellent location for Union Square, Powell Street Bart Station, all Muni transport, Cable cars and most importantly Westfield shopping centre. Lots of car rental companies with in a couple of minutes. Only downside is it is on the edge of the Tenderloin district which is very seedy and full of homeless people but with a little forethought this can be easily avoided.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Idrissnog,

I am happy you enjoyed our location - close to shopping indeed, I would know! :)

And also, we have a website where you can check those beds out - it's called kimpton style!

We hope you'll be back soon.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,842 - 1,848 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We would not hesitate to return. Comfortable, clean rooms, great location, very pleasant and efficient staff. Love the evening wine reception. Good gym. It would be nice to be able to make a cup of tea in one's room but this is clearly not the 'norm' in America.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Joanne R,

We would love to have you back, feel free to reach out to me if you ever need assistance with travel plans.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for two days while visiting San Francisco. It is a diamond! The architecture of the building is lovely and quite unique. The staff is lovely-charming and funny! We got there before check in time and was put in our room right away. When we booked, we asked for a king bed, but we were given a queen. All we had to do was ask and it was no problem to move us. The rooms with the kings were not quite available, but sitting in the lovely foyer with a delicious complimentary punch was no problem for us. Within 30 minutes our room was ready. We were on the 16th floor. It was small, but perfect for just the two of us. We loved being able to open the windows and feel the lovely cool breeze that San Francisco is known for. We did not have the opportunity to try their restaurant, but heard rave reviews about it. If we ever make it to San Francisco again, we will definitely stay at the Serrano.

Room Tip: While we do not have pets, this hotel is pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sewcraz4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear sewcraz4361,

Thank you for the lovely review, I am happy you enjoyed your time at Serrano and maybe next time you will get to try our restaurant. Until then!

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in July. I was visiting my daughter who is spending the summer in San francisco. Because of the BART strike she stayed with me and it was no problem to the reception staff to let her bunk in with me. Very helpful staff. Only quibble as with former reviewer, coffee or tea making facilities in the room would have been very welcome after a long day sightseeing. Hotel well placed for visiting the city, Just be very careful when leaving the hotel not to turn the wrong way and end up in Tenderloin. Very scary place!

Room Tip: Our room was right beside the lift. if you are a light sleeper ask for another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishcailin123212094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here in late May this year. The Hotel was nice and was very centrally located, handy to the Bart and the central city. The room was a bit out of date but very clean and quite acceptable for the price. The staff at this hotel are fantastic. Everyone we dealt with was absolutely excellent! Very friendly and professional. We would absolutely stay again. Thanks to the whole team at the Serrano !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJT75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, Public Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear GJT75,

Thanks for the review! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you got a chance to try out our awesome restaurant - and I hope we will see you again soon! Until then,

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Serrano is a wonderful hotel. Great staff, beautiful lobby. Offers a nice wine and coffee services every day. Connected to the restaturant Jasper's next door. Only downsides were that the room was small and that the neighborhood is on the border between clean, upscale shopping district (Union Square) and the Tenderloin area which is full of homeless people, insane people, and substance abusers.

Room Tip: My room that faced East on the 12th floor had a nice cityscape view. The one that faced west on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerTraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, General Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear SummerTraveler65,

I am thrilled to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope it won't be too long till you'll be back to visit us. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance with travel plans.

Regards,
Deepak Mehra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Excellent reception. Really friendly. Nice to be back in San Francisco after 50 years.Room on the small size but great to have corner view. Welcoming wine and chocolate for our anniversary.Loved the wine hour each day, 5 to 6. One small niggle, no coffee making facility in room, surely not too much to ask for. Location terrific, restaurants nearby,nip down to Mission St, buy a 3 day Muni card it covers the buses and the lovely cable cars which are only a five minute walk away. The bus on Mission will take you to the Embarcadero and points north to Fishermans wharf. Only a block away are The Courtyard and US Grant Hotels, both superb monuments to a past era. Well worth a visit and relish the splendour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Tilden Hotel
#101 of 231 in San Francisco
238 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
630 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#68 of 231 in San Francisco
3,737 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#52 of 231 in San Francisco
584 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#89 of 231 in San Francisco
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Address: 405 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $186 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing